Ratings based on 2,468 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Affordable stay in a quiet location.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Excellent location don't be fooled that this hotel is out of the CBD grid. An easy walk through the gardens or the number 45 & 75 tram will have you in the city in no time. Quiet location and affordable safe car parking options. The pool is nice and hotel staff are friendly. The room configurations differ substantially. Rack rate room is small but comfortable and clean. Suggest the 1 bedroom apt if looking for more space or with family etc if you like plenty of space. Booked hotel using Expedia was promised a King bed and was given a queen room. Not a big issue but the hotel booking bedding configurations should align to meet customer expectations !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Good hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2016
It was ok. Nice staff, some problems with wi fi, but they were managed very quickly. The room was ok, but for a 4star hotel it could be better. Good choise, if you want to look Australian Open. Hotel is just minutes walk to the main courts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent hotel with easy access to the city.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Very nice rooms, with plenty of space. Friendly staff. Only a short walk to the free tram zone, so it was very easy to get around the city from here.
Cons: Hotel facilities such as minibar, dining and internet are a bit pricey, but you pay for the convenience and it's easy to avoid these expenses.
Location: Excellent location, close to a tram stop, or a short walk to the free tram zone if you're feeling stingy, providing easy access to the entire city.
I was attending a concert nearby, and gave myself a three night stay in the city to see friends and go sightseeing as well. I chose this hotel based on its close proximity to the forum theatre where the concert was held and due to its high rating and reasonable price. I booked as part of a package deal with flight and hotel, and I was really pleased with the overall experience - I believe there's a discount for those booking three or more nights here, as well as those who book their hotel alongside their flight, so you can get good value for money by doing this. The area is just outside the city centre, so the hotel is generally nice and quiet during the day and at night. There is a train station nearby if you need to travel beyond the city (be aware though that whilst the hotel is nice and quiet, you can sometimes hear the trains going past, but this shouldn't be an issue for most people). There's also a tram stop (one stop outside the free tram zone) on Jolimont road, which will take you to the city, and it's only a short walk to the free tram zone (located at spring street) from the hotel, so you don't need to pay to access the city if you don't want to. The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms are comfortable and quite spacious. I didn't use any of the hotel facilities outside of the room itself so I cannot comment on those, but I enjoyed my stay and would return here for future trips to Melbourne.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Clean, good location, VERY noisy.

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, location.
Cons: Soundproofing rooms and doors -silent door stoppers to prevent slamming. No laundry to be put on before 9am.
Location: City, Richmond
Clean and comfortable, great location. I took earplugs after reading reviews so the train noise was fine. The neighbours, the door slamming, arguing neighbours and laundry being put on at 4am was hard to tolerate. The first night (Thursday) was peaceful and nice. The 2nd night (Friday) people were ready for a night and making lots of noise throughout the whole night. That was the worse night I've had in a hotel because of the noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from deutschland

dreckig

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Das Zimmer von der Ausstattung ok aber sehr in die Jahre gekommen. Wir waren 2nächte da, kein Doom Service!! Ein gebrauchter, dreckiger Putzlappen war in dem Küchenschrank, auf der arbeitsplatte. Kräftige schommeöbolfung an der duschtet, geht gar nicht. Internet kostet extra, Gute Lage zur Stadt und Sport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ACT

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Dec 23, 2015
A good location for us. Comfortable and good setting. Request a quiet room if you are a light sleeper . Great to have a balcony . We had a great view of the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney NSW

"Good hotel clean and well appointed."

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Clean and very comfortable.
Cons: There were a couple of places where the skirten board behind the bed needed repair. Saw this when plugging in my sleep machine.
Location: The hotel was chosen because of it's proximity to the MCG where I was attending an exhibition.
I liked the fact that the hotel was located within walking distance to the MCG where I was attending an exhibition. Close proximity to a restuarant which I have enjoyed on previous visits to Melbourne. Due to work I did not manage much leisure time but did find time to visit friends whilst staying at the Mantra which was centrally located for my purposes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Had a great large room for a very reasonable price! Full kitchen which was great to cook my own meals. Very clean and the staff were lovely. The shower was a little bit hard to get to the right temperature as you have to lean around the glass into the water to get to the taps. One problem was that the rooms weren't very soundproof; on my last night there (the day after which I had to fly out early) there was a party happening in the room next door and they were very loud (slamming doors, yelling, loud music). Not the hotel's fault, but just pointing out how it isn't sound proof. Very close to everything, about a 15 minute walk from food, the centre of the city.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jacquelyn from Melbourne

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
The room was a lot smaller than the one pictured online
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Barbara from Central Coast NSW

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great value for money - we stayed in 1 bedroom apartment nice and big. Friendly & helpful staff. A little noisy from trains but OK if you wear earplugs. Kitchenette in room and also breakfast avail in restaurant. Walk to Federation square, nice 10 min walk over bridge by river. Skybus pick up 5 min walk. Would definitely stay again.