Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Given this was a hostel, the private room was small and simple and the facilities in the hostel modest or basic. But as such it was clean and new and as a fussy person, i felt very comfortable. Good value without compromising on the basics.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Værelset var ikke det 5 mands rum jeg havde bestilt via hotels.com, men 10, men et fint hostel og fin service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

reasonable price, not suitable for family

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: staff are helpful, nice price
Cons: bed too soft, back pain. Wifi may down sometimes and often with poor connection.
Not suitable for family. Not close to city centre, need to take tram ~30mins to mel city centre. Nothing special around, need to walk 15mins to the nearest subway. ~20mins walk to St Kilda beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Drouin Vic

Great venue to explore st Kilda.

Posted May 19, 2016 on Wotif
Very easy in and out. Impressed with "green" issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Habitat HQ, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to see you had a positive experience and also glad that you were impressed with our green issues. Being the only carbon neutral hostel in Melbourne, Green issues are very important to us and we hope to help educate our guests too.
5 out of 5
by Chandni from Cardiff

Five Star Hostel

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome place, very welcoming towards tourists. I was amazed by the way they received me! I reached there at 8:30 in the morning because i travelled the night train from Sydney to Melbourne, they allowed me to check in at 9:00 when the check-in time was at 2:00. They offered me breakfast, and I could freshen up and join a tour at 10:30. Very friendly helpful staff. They upgrade me to female only dorm from a mixed one that i had booked. very good wifi connection, good breakfast. very good environment, they had something happening everyday evening. It was such a happening place when I would return back every evening after site seeing. very convenient to connect as the tram is just outside the hotel and Luna park just 10 mins away I could just join the hop on hop off bus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016
HI Chandi, Thanks for leaving us a review. It's great to see you had such a positive experience here at Habitat HQ as that's what we hope to give all our guests. We're happy you enjoyed yourself and liked all the freebies we provide our guests. We love our location, we have the best of both worlds here...close to the beach AND the CBD! Magic! Happy travels and hopefully see you again if you ever return to Melbourne!
5 out of 5
by Michelle from Exeter

Friendly and helpful hostel just outside Melbourne

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
I was so happy with staying here, I went back. Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are fine, just what you need when you're backpacking or looking for somewhere cheap. Wi-Fi is free up to a certain amount for data, also the free breakfast is ideal too. There is free tea and coffee all day. The evenings entertainment is very good too. The quiz, bands and comedy is very funny and always grabs a crowd at the hostel. They do free bbq's too. All in all a big thumbs up from me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016
Hi Michelle, Thank you for taking time out of your travels to leave us a review! We're so happy to hear you loved staying with us and enjoyed the events we put on for our guests. We hope you will come back and see us again if you are in Melbourne? Happy travels, Team HQ
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Good value

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Cons: New bed required
Friendly and helpful staff, good location, parking, kitchen, bar, breakout lounge areas,the only negative was the bed, sagging terribly in the middle. My back just can't take it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Habitat HQ, Hotel Management
Hi Paul, Thank you for leaving us a review. You will be pleased to hear since you last stayed we have been replacing all the mattresses in the hostel! If you are ever back in Melbourne, we hope you will return to us and check out our new beds. Happy travels, Team HQ
4 out of 5
by Fabian from Västervik

Tummen upp

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Bra hostel, bra placerat, bra service, bra helt enkelt
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016
Hi Fabian, Thank you so much for the excellent review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back if you are ever in Melbourne again. Team HQ
2 out of 5
by yih wen from singapore

Not suitable for family.

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
Bed mattress is bad. Can't sleep well. Room too cramp, claustrophobic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels