Ratings based on 4,737 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location but unsatisfying views

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Located in the centre of CBD but the room is a bit too small. The so-called city view was a bit disappointing too. Could only see the top of wespac building and the tennis court downstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

One of the best in Melbourne

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Rooms are a great size, beds comfortable and its very quiet despite its central location.
Cons: Glass in lobby needs a good dust, the bar area's soft furnishings refurbed to be less dated
Location: Great location - close to so many good restaurants, shopping, the tennis. Our favourite place to be when visiting Melbourne for business or pleasure.
The Grand Hyatt has been built to impress and it still feels modern and grand, however it is getting a little frayed around the edges. The rooms are impeccably clean but we couldn't help but notice that the main lobby is looking a bit tired - the glass hanging decorations were all very dusty and the bar's furnishings are just starting to look a little less "wow" and more dated. It wouldn't take much to lift it back to its former fabulousness (the artwork remains its crowning glory) but it does need some attention to detail. Staff very agreeable as always.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Orange, NJ

Not that Grand for the money!

Posted Jan 28, 2017
The room was no bigger or better than an Economy Lodge! No place to put clothing. Big money for little room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Excellent Hotel that welcomed us with a happy smile. The quality of this hotel is evident in the standard of fittings and fixtures in the rooms and around the lobby. Our towels were divine, the bed comfortable and the view from our 22nd floor, fabulous. We were always welcomed with a happy smile by the staff, even though it was incredibly busy with the Australian Open Tennis being held nearby and many of the guests associated with the tennis filling most rooms. This Hyatt is one to come back to and enjoy when in Melbourne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option in terms of localization.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Localization.
Cons: It's ok.
Location: As I mentioned, location is great. There are lots of restaurants and shops around. The tram station is close and it makes easy to go anywhere.
It's a good hotel, however the room we chose was small, specially the shower space. The localization was great, nearby the best area in the city. Rooms clean and staff very kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Nice!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
I liked everything about the hotel including location Can't complaint anything about the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A Hotel close to all the best restaurants and art

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Beautifully presented and surrounded by the trendy shops.
Cons: It should be in Sydney
Location: The street art is fantastic; so are the restaurants, Federation Square and art gallery.
Beautifully presented room , foyer, restaurants and bars; delicious cocktails, and so close to restaurants like Lucy Lui, Super Normal, Chin Chin & Il Soporita. Easy walking distance to the National Art Gallery. The rooms are so quiet and the views are gorgeous. WE will be back in March. Love the place Melbourne is such a buzz!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Good service Good location

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Check in/out was easy Everybody was helpful and friendly Room was clean Great gym! Pool is very small I like everything except the noise of fridge in my room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Nice hotel in a terrific location! near to everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great staff

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The tennis court, gym, pool and spa were very good. The staff were great.
We stayed at the Grand Hyatt on our wedding night. The staff knew that this was a special day for us and made our stay memorable.