Ratings based on 1,896 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the center of the CBD

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The staff were friendly and regularly checked on our stay. The room was comfortable and clean and modern. The location was the best part of the hotel. Right opposite Flinders St, right next to Degraves St and within short walking distance to the MCG. The free warm cookie at check in was also a great bonus!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Terrible

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We arrived early and they said we could either leave or bags or pay $30 to checkin because had just got off the plane we opted to pay. When we arrived in the room it was a lot smaller than we would have hoped - not much bigger than a prison cell tbh and our view was of a brick wal. The bathroom only had a shower - was hoping for a bath. In the evening we had moths flying around us, the 4G reception was terrible on the 6th floor so we though we could use the wifi - the cost was horrendous!!! In this day and age wifi should be free for hotel guests especially in an upper market hotel such as this. My partner and I wanted to watch a film after our day out in Melbourne - again a horrendous cost - even the Apple Store doesn't even charge for a single film. In the morning of our second day, both my partner and I woke up with itchy and rashes on our legs - we are still unsure of what it was. On check out we were planning on letting the hotel staff know of our stay when they asked and they did not once ask if we had enjoyed our stay. My partner did turn around and tell them and all they could offer was taking the $30 off early checkin. The cost was not the issue it was the lack of facilities and service for a higher class hotel such as this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Had a very nice stay on June 30! Staff were great and the free cookie at check-in was excellent! My king sized bed was very confortable and the room was very clean. Conveniently located near Flinders Street station too. Would definitely stay again if I get a good deal like I did with this booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gippsland, Victoria

Last minute booking

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Stayed here last minute when my other accommodation fell thru! The rate was great for such short notice on a Saturday night and the check out time was 12:00 WINNING!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

I will be back

Posted Jun 24, 2017
From the moment I entered the hotel I was greeted with a nice friendly smile. The hotel is close to major attractions. The Buffett is great value for money. I look forward to coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great place to stay in Melbourne

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Great location, very convenient and lots around too. Café, supermarkets and Flinders Street station just across the road.
Location: Right across from Flinders Street station, easy to get to everywhere!
Hotel staff were friendly and professional, very helpful too. We got given a warm chocolate cookie upon check-in, that's a nice little treat for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and comfort feel of the hotel.
Cons: Was able to hear people on the level above as well as other doors closing.
Location: The location is very central, close to crown casino also.
Close to eateries and shopping centres, as well as a supermarket right next door. Was a bit disappointed that there was not parking closer to the hotel but that did not effect the experience all that much. We stayed there for a football match at the MCG which was a great location, as it was within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Discreet, comfortable hotel in good location

Posted May 20, 2017
Discreet, comfortable hotel in a convenient location. The rooms are comfortable, though mine had no view (which was disappointing) and barely any natural light. Bed was very comfortable and I loved the bathroom design. Nice toiletries. The fitness centre is small but had good equipment. Shame there's no pool/spa/steam room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great night in Melbourne

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Not sure we arrived late and departed early the next day.
We only stayed one night but it was a very nice hotel in the downtown area near the train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Right in the center of the city

Posted May 18, 2017
The room looks nice and clean, but small and the window was facing a wall, room was a little dark even with the window open. Shower would abruptly turn very cold in the middle of bathing. The toilet seat cover blocks the flushing button on the toilet you have to touch/close toilet seat cover to flush. Parking cost $30 a day if you keep your car parked, you get charged every time you exit/return to the parking area even on the same day. Other than that, the location is good, right in the middle of the city and across the street is Flinders station.