Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Croydon VIC

World class CBD Hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Mirrors are a big feature for my lady and the excellent large, swivelling contraption in the bathroom received praise. Free Drink - see above
Cons: The mini-bar was heavily stocked and heavily priced but we were off for a night on the town so it held so sway. Breakfast is not cheap.
Location: We dined at Vue de Monde and had breakfast at Kenny's Bakery
Check in is from 3pm so you would expect things to be quiet and staff attentive. They were very welcoming. We walked from Southern Cross Station, the old Spencer Street. We had been here for our 25th wedding anniversary and now it was our 40th. That was worth mentioning because we were complimented with a free drink each in the Bluestone Bar. At an early 4:30 I’m sure the barman appreciated some real work with just a half dozen of us there. Peroni on tap was a refreshing idea. Walk around and you’ll see a few interesting art works, maybe a silver octopus or a bull, appropriately outside the Market Bar. Currently a set of portraits by Vincent Fantauzzo, Asher Keddie’s partner, are on display. We were allotted a suite on the 6th floor and although our balcony was locked for safety reasons, I did achieve access via a door near the lifts. From there you can see the originally façade of the building which would have had a laneway running through the hub. As such it’s hard to define the hotel as either modern or classic. It’s got both. It’s not budget but for what is on offer I say it represents fair value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Lovely hotel in a great location. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely Old Charm in the CBD

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Beautiful building, nice Club room with great upgraded amenities such as the delicious Tea. Really Comfy bed and great location. Will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Had issue with original room but asked to be moved and there was no issue. Staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

nice old world charm

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: CBD location and short walk to shopping, cafes etc.
good weekend stay in Melbourne. Great central location and very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Lovely hotel close to most attractions

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: King size room with plenty of room to move
Cons: Food is very expensive. We would probably have had breakfast at the hotel if it wasn't so expensive.
Location: Walking distance to Casino, Theaters, restaurants and city mall.
Great, clean hotel which is close to most attractions eg: casino, shopping center, DFO. Walking distance to city center and easy access to free tram
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location and staff

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very professional staff, will assist you with any of your needs wether it's purchasing tickets for local sporting events or getting you around town on public transit. Close walk to the aquarium & crown casino with amazing dinning short distances from the front door (Rare steak house)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Great space in the middle of a city.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Just about everything.
Plenty of spaces inside the hotel makes it feel open and inviting. Good for business, great for leisure. Over the course of any year I end up staying in many many hotels worldwide and the Intercontinental is one of my top ten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sin

Posted Nov 14, 2016
My first stay in Intercontinental hotel. I frequent Sheraton, Hilton, Ritz Carlton and Hyatt. I worried about my choice initially but I am surprisedoing that the staff service were excellent and 6-Star grading, much better than my recent experience in Sheraton. I am impressed with your staff service standard especially Nagin. Customer experience to me is about providing comfort and ease, and going extra miles to better our experiences. Your staff did it! Keep it up!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ballarat

Overnight at the Intercontinental

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Check in was smooth with valet parking making it easy. Our room was clean and close to the lifts. Nothing exceptional but it had everything you need to be comfortable. I liked the pillows as they were feather and long.
Cons: I didn't like the bed and didn't sleep well. I thought the bathroom was average and no bath.
Location: Not a lot of shops near the hotel but there are restaurants.