Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Location: Restaurants and China town. Not too far from shops
Unique heritage hotel. Room was clean and had plenty of room. Great location to restaurants and China town. Very friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
A historic building in the heart of Melbourne. Great kitchen facilities in the rooms and comfy. Walking distance to everything and within the free tram loop. Great cafe ajoining the hotel. Televisions were a bit hit & miss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Great location close to the Princess Theatre

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nothing fancy but adequate for a short stay. Kitchenette handy as an option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Good, cheap stay but tiny bathroom.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Overall the place was pretty good. It wasn't too expensive, the hotel staff were helpful, the bed was comfy and it was in a great location - right in the middle of Chinatown. However, the bathroom was very small. The toilet and the shower were right next to each other so it was difficult to get in and out. The shower door was also broken and wouldn't close the entire way. The door into the bathroom opened right onto the hand towel rack so we couldn't use it. Also our room was a little dirty - my boyfriend kept finding silverfish running across the floor. But I think mostly the positives outweighed the negatives.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Value for money but very tired

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The staff were outstanding. But the room was musty and the heating / cooling hit n miss. Very old and needing refrubishment. But the the bed was comfy. For the price it was fair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern Suburbs, Melb

Average hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Location was the only thing we liked.
Cons: Cleanliness, Maintenance, Accessibility, Cost
Location: Good location, short work to Chinatown, Comedy Theatre and train station.
The shower door was broken, but the staff said not to worry, just don't use it ?! There were stains on the carpet, which wasn't really a problem, except one was still wet. Maybe a previous guest had spilt something. No attempt had been made to clean it before next guests (us) arrived. No elevator or ramp to the lower level of the hotel. Difficult to get from room to reception (not even in the same building). Lots of doors and stairs to drag your luggage through. Wouldn't recommend for elderly or disabled. Would be impossible. We booked Quest of Gordon because it was the perfect location for us, but apart from that, I wouldn't really consider staying here again, especially for what you pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wollongong

Good location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Had booked a studio apartment but got upgraded to a pokey 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor which was noisy , dark and claustrophobic because the curtains had to be kept shut for privacy. I asked for my original studio apartment which was smaller but much quieter and brighter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Country NSW

Fantastic Location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, great spot. Quiet hotel. Only criticism was the bathroom - location of the toilet was a little awkward. But overall pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Could be great but misses the mark

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Great location. Comfy bed. Floors creaky so could hear every foot step from apartment above. Issues with key apparently not uncommon according to a resident who told us to complain to Quest. Cutting board in kitchen disgusting. It smelt and was mouldy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

No air-con on a stinking hot night

Posted Mar 3, 2017
One of those overcast and muggy summer nights in Melbourne where the temperature in the CBD hovers in the mid-20s. It was disappointing to see that not only was the air-conditioning broken, but that fans had been placed in every room, so the hotel had rented out the room knowing it had no air-conditioning but neglected to tell me. I did think about leaving a turd in the freezer but instead I just handled it the old-fashioned way and got roaring drunk before passing out.