Ratings based on 2,459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but very old rooms

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Nice staff but hotel very old hotel. Needs Reno! Mmmmmmmmmm
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good hotel with friendly staff

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I can see how this hotel may be over looked considering the other accomodation options in Melbourne. How ever Crowne Plaza is like a rocky balboa underdog among the bigger and newer properties around. The moment my partner and I walked in we were extremely well treated by the staff. Beth helped us check in and was lovely enough to give us each a complementary drink at the bar as we waited for our room to be ready. The lobby bar staff was also very good on both occasions that we joined them for a drink. And also Arm was nice and helpful in recommending dining options for us. Good stuff Crowne Plaza!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but needs renovations badly

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The service at breakfast when the forgot tea and black coffee for 30mind
Location: All great
Comfort was good, location was good but very old interior needs facelift badly. Service was good and breakfast was lovely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

It is an enjoyable staying experience.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Location is great, riverside walk way is close by, eatery, restuarant , winery, casino, cinema..just to name a few.
It is a little dated, however, it is maintianing a high standard of services thoroughout. Comfortable in the room as well as at the reception.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SA

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: There is nothing in particular that comes to mind.
Location: We chose to be at the Docklands, but unfortunately were time restrained to enjoy the surroundings.
We mainly used our time to rest at the hotel. Would have liked to have a room over looking the river. It was a very pleasant experience though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Hotel for Melbourne Cup

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: My wife and I booked the hotel for two nights for the Melbourne Cup. Its was my wife's birthday and they upgraded us to a river view which was stunning, and left chocolate strawberries and a bottle of sparkling wine which was a great touch. The hotel is close to everything Melbourne has to offer, Crown, train stations, shops, restaurants, football stadiums. The breakfast buffet is the morning is excellent.
Cons: We loved everything about the hotel. Location, shopping, restaurants, transport access, etc.
Location: see above
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location good hotel for getting around

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Near casino and good food within walking distance
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Close to where we wanted to go. Not overly expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with room type and extra charges

Posted Oct 17, 2016
I booked online through expedia for 2 adults and 1 child aged 14 years. Which presented me with a room selection at the Crowne Plaza for a reasonable prize. Upon arrival at the motel which was late about 1am we were shown to our room unfortunately this room only had a king bed. I rang reception to see why we had not been given a room for three people and was told that my booking was for a king room. I explained that I did state there was three of us to which I was then told they could provide for a roll out bed for an extra $65 a night, I said that price was extreme and then was told just one moment let me see what I can do to then be told they did have a room with two double beds, but I would be charged an extra $35 per night at this stage my family just needed to sleep so we took this room and moved rooms. Upon discussions with several staff the next day we were told that it was an issue with using expedia and there was nothing they could do and it is based on room availability at the time (please note we were given a room with two doubles but it is based on room availability). So at the end of the day we were charged an extra $70 for our stay based on room availability at the time which was clearly available so I am still quiet confused. To also blame expedia when I am pretty sure a great percentage of the motels booking would come through this way is also very unprofessional. We have been told they will look after us next time sorry guys there wont be a next time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Very convenient

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise next door
Location: Crown Casino, CBD, Aquarium (very short walk)
The hotel is very close to the Crown Casino and just a short walk from the Airport Skybus. It took me 30 mins to get from the airport to Southern Cross station then another 10 minutes to walk to the hotel. The only issue was the noise form the courtyard bar next door. It was a Saturday night and I was going out but it was still loud. It wouldn't have been nice if I'd been staying in the room. I'm not sure what time it finished.