Ratings based on 2,657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shepparton

Nice and clean great location

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Very clean, great location
Cons: If check ins are a problem larger area to sit if you are in larger groups
Location: As I said awesome location Sporting and entertainment hub of Melbourne
Was a pain to check in apparent problems with maintenance. Had a sick child and there wasn't anywhere for us to sit. They apologised prefusely but they didn't offer anything up for the inconvenience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Train noise, old interior in need of a revamp

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Drinking water in the foyer
Cons: Lots, cleaning carpet, a lift, some pillows,fixing holes in the walls in the lift. The smell in the lower foyer, the stale air in the upper hall way.
Location: A railway line next to the window
One of the lifts was not working for the whole stay, cigarette smoke kept coming through out air conditioner , the carpet was dirty in the lift, hallway and room. The staff were helpful in trying to locate the smokers it was to no avail. The bed was nice and firm, the pillows very flat and towels were very thin. It was very basic level of comfort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

on the doorstep of the MCG

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Short walk to and from the MCG. . Friendly staff. Clean & welcoming
Cons: lighting in the room is too dim needs to be brighter, I have to read notes in the bathroom where the light is better to read by.
Location: fantastic location, within walking distance of many cafes and gardens. Couldn't be closer to the MCG, Rod Laver, etc.
For the same price as a taxi to & from the footy at the MCG, I can drive to the Mantra, get secure parking, walk 10 minutes to and from the game, have a comfortable bed for the night and breakfast in the morning before heading home. No crowds, no parking hassle's. If I've got time, I can have a nice meal & a beer in the restaurant before walking to the MCG.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Rooms and fitting are aging quickly

Posted Jun 8, 2016
I have been to this Hotel many times and generally found it to be good (privately and with work). This time I ordered the wrong room type and requested a room change to one with a lounge room rather than a studio which was very small (costly mistake as online they are the same price but the hotel chose to charge $50/night more). The second room, stove and aircon conditioner didn't work so we were offered another room to cook in as that rooms air conditioner also didn't work. (Being from Perth this was a very cold night indeed) The hotel took the additional $50 charge off and also comped us breakfast as we still couldn't cook. Next room was generally okay but the cooktop elements looked as though they had melted into the metal stays of the stove on a few of them, we just used the best one. The air conditioning in this room had a fan that was so noisy that at night we had to turn it off to get to sleep. The sofa was aging and offered zero support so it was like half the straps were broken. One lift was out of order for two days which makes wait times long. There was a number of groups of children in the hotel and they were carrying food between rooms. We could tell as there was a trail of rice. Not the hotels fault but it took too long to clean up and thus was squashed into carpets. As I said stayed many times before and felt like this time the hotel had hit the time when it needs a spruce up and a general quality check of each room to make sure it's up standard
3 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel.com says "Entertainment - WiFi, 32-inch flat-screen TV with premium channels". Actually the Wifi will cost $10 per night. This may be a misleading because I thought it is free.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Location

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Price on parking should be included in accommodation maybe.
Location: Went to the footy at the MCG.
Close to MCG and not a far walk to the city great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deniliquin

Great hotel close to MCG

Posted May 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: See above
Was in Melbourne for a footy weekend. Great spot across the road from the G, good room and facilities. Great little cafe/breakfast bar downsatirs
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted May 24, 2016
The hotel facilities were really good. We enjoyed the proximity to the MCG and surrounding sporting facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Medical visit:

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: It's position, and amenities were generally very good and probably better than in many smaller establishments
Cons: Nothing - very satisfactory. The only gripe is regarding car park which is limited and $25 a day. But that is hard to rectify I have to admit.
Location: 5 minutes walk from SE corner of CBD and Jolimont station. Also close to Botanical Gardens, Fitzroy Gardens, MCG, Richmond etc
was close to hospitals and to restaurants and shops of CBD. Trams and trains also very close to hotel.