Ratings based on 1,877 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely staff and foyer...

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were lovely and helpful.
Cons: Cracks in the wall fixed, threadbare carpet replaced, mould on ceiling removed, flaking paint sanded and repainted.
Location: Location was good, close to a tram stop.
When we arrived at this hotel, we were really looking forward to our stay. We figured that it was an Ibis and they had a reputation to uphold. When we were greeted at the counter, the staff were friendly and happy to help. They stored our bags for us and told us we could collect the key for the room around 1pm. I was impressed with the foyer and the staff. We returned to check in later that afternoon and went to the room. It was so small that you could barely walk around the bed. It was supposed to have a desk and chair in the room; however, I am so glad that it didn't, as two people, a suitcase, and a couple of backpacks were pretty cramped. The cracks in the wall unfortunately did not make it any roomier, nor did the mould growing on the ceiling. There were signs around the hotel advising us that the hotel was currently renovating rooms and there may be some construction noise. We were obviously in a room that had not been renovated and was clearly not fit to be an available room. We did approach staff asking if there was any possibility of an upgrade which we were more than willing to pay for. We were told that the hotel was fully booked; however they could move us on our last night as they would have a free room then. I'm sure the new rooms a in much better condition than what we were housed in; however, when all of the photos online are the new, renovated rooms, it is greatly misleading and you will be sorely disappointed, just as we were.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Convenient location

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Just a convenient spot for an overnight stay, clean and comfortable, not too expensive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

交通方便的平價住宿

Posted Jun 30, 2016
離南十字星車站走路5分鐘,如果搭skybus到機場,巴士站就在車站旁,所以交通方便! 但房間內部白光看起來感覺會老舊
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
The hotel was relatively inexpensive for its location but the room was average at best. Rooms were undergoing renovations at the time so they might be nicer once finished
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Convenient

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Convenience to everything and heating.
Location: As stated above.
Excellent location close to many things for tourists - a short walk to China town and the city centre including Crown Casino, Victoria Markets, the aquarium, Convention Centre, stadiums and the Yarra. The next block down is Southern Cross station where you can take a V-line train to Sovereign Hill tourist park at Ballarat for the day (quite good value catching the train), the train takes you all around the city and also has the Airport bus pickup station there too which is excellent. Happy about the location to everything and friendly helpful service, but even though the room was renovated, it was a little rusty and dirty around the window and air con area. Was a bit disappointing that on one day we were having a mid afternoon nap after a big day out before heading out again that night and renovations were going on literally in the rooms across from us with banging going on all afternoon. We booked over 2 months earlier and were given a room so far away on the highest level of the building near all the dirt and renovations. We were given the option to move to another room after a day but no point because the next days would be Sunday and a Monday public holiday which meant packing and moving to a new room for no reason since no construction work would be happening those days. Otherwise, I would be ok to return for another visit to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from local

Over priced for condition of room

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Staff were outstanding. Friendly and helpful. Shower was great. The room however was disappointing. It looked very run down and not well maintained. Sliding door was very difficult to open and close. Only 3 power points in the room taken up by a tv, clock and lamp. Certainly not enough for charging of electronic equipment. I realise it was a budget room but there is cheaper around and a lot better
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia

Good location near station & skybus.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Location.& price
Cons: For what is, a budget hotel, it is quite OK
Location: It is in the Melbourne CBD free tram zone. Convenient for shopping, theatre, galleries, casino and a multitude of dining venues.
Ideal for one night in city before a flight overseas. Only one block's walk from Southern Cross Station - we arrived on V-Line bus and had an easy walk next morning to leave on the Skybus. After negotiating the steps at entry (well we are capable of pulling suitcases up the a few steps) we came to check in desk. Staff were polite & efficient. Were happy to use elevator rather than stairs to our room. Room was large, bed comfortable & bathroom fine. It was not glamorous - we only had small frosted windows for light. Lighting was sufficient but basic. It was more upmarket than the backpackers, but for the price and with good location we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Centrally Located Hotel

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. I was able to do an early check in which was very welcomed after traveling 16 hours.
Location: Restaurants nearby and close to trams and central station.
Hotel has an excellent location. Close to transportation, restaurants and very comfortable. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

サザンクロス駅に近い、古すぎるホテル

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: 駅に近い。Wi-Fiが速い。
Cons: ibisは世界的なホテルチェーンです。おそらく古いホテルを買い取ったのでしょうが、ここはあまりに古くて日本なら建て替えです。
Location: 駅に近く、ちょっと歩けばコンビニも飲食店もあります。通りにストリップ劇場があり、関心がなければ近寄らないほうがよいでしょう。
サザンクロス駅に近く、空港とのアクセスもよいため予約しました。Wi-Fiも完備です。 しかしとても古くて、目地などは汚れており、全体的に汚い印象です(清掃はされているが)。洗面台の蛇口はお湯と水とが30cmも離れていて、どうやって使うのでしょう。シャワーはあり、お湯もでますが友人の部屋はお湯にならず、秋なのに水シャワーだったそうです。卓上コンセントはすべて埋まっていて、やむを得ずいくつかを抜いて充電に使った、使い勝手の悪さです。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: reception staff is nice.
Cons: make the bathroom cleaner
Location: near to skybus
it is a small room. good for just check in for one night.