Ratings based on 1,463 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely building

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Interior and the history of how it came about.
Cons: Free wifi.
Location: Good location to tram and train station and from the airport bus.
Good location at the end of Collins Street and near the Southern Cross train station. Beautiful ambiance of the inside of the building and comfortable rooms. Very disappointed that there wasn't free wifi or even affordable plans. As an oversees visitor I relied on using the internet to research the city areas and also allowing family getting in touch if need be. We traveled around Australia and stayed in other cheaper hotels with free wifi. Also mini bar was so overpriced which I no is normal for hotels. We were drawn to the hotel for it having a quirky building but other than that we didn't really make the most of the hotel. I would probably recommend somewhere cheaper as you end up staying out in the city all day anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Ambience and Hotel staff.
Cons: Very disappointed by the restaurant staff. The eggs were cold, restaurant stuff seemed too busy to come check on the customer- very disappointed.
Location: In the city. Various restaurants shopping malls etc.
The Hotel staff were amazing. From the front desk to the concierge to the cleaning staff I would pass in the hallway. Very friendly. Loved my queen room- very comfy and I had all I needed and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Lovely hotel based in the City

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Loved the venetian building and beautiful rooms.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and luxurious. Loved the stunning building and old world charm. It was centrally located in the city and within walking distance to the Yarra River and lots of lovely cafes and restaurants. Easily situated for use of the trams and other public transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Don't go there hungry

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Position
Cons: Our TV and phones stopped working. We weren't given an explanation or compensation. Was disappointing for a hotel of this class.
Firstly, I will say that the hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful. My main gripe is the cost of meals etc, from room service. I know hotels are generally more expensive, but $32.00 for a cheeseburger is a little but ridiculous. Surely they can see how extremely overpriced that is. Lucky for us, there is a burger joint across the road who do take out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Croydon VIC

World class CBD Hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Mirrors are a big feature for my lady and the excellent large, swivelling contraption in the bathroom received praise. Free Drink - see above
Cons: The mini-bar was heavily stocked and heavily priced but we were off for a night on the town so it held so sway. Breakfast is not cheap.
Location: We dined at Vue de Monde and had breakfast at Kenny's Bakery
Check in is from 3pm so you would expect things to be quiet and staff attentive. They were very welcoming. We walked from Southern Cross Station, the old Spencer Street. We had been here for our 25th wedding anniversary and now it was our 40th. That was worth mentioning because we were complimented with a free drink each in the Bluestone Bar. At an early 4:30 I’m sure the barman appreciated some real work with just a half dozen of us there. Peroni on tap was a refreshing idea. Walk around and you’ll see a few interesting art works, maybe a silver octopus or a bull, appropriately outside the Market Bar. Currently a set of portraits by Vincent Fantauzzo, Asher Keddie’s partner, are on display. We were allotted a suite on the 6th floor and although our balcony was locked for safety reasons, I did achieve access via a door near the lifts. From there you can see the originally façade of the building which would have had a laneway running through the hub. As such it’s hard to define the hotel as either modern or classic. It’s got both. It’s not budget but for what is on offer I say it represents fair value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Lovely hotel in a great location. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely Old Charm in the CBD

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Beautiful building, nice Club room with great upgraded amenities such as the delicious Tea. Really Comfy bed and great location. Will definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
by Timothy

4 nights stay, will be back.

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, not far from some great restaurants and bars in the local area. Trams make it very easy to get around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Had issue with original room but asked to be moved and there was no issue. Staff were great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Had a meal in the Hotel restaurant, very expensive especially as the food we had was poor, very disappointing.