Ratings based on 1,442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an update

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: The quiet, clean room and close to public transport.
Cons: Update the rooms
The limited interaction I had with the staff was nice and friendly. The location was close enough to public transport and other facilities/attractions. The bed was comfortable and clean (but I'd brought my own pillow!). The room was sheltered from the street noise. But the room - well, the room could do with a facelift: - The walls were marked and there was even some damage in the plaster - The opaque film on the windows hadn't been applied properly and was blistered; just looked very cheap - The shower pressure was unbelievably bad - the drizzle outside had more sting to it!! - The overall finish of the room was shabby with (not talking cleanliness) and needs TLC
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Great location and easy to access

Posted May 19, 2016
Great size room, easy parking and great breakfast at The Hub.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North, NZ

Disappointing!

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: The position was handy to the beach & the staff were pleasant. The beds were very comfortable. Free wifi was great .
Cons: The rooms we had were tired looking and could do with an upgrade especially the bathrooms.
Location: We chose the location because it was close to where our son lives at Caulfield North & didn't do any activities in the nearby area.
Staff on desk were pleasant, check in was quick. Elevators give you a smile when you get in with the St Kilda themes. We booked in late in the day & quickly got ready to go out again but on our return late that night, we noticed that the toilet was leaking at the back & there was a slight unpleasant smell in the bathroom. Also the bedside clock didn't go & lighting was dim. The windows had been opaqued as the outlook was an alleyway!! Next morning I asked to change rooms & was given another one which was a bit better, although still tired looking. There was no magnifying mirror or body wash in this room. We were disappointed with the hotel on the whole as we felt that Rydges has a good name & brand.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Great location great staff, possibly due for a soft refurb but clean and comf. Great cafe and restaurant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location and comfortable

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location is good
This hotel is situated in the heart of the Fitzroy Street strip, close to restaurants and bars. The rooms are comfortable without being flash. Good for an overnighter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gippsland, Victoria

Staff were friendly

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Staff were very friendly, didn't realise I had to book a car park though so it was lucky there was parking next door. Room was much smaller than I expected from looking at the picture.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, comfortable and convenient location

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice location, near to St Kilda breakwater where you can see penguin returning at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to everything

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
I had a pleasant stay, it was close to the beach and restaurants. The staff was friendly and breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room very 'tired' in need of repainting, cleaning.

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Lastminute
The location is good & quite considering location but needs updating.