Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Front Desk Hospitality Rushed/Vague

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Overall loved the place/local. Red Frogs, Freebies were fantastic!!!! Great Comfy Bed!! Would stay again, a suite with a garden view would be nice!
Cons: Front Desk Service is not inviting. Uncomfortably having breakfast in the foyer. Supply a Menu so brecckie can be ordered and delivered to room.
Location: Shows, Footy, Gardens, Dinner, Hospital
We arrived on time...and with other guests/strangers, were told to take a seat and wait. No staff asked anyone names/bookings. The Front Deck Staff seemed to have forgotten about the queue of waiting guests (preoccupied with maintenance & phone calls). The growing tally of visits nominated that I approach the desk....to enquire about the delay. Told there was a mixup booking with expedia (staff still hadn't asked my name)...and advised my room would be upgraded and ready in about an hour. I advised.....That's the Room I Booked!! Noone told us about breakfast/happy hour....where/when??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel with surprising inclusions

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Helpful and friendly staff, very comfortable and clean and close to trams.
We stayed here for one night but could easily stay longer. The close proximity to the tram made travel around Melbourne city very easy. The surprise inclusions of the mini bar, and grab and go breakfast made our stay just that little bit special. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a great shower head in the bathroom. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

A wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: The bed was very comfortable and AC worked well. Our wifi signal was strong so never had any issues with it. The area has a lot of character to it
Cons: Secure the safe to the wall so that someone can't walk away with it. Include some photos of the rooms on the website. Add extra hangers to the room.
Location: It's located very close to trains and trams. There are a very large number of restaurants to choose from and many on the same street.
The hotel itself is small so the service was personalized and the staff friendly. Booking was easy to do and they were happy to answer any questions we had. Our room had large windows in it (although it did face another building so there was no view). We were please with the size of our room. It felt spacious and larger than a standard hotel room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Getting a little tired...

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: The promise was great, the delivery is left wanting.
Good things about the Ovolo Laneways: location (great for getting about town), attitude (laid back and relaxed, but with a hipster vibe) and the 2 hour happy hour (what's not to like about that!). They squeeze a lot into a small footprint in this hotel, including a grab-and-go continental breakfast in the narrow foyer. Very clever. Things that need addressing: the overall feel to the place is a little too shabby now. Rooms feel tired and not well cared for. There are a few more bumps, knocks, missing buttons, loose toilet seats, etc. than I would have expected for what is essentially a premium rate boutique hotel. It feels like it's missing a local owner that care for it. But our greatest complaint is the apparent lack of care from the staff. Yes they were pleasant enough when engaged, but they didn't look up to greet incoming guests, and the overall demeanor was one of not caring if you were there or not, and whether or not you were enjoying your stay at their property. A shame really...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to Chinatown and famous theatre

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Cleaniness room
Cons: more range for the breakfast
Location: as mentioned above, next to Chinatown, well known theatre just round the corner, state council hall is also round the corner.
The hotel has a good transporter, which are trams in the city. It does have a load of resturants nearby! The well known theatre is just round the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Great hotel. Free mini bar. Free upgrade. Remembered it was our 25th Anniversary. Bottle of wine and hand written card. Nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

I'm a Melbourne local and I want to stay here!!

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Different to traditional hotels
Cons: add a swimming pool
Location: theatre, grand trailer park for burgers, shark fin for yum cha
My partner had just finished exams so I thought I would book a couple of nights stay just for fun and it was AMAZING!! Loved everything about the hotel, although the lifts are very slow. Would definitely stay again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Cons: Cranky old lift!
I enjoyed my stay at the Ovolo Laneways. I ended up in a 4 person suite just for myself so I had lots of room. Everything was clean and in very good condition. The hotel is in a great position with lots of good eateries and Chinatown nearby. The staff were very good and helpful, always a smile and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015
We had a great stay! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The complimentary candy bar, drinks, water bottles and coffee in the lobby and mini bar was a lovely surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a FABULOUS stay thank you

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: The extras were a nice surprise and made for a relaxing and easy trip with drinks and snacks available. thank you
Cons: not that we can think of. we look forward to coming back again
Location: the cbd bike rack is around the corner and fabulous restaurants nearby
We were welcomed and greeted at the door and informed about the hotel. Staff were friendly and approachable and helpful with local knowledge.