Ratings based on 2,144 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Grand place to stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Wotif
Absolutely beautiful building in great location.. close to Crown entertainment complex.. close to transport. Glorious room with great amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Wedding anniversary

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Wotif
Have stayed there before and enjoyed the size and position of the rooms and hotel. Very handy location to the casino, Southbank and docklands. An old hotel with historical origjns, tastefully restored.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Hidden costs ruined this experience

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Lastminute
Hotel was fantastic, lots of history in the building, it was surprisingly quiet given the location on Spencer Street. We had breakfast in the adjoining RAD restaurant. It would have been nice if they had emailed or notified us that RAD would be closed for dinner and no room service dinner would be available before we checked in. Also, the hotel website stated parking is available but on arrival we were informed it was a $35 valet charge PER DAY and no option to self park. In addition to this wifi was an additional $10 per day if you are not a member/frequent guest. Lovely hotel but dont be fooled by cheap last minute deals as you can end up paying as much as or more than other full service hotels like the Langham. Would have been a full 5 Star review if not for the parking costs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to amenities

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Wotif
Terrible no air condition, stairs in room , very small
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
First time here, everything went smoothly . Love the size and comfort of the room. So much more than just a hotel room.we stayed in a deluxe 1 bedroom suite ....perfect Looking forward to more stays here.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel and in a great location

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The location, so close to everything. Walking distance to almost everything.
My Partner and I stayed Christmas eve 2016 and had a great time at the grand hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the facilities were fantastic. We will definitely look at staying at the Grand Hotel again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Convenient location

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: I love the old-world charm of the building and the rooms are of very high quality
Cons: Nothing to mention
Location: Casino, Southbank, City are all within easy reach of the Hotel
Was at a work function in the City and was reluctant to drive home, this stay was an affordable and safe way to spend the night. A very good room with excellent facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff were absolutely wonderful

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We had a room change because the roof was leaking so the manager left us a note and chocolates. The room was super comfy and the hotel deserves its name of "grand".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but run down

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful old hotel which really needs some updating. There was a few maintenance issues, carpet and couch was old. Really great location close to CBD and Southbank. Even though you are close to a train track you and even hear it. The room was very spacious but would only book again if they revamped the rooms.