Ratings based on 1,135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Good value

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Great location. Clean, modern rooms. Good eating options. All good really. Though I must say I was rather surprised by the threadbare condition of the bed sheets !
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Clean, comfortable, and close to everything.

Posted Sep 24, 2015
The staff upon arrival were so lovely and professional. It was our first impression of the place. The room was clean and comfortable. It was lovely being so close to the beach too. I'd definitely recommend the Rydges, St Kilda to anyone.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Nice Hotel close to amenities

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Not too big. Caring staff. Nice rooms with all you need.Excellent location. Pharmacy and convenience store very near. Interesting area with parks
Cons: Air con did not stay on for more than 20 mins. Breakfast service a bit slow but lovely fresh food was well presented.
Location: Proximity to beach and pier. Also close to good interesting restaurants and bars. Tram stop very close. Market on a Sunday. Good sunset views
Enjoyed a 6 night stay here, would stay there again as it all worked out well
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Photo's are very favourable

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Location - Close to Tram, Beach, local bars and restaurants. (If you want to go to the CBD though this may be a bit out of the way for your needs)
Cons: Rooms require update, fit out throughout needs update, maintenance on rooms and rooms in a 4.5 star hotel should be made up on a daily basis.
Location: Plethora of activities nearby St Kilda beach, Luna Park, Bars and restaurants, take the tram into the city or explore the area.
I would say that this is a dating hotel which has tried to do a cheap renovation to bring the standards up, though has probably failed. The Hotel staff were nice and helpful; however, the photo's of the hotel do not accurately represent what you are going to experience. Hotel rooms face in on each other so blinds need to be shut. Cheap fittings throughout, carpet parting, and doors that are delaminating at the base are only a few of the maintenance issues this hotel is facing. I also was surprised that the hotel didn't make up the room on a daily basis. On the plus the location is very good, close to the tram stop, local restaurants, bars and the beach. The price is also well set though probably on the expensive side for this level of hotel. Overall I was surprised at the rating as I wouldn't have thought it could achieve it with the current facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2015 by Richard Pietersz, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, Thank you for your recent review and comments about the hotel. Great to hear you loved the vibe and also our location. TLC of the rooms is already underway with the hotel working through maintenance on all the rooms and common areas. Look forward to having you back soon and experiencing a fresher product. Kind Regards Richard Pietersz Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel, but size matters

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel was warm and inviting.
Cons: Customer service could improve dealing with the new generation.
Location: St Kilda is full of activities. Luna park to keep the kids busy, the beach for a nice summers day. The pier for the Husband & shopping for the wife.
Rydges was quite a nice place to stay, great for couples, families etc. The only major problems i can think of is the size of the rooms, the size of the hotel rooms and there was not enough secure guest parking.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hreberton north queensland

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Room was good but need a decent shower rose as the one in the room was crap but otherwise the room and service was good
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern rivers

Rydges hotel St kilda good place to stay

Posted Aug 30, 2015
My experience at Rydges st kilda, plenty of functions during the late arvo, my room overlooked the tops of roofs, smells of eateries coming through the room even though windows were closed, late night noises from above and outside, pros were the comfy bed, tv, clean bathroom. I would recommend this hotel for convinience located close to st kilda beach and lots of eateries to choose from. So above all I would recommend this hotel to others.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Queensland

Can't beat the location

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The location to the markets etc
Cons: Elevators were wierd. It's strange to get out of an elevator and be in the service lobby of the kitchen. I get it's old, so not much you can do..
Location: Beach, Boats, Amusements, walk to Acland, Markets on the beach at weekend.
Carpark good, checkin good. Got to room and discovered there was an issue with Expedia showing the wrong pictures for the room we booked (which was a bit dearer, and a premium room). Hotel handled the situation well, and upgraded us into almost the room in the picture, so can't complain about that. We had the Round Room, with a spa bath in the room. So named because it's quite round on the edge of the building. Everything worked, comfy bed. Pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

great location

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Have stayed here twice before and will be back. Cosy room with everything you need and great location to experience what Melbourne has to offer.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Lastminute
Pros: location
Cons: up grade room, mould in shower so needs renovating, and a small table to sit and eat dinner or do some work
Location: was working so didn't get to go and explore
not very clean, hair stuck to the back of the bathroom door, bed was ok as it was a single i thought would still be as comfy as queen but wasn't , also pillows were rough, very tiny room no where to sit and eat dinner