Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Overall a very nice hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Room very clean and comfy, loved that it had two double beds in the room. Also liked the pool.
Cons: I had one small hiccup, but am happy to forget it as it was resolved quickly and I was pleased with the outcome.
Location: Close to all places I wanted to go to, Windsor hotel, and Bourke st. Mall , china town, great location.
Had a wonderful time, staff on the whole where very obliging, room was very clean and the facilities were great. I would definitely return, in fact am looking forward to it. Thankyou to the staff, especially the manager, Laurent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong Victoria Australia

Comfortable hotel close to the theatres

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the pretty courtyard garden & the lounge & bar area.Room service was prompt & efficient. Housekeeping even gave me a sheet without asking
Cons: The room needs plates & cutlery slippers would be good too.
Location: Ideal for a night at the theatre many restaurants nearby & a convenience store on the corner. Trams nearby
A lovely birthday treat complete with complimentary wine & cheese platter.Patrick at reception was most welcoming we enjoyed our glass of champagne on check in & the lemon water provided for guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel and excellent staff

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Hotel was great and its near some excellent Melbourne locations. The hotel room was very clean and the facilities very good.Hotel staff helped us book some of the melbourne tours and they helped me with my rental car situation. Overall a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Staff was incredibly helpful and responsive to all our requests and needs, and as foreign travelers we had a lot!
Great location , staff, room cleanliness and service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for Theatre and City

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Ideal location for the Her Majesty's Theatre, less than 100m from hotel. Also close enough to City to walk to shops and restaurants. Staff very friendly, room spacious and clean. All in would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impeccable service!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The service!!!
Cons: Some furnishing is a bit run down.
Location: Near Chinatown but quiet.
Impeccable service from reception, concierge, lounge staff to housekeeping. An example...A personnel from concierge was walking past the lift towards the restaurant. When the lift door opened, he promptly changed his direction to hold the door open for the guest who was waiting for the lift. Totally unexpected and he didn't really need to because he wasn't waiting for the lift but was merely walking past. Well done Marriott Melbourne for training the staff so well. Stayed in a few hotels from the same brand in various locations, Melbourne is the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria

Very friendly staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Cons: Adding a children's breakfast menu or a buffet price for kids as they don't eat very much under a certain age would be good
Location: Well located and able to walk in to the city centre and other city locations as great, and reasonable under cover parking near by
I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent Stay at the Marriott

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The size of the room, nice and clean, great buffet breakfast
Cons: The pool needs to be warmer.
Location: Short walk through Chinatown to main shopping.
We stayed one night at the Marriott Melbourne. We needed 2 x queen beds and we were thrilled with the room - it was spacious and very clean with a handy separate area between the main room and the bathroom for the suitcases. The room was certainly comparable and perhaps even better than other more expensive hotels we have stayed at in Melbourne (Langham etc). The buffet breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly. The only thing we could fault was the pool - it was freezing! Our 5 year old daughter still loved it though and the jacuzzi was nice and warm. Thanks for a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and fabulous staff

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Beside everything no need for public transport could walk everywhere
Room perfect staff fabulous could not wont a better hotel or location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berwick. Vic.

Overnighter

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Central to a number of theatres where top shows were on. Close to Chinatown restaurants that cater for theatre goers.
Although we were only staying one night, we were treated like special clients. All staff went out of there way to ensure we were cared for. Brilliant!