Ratings based on 3,069 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to Chinatown

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: location
Location: Road the Melbourne share bikes for 3 hours, very pleasant way to see the city
Excellent location. We booked the musical Kinky Boots and we didn't realise we were just across the road. We love asian food and again we were across the road from Chinatown, endless choices of places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great hotel close to the shopping and trams

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Bed configurations for single groups, cannot pre-book rooms for a group of people travelling together
Location: Trams. Trains, free loop tram
Annual shopping trip and catch up with family, my favourite hotel to keep coming back to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant provided a good variety for breakfast
Clean comfortable hotel with welcoming staff. It is close to theatres, restaurants and Chinatown is right on your doorstep. Parking is onsite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Well situated in Melbourne.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Liked the room. Staff helpful. Early and late check-in when available. Would liked to have used pool but no time.
Cons: Small details such as air conditioner turned on and off through night. Did not keep us awake.
Location: As stated above
Walking distance to all events we were interested in. Moomba festival weekend. Lots to see. Enjoyed the breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Right in the city, good location.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: room renovation, especially the bathroom
Location: Melbourne city has everything
small room with outdated decorating. Bathroom was the smallest that I have encountered in any Rydges hotel across three states.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tewantin Qld

Good City Location

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, good restaurant and facilities
Cons: Larger bathrooms but obviously not practical to do this.
Location: Close to theatres and restaurants. Easy walking to all city shopping and other facilities
The building is showing signs of its age. The room was comfortable and clean but the bathroom is very compact. The staff were friendly. However check your bill carefully. Was charged for 2 extra breakfasts we didn't have. Quickly refunded when pointed out to reception staff. Great city location. Easy walking distance to MCG.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gippsland

Nice night away

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Excellent hotel and staff, so easy to drive to from M1.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Cosy and comfortable

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, and beds were excellent
Cons: It would have been nice to have been seated for breakfast, instead of having to find your own seat - but the food was nice.
Location: A short walk to the malls and great restaurants which was just what we were there for :)
After a few nights in other accomodation with terrible beds it was a pleasure to get such comfy beds. The room was quite small but as advertised and we were hardly in them so it didn't really matter anyway. The reception staff were lovely and helpful also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, good rooms

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Efficient check in
Cons: Although a different business the hotel resturant and bar laconda was awful. Rude staff and poor food. Disappointed rydges staff were unable to facili
We did a weekday 4 night stay. Hotel was clean, staff friendly and rooms were good if a little dated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect for my stay.
Cons: Little things in the room are getting dated - furniture and carpet are worn; grout & bathtub need to be refreshed
Location: location is very good - accross the road from Chinatown, around the corner from some great Italian restaurants with Bar 1806 accross the road.
Good location, close to Chinatown and an easy walk to Emporium, shopping and some great restaurants, cafe's and bars.