Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrnambool

Comfortable but sparse furnishing

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The room was basic but comfortable. The option of having a contained bathroom rather than sharing was appealing.
Cons: Maybe hotel staff working the bar and reception could remind patrons to be considerate of other people staying in the hotel as they leave the bar.
Location: Not too far from the CBD and easy to find.
This was a welcome change from other backpacker style hotels. The beds were comfortable, the room and bathroom was clean. There were no chairs or table in the room which made for a very sparse space and nowhere to sit or relax other than the beds. A group of approximately 10 inconsiderate guests who had been drinking and partying downstairs decided to knock on the door of every room on our floor at 3:00am looking for someone they knew and making lots of noise in the corridor as they did so. This was very disappointing and I guess that's part of the risk you take when staying in backpacker style accommodation - the guests are generally younger and can be thoughtless when it comes to other people they share space with.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Cons: Get rid of the carpet then your rooms would't smell so bad.
Staff are ok, except the obeast islander dude on the night shift. Rooms smell like old socks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

very good location but not satisfied

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Hotel is in central cbd near by to queen market. Few of staff members are rude to provide any info.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over all a good experence, but room 4 improvement

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: The out door drinking area is excellent, also the
Cons: Different staff, the staff seemed tired 2b working there. Were not people from Melbourne, more interested in chatting to each other than assisting.
Location: The location is great, easy walking distance to anywhere in the inner city
Location excellent Setup of hostel excellent improvement of staff requried. Uniforms would be a big improvement, training how to clean and serve customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

nice hotel good location

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: location - great set up everything u need was availble
Cons: luggage room if u have to leave early all the bags are just put on top of each other so its difficult to find your bag.
Location: spent most of our time at the tennis then done some sight seeing around melb city..
the hotel was just perfect for what i require i would stay again..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Yarra Valley

Overnight Bolt Hole

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Price & position
Cons: Shower rooms could have mirrors in them for shaving ect.
Location: Everything in Melbourne is accessible from here on foot.
Nice central location. Bar downstairs. Extra for towels. Nice clean sheets and low pillows. It's not the 'Windsor', hey, it's a hostel. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm so expect people coming and going all night. Take your earplugs and eye ask and your set for a cheap sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Cheap

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Good location. Close to the Queen Victoria Markets. Fairly cheap. Inside is run down, looks old and dirty. Needs a major renovation. Perfect for a backpackers though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good budget, fairly clean and convenient.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Our stay at nomads was pleasant. It was reasonable clean, the double private room was perfect, just like a hotel room. The communal kitchen area got a bit unclean at times but that is bound to happen. Good facilities, apart from wifi was only in reception, you had to pay extra for it in your room which was a bit annoying, as we wanted to research trips. Staff were fairly helpful but could have made a bit more effort to be welcoming. We weren't really told what's what. They just gave us our room key, without explaining anything. As we were first timers in a hostal we didn't know how it all ran. Location was perfect, right in the centre of the city, with great transport links.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget-friendly hotel within melbourne CBD

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The hotel is accessible to almost all tourist attractions in the city. The staff are very friendly and accommodating to the best that they can. The room is very nice and clean except for the heater that isnt functioning too well. But overall, I will recommend staying in this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy minimalist no bag-safe

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: nothing.
Cons: everything what was missing by my description
Location: was farther than net showed
When I walked in at six in the evening the music was so loud we couldn't understand each other with the receptionist. I was told it is because the bar is open - but in the morning was loud music too, just slightly less loud. The room was clean but as looks go - I would not go there with clinical depression - wouldn't survive. I suppose this is a place for backpackers - only I doubt they would pay 120/night. The worst was in the morning when I asked for to leave my bag - they offered me a common room that anybody could enter with a key and there was no control above who takes what.....interesting, so I had to take some cabs to get my bag to Southern Cross station where some lockable boxes are....only cost me another 40 - learning money, next time I take a proper hotel.