Ratings based on 1,493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Rooms not nearly like on pictures. View from Room against brick wall. Very old furniture. Room very small. Didn´t feel very safe going outside after 10pm due to location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice but parking is inconvenient!!!

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Very nice, clean & comfortable. But parking was really annoying. Bc I have a 4 yr old I had to park far away & walk with my sleeping child. Very inconvenient. When I got 2 my room the pass would open the door. Had to carry my baby & go 2 reception twice. But one staff member did resolve the issue. Overall nice & clean room. But, customer service could be handled better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Very hard to find but a nice hotel. Staff weren't the best but it was a good price and we had no real problems with the hotel. Would go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

3 star at best. Small old hotel.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Stayed one night and was happy it was only one. Hotel is very out dated and needs a major upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable, yet disappointing for Rydges

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Not much- Comfortable bed
Cons: Update rooms
Location: Good location
Outdated hotel, needs a lick of paint and some more modern touches to keep up with surrounding hotels Friendly staff Good location- accross from trams and short walk to beach. Sourrounded by cafes and food outlets and supermarket down the road Disappointing that they were no deals offered with adjoining cafe and bar Room next door could easily be heard through the joining door- was not happy about this! Shower did not have enough water pressure and there was no closing shower door, only screen which left me cold whilst showering! Overall disappointing. Would not recommend staying here unless you are staying one night only and get the room on special.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warnnambool, VIC

Didn't live up to expectations

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Considering the price of the hotel, it wasn't worth the money. Isn't exactly close to the city. Some aspects about the room were bad quality, eg bathroom, wall sockets next to bed and the lights were affecting the sockets' function
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

It's ok but I remember it as being so much better

Posted Jul 30, 2016
From the smell of paint to the tired hallway, this hotel is fine but not the lovely fresh place I last stayed in 8 years ago. With SO many AirBnB choices in the area, I do think they will need to up their game to stay viable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great location

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Wotif
I found that Ridges St Kilda was situated in a very handy location. Just around the corner from The Palais and Luna Park. It is surrounded by a great choice of eateries from takeaway to quality restaurants. Other handy amenities within a minutes walk are chemists and convenience stores.
2 out of 5
by Kaveh from Turramurra

Last choice

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
I only booked this place because of a last-minute need to be in Melbourne and regretted it upon check-in. The hotel manager on duty that evening made a point of ignoring me while speaking very politely to my boyfriend, as if I was just someone he picked up on the street outside the hotel rather than the person who actually made the booking. The room was freezing and the wall-mounted heater blew a huge, hot, dry wind toward the bed. After the second night, I woke up with skin discoloration on my face from the desertlike atmosphere. I didn't think I'd need to bring a humidifier with me! There should be central heat instead--the kind of unit that was in our room is the cheap way to go and makes the whole space uncomfortable. Weird service at the restaurant; the waitress took forever to come over, didn't understand my English, and brought too much food by mistake. She corrected it afterward but the meal took 20 minutes to get to our table--unfortunate as we were in a hurry to get home.