Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Qld.

Great spot for a city break

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Large rooms, insanely comfortable beds, walk in shower.
Cons: Remove some redundant furniture in the room to create more space.
Location: Theatre district, cool cafes and restaurants. Walking distance to Bourke St mall & Carlton Gardens/Melbourne Museum.
I stayed at the Marriott for a long weekend recently and it was so much better than I expected. I usually stay at another hotel on my regular Melbourne trips, but decided to give the Marriott a go due to a great deal they were advertising. The room was large and comfortable (though it did include some fairly pointless furniture that just takes up space) and the staff were friendly & professional. The location is right in the theatre district & walking distance to everything we wanted. Special mention to the concierges & whoever trains them - quite often in a lot of hotels they seem like they've been trained to be 'service robots' but these guys are just friendly, helpful, real people, which is so nice to see.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Luxurious hotel with extras

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Lovely hotel, great staff & central location
Cons: Would have like a view from our room, not of the building next door.
Location: Close to city centre,markets, shows, Chinatown,
We felt spoilt from the moment we arrived, welcome glass of champagne on checkin is perfect. Great attention to detail & staff are very swift to attend to your every need. Highly recommend the executive lounge, amazing array of food & beverages. Loved everything about our stay. Treated with bubbly & chocolates for our anniversary too. JC is wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel and exceptional customer service

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Cons: The amenities are somewhat old but are very well maintained
We spent one night at this hotel and loved our stay. We stayed in a twin room with our two little girls, the room was very spacious and clean. The highlight for us was the exceptional customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yarraville, VIC

Impressive!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Staff were great, room was modern, clean and spacious.
Cons: A choice of pillows would be good. One soft, one firm.
Location: Location great, just a short walk to the main shopping areas and restaurants.
I was pleasantly surprised by the Marriott Melbourne. The staff were really helpful, friendly and professional. The room was modern, clean, well appointed, spacious and quiet. The bed was really comfortable, though the pillows were too soft for my liking. I didn't use any of the hotel facilities, but my Mother stayed for 3 nights and she raved about the buffet breakfast. Both she and I were surprised and impressed by the staff who went out of their way to be helpful. I really couldn't fault the Marriott, and I'd definitely stay there again in future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best service we've ever had.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Service and attention to detail.
Location: It's very well placed in the city and walking distance to everything.
The head concierge was so courteous and nice I couldn't believe it. We were staying at the Marriott Melbourne for just one night with our two kids (2&4) as my wife was running in the Melbourne Marathon. When the staff found out our schedule they provided the kids with activity packs, and arranged a breakfast pack for my wife so she could eat at 5am before her race. Upon return to our room from the room we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and note wishing us luck and congratulations on completing the run. AMAZING. The service alone would have been enough to over come any negatives about the hotel, but actually the building and rooms were all fantastic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Good location for the city

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Staff, condition and location.
Cons: Bed was definitely below expectations for a hotel of this standard Room was not well appointed, no extra pillows or blankets Hair dryer was useless
Location: Great location in the middle of the city.
Staff were fantastic, always very helpful and location was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GC

Central, business hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Very Pleasant and helpful staff
Cons: shower in the spa area
Fast check in, pleasant staff, easy access to the city
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hayward, CA

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: From the moment I pulled up to the hotel to the moment I checked out, the experience was fantastic. Staff was helpful, courteous and professional. T
Location: The location was near dining from low budget to fine dining. The hotel was near public transportation, shopping, museums and parks. Perfect location.
From the moment I pulled up to the hotel to the moment I checked out, the experience was fantastic. Staff was helpful, courteous and professional. The hotel was located near shopping, dining and leisure. I would definitely book with Marriott in Melbourne again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Central location

Posted Jul 7, 2016
We stayed at the Marriott as a treat after attending one of the hospitals. It was very close to many tourist locations such as the museum and Federation Square. We loved the pool and the food. The beds were comfy. The staff were very polite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Great Hotel in great location.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff,amenities,location and cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to trams,shops,restaurants and tourist places.
We stayed for three nights with 2 young kids.The Hotel is in a great location with easy walks to main streets and shops. It was always clean and the Hotel staff were really helpful and lovely people.We enjoyed the gym facilities and the pool and spa.When in Melbourne again it will be the first Hotel we look at for availability.