Ratings based on 2,545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney,NSW

Handy for the Tennis and city highlights

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Location to everything.
Cons: The outside appearance of the hotel could be better.
Location: Chinatown, inexpensive Shanghai Pork Buns. Close to all the main shops Central Melbourne. Good walking distance to Fed Square and attractions.
Comfortable hotel in the Melbourne CBD. Close to all highlights, shopping and food. If going to Melbourne for the Australian Open great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Cons: Internet access was very poor. Not a great hotel for a business traveler.
Nice, clean, modern hotel right in the middle of where you want to be in Melbourne. Well equipped room. Friendly, competent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traralgon

Great hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Position and cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast could have more selection
Location: In central Melbourne close to theatres, Chinatown
The staff were great with fast check in. One bedroom apartment was big and very clean. The hotel is in a fantastic position close to everything and in the middle of Chinatown. We will be coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Breakfast to keep you going all day.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Central location. Comfortable bed. Breakfast ... great variety ... lots of healthy options ... enough to keep you going all day. Nice big indoor pool.
Cons: Locate mini-bar items not blocking power points. Cheaper or free wi-fi. Housekeeping need to re-stock carefully and observe environmental initiatives.
Location: Close to all Melbourne CBD attractions. Walk or tram (free in the CBD) to MCG, Star, Federation Square, theatres, restaurants, Southbank, Docklands.
We stayed four nights in Mantra on Russell, and were very happy with the level of comfort and facilities. It was very central and we were able to walk to most of the attractions we wanted to see in the Melbourne CBD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Amazing hotel friendly staff,always smiling

Posted Jan 15, 2016
We stayed in mantra on Russell for 7days and had the best time staff were friendly and helpful,hotel cleaning service staff made sure we always returned back to a clean room.our stay were very comfortable and very thing was within walking distance Would mind going back again😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Posh with class!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Every staff member (even the cleaners) were happy, chatty & friendly. Nothing was ever a bother & were informative & knowledgeable about what to see & do & where to eat. The only let down was the lack of control of our room's air-con. I had to phone reception every day to cool it down. Frustrating as I woke up hot during the night. Sorted by day 6!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New Years Eve Stay

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Mostly everything was fine but a few things brought it down. No free wifi and charged $25 a day for Wi-Fi. Buffet breakfast in the morning was good but my father left to go to the toilet and smoke and when he came back he was told off for having food because you're not allowed to go out and come back in again. Air conditioning was not working properly on a 38 degree day and 2 pedestal fans were brought up to the hotel room, one of which didn't work. We had upgraded to a premium room for balcony views of the fireworks but because of the non operating air conditioning the premium fee was cancelled to make up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to Chinatown and Bourke Street.

Posted Dec 26, 2015
This is our second stay at Mantra on Russell and we love it. We will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Very central to CBD Melbourne

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Proximity to CBD
Cons: Would like to have confirmation of any requests when booking. If requests can't be met, then we need to be notified to either accept conditions
Location: Excellent location, walking distance to shops, restaurants and free trams.
Excellent location, very clean accommodation and staff very helpful. Overall very pleasing stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, ACT

Great location

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Modern apartment style accommodation
Cons: Fans in bathrooms
Location: Theatre, china town, shopping, train and tram transport
Modern, friendly hotel. Great position, easily accessible to great food, theatre, transport and shopping