Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

excellent location.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: location and price
Cons: hotel looks like it could use a good paint job and a thorough cleaning.
Location: great spot. In walking distance of trams, shops, historic attractions, restaurants, etc.
Not for the 'upscale' traveller, but perfect for the 'middle of the road' traveller, who is willing to overlook some things in lieu of price and location. The rooms were comfortable and secure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent location in central Melbourne, but...

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The location within the central shopping precent of Melbourne and the the reception staff.
Cons: Airconditioning and room cleanliness.
Location: Melbourne CBD shopping precint, China Town nearby and Burke Street mall and all the small boutique malls and transport within easy reach of hotel.
Great service at reception, very knowledgable about facilities arround central Melbourne. Cleanliness of room was dissapointing, the bathroom tiles in bath/shower needed a good clean as mold was in grout. Carpet and room needed a good vacum. Airconditioning was poor and you needed to have the window open as room tended to be hot. Early start of road works nearby disturbed sleep and noisy drain pipe outside window keept us awake during a sudden rain shower during the night. Continental breakfast was basic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Excellent location.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location was amazing. Easy to v get around Melbourne from this location and even though it is in the middle of town it is nice and quiet. lots of laneway dining nearby.
Cons: The lobby had a terrible odour. Staff could have been more friendly. Roof top terrace was not in good condition. Hotel in general was rundown. .
Location: Awesome location. short stroll to the mall, China town and southbank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Everything. Even got late check-out (11.30am)!
Cons: I didn't have the problem, but the 2nd floor is right next to the dining room. I wouldn't have wanted to be placed there!
Location: Close to transport; in the heart of the CBC.
I've stayed at the sister hotel - Causeway 353, I think the Hotel Causeway is better value for money - at least the room I got was worth it. Large bathroom with bath; all the standard amenities PLUS a beautifully luxurious bathrobe & slippers! Closer proximity to transport; no noise - my room was away from the street / traffic. A large corner room with ample room for 2 people for 4 nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from QLD, Australia

Close to cafe's and transport

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Updating, free wifi and the noise of pipes and elevators.
Location: All within walking distance
The hotel was nice for the money I paid. The beds were comfortable and sheets clean. All the electronics worked as normal. The bathroom was dated, and the shower temperature ranged between scolding and freezing only, however this did not bother my guest or myself. The noises were somewhat annoying. The lift made an audible "woosh" as it moved between levels, and the water pipes from floors above were also heard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Good hotel in great location

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Good service, quiet and big room. Very comfortable bed
Cons: 2 hour free wifi a day is stingy
Location: Excellent location with shopping cafes restaurants sights minutes away
My first stay and won't be my last. Located within deco building however interior is modern. I got free upgrade to execute spa room and it was very roomy Very quiet location and in heart of Melbourne with shops cafe restaurants and business centre Two minute walk to tram
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great inner city hotel at cheap price

Posted Oct 13, 2016
This hotel was overall very good. The room was large, reasonably good condition amenities, and quite clean (although the chairs and tile grout were a bit grubby). The staff were very friendly and check in was easy. The hotel itself is right in the middle of the cbd. Great location within walking distance to everything. The price of the hotel was very cheap so I am very happy with it overall and would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gippsland victoria

Good location, quiet room, quick check in.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean rooms and bedding, location.
Cons: Nothing at this point
Location: In Melbourne CBD close to main attractions with free CBD public transport everywhere. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.
Rooms are of good size, clean and beds were comfortable. Some minor issues with air con and bathroom which management was pleased to be informed of. Breakfast range included, cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, ham and croissants with fruit juice and tea/coffee. Staff were friendly and efficient. Good value for money. Have stayed at all 3 of the causeway hotels in Melbourne CBD and been happy with each.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Nice Hotel handy to everything

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Great Hotel. Have stayed here previously, so close to everything. Walking distance to everything. Hotel staff helpful. Continental breakfast was included in our package. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Convenient CBD city shopping stay

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Room had everything for a pleasant stay. Very convenient location for CBD shopping.
Cons: Cleaner carpets (especially around the edges).
Location: Perfect central CBD location for shopping.
Very handy for CBD shopping stay for with friends. The hotel is in the middle of the main shopping area. No restaurant or room service (I didn't realise), so I had to leave the hotel at night, in the dark, to find dinner. The hotel is up an alley way located in a dark street at night. So, recommend to plan for that if you are staying on your own. Also, expect to get interrupted sleep. Even four floors up, with the old, single-glazed windows, the loud drinkers and cars (from the local bars) were disturbing. The room wasn't super clean; but it had everything you need and the bed was very comfortable with crisp clean sheets. The air conditioning/heating was quiet and heated the room really well (cold weather). There were four very nice magazines to read, which was a bonus. When I booked online, a dominant feature was 'free wifi'. When I queried the front desk person about connectivity, she asked me if I had in fact read the fine print, as it was only two hours free wifi. I did get an extended checkout, which was lovely. And, the front desk person on checking out was really friendly and helpful. He stored my bags, advised on a good time to leave for the airport, and arranged a taxi which picked me up exactly on time.