Ratings based on 8,329 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a weekend getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Very clean, quiet hotel close to Chinatown and Melbourne CBD
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect location with many quality restaurant arou

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Cons: bathroom is a bit dated and needs better maintenance.
The location is perfect, convenient yet off from main road on a quiet street. There are many quality restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Very well looked after for my 70th birthday. Cake and bottle of wine upon arrival. Great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Very nice hotel. Staff were very accommodating for any of your needs.. The breakfast was nice, bit on the pricey side, and some of it was cold.. BUT very enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We enjoyed our two night stay at the Stamford. The only hotel facility we used was the valet parking service which was great. Room was very clean and quiet, we hardly saw any other guests on our floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west orange, nj

A good stay for 10 days!

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Hotel was comfortable. Staff was TERRIFIC especially Cara. Everthing was good about hotel EXCEPT the washing machines and dryers..... they sucked... I was there 10 days so some laundry needed to be done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Stamford Team , Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am delighted that you enjoyed our exceptional location in central Melbourne and that you appreciated the service of our friendly and welcoming staff. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Stamford Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Top quality convenient placed hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: The overall quality
Location: Proximate to the transport, CBD and sporting facilities. Top location.
Had a superb 4 night stay. Excellent, good sized room with top quality facilities. Very quiet room. Location is in a great position to walk to the city and/or sporting venues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit disappointing

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The hotel is beautiful, we had a room facing Little Collins Street and the noise coming up from the street and the bar below was quite loud. Also the bathroom was ridiculously small. Room itself was lovely, staff lovely and public rooms beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong, VIC

Great central hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Location was great, close to Collins Street shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Very clean room and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Usual hotel to stay while in Melbourne

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location. Walkable to many places.
Cons: See above re housekeeping. Change the bedroom doors to be sound proof due to noises on the floors and also from the atrium.
Location: shopping, restaurants, museums, theatres
Requested a room high in the building away from noises of the street due to collection of garbage of restaurants downstairs. Room was not ready. When I went back to pick up keys, I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom to a lower floor, an initiative from the manager. I had to request the revertion. On the second last night, there was a Chinese woman talking on the mobile phone in the lift lobby on my floor, which was close to the room at around 2 :30am! I had to call the reception to get her to shut up. Thank you, the night manager, for doing that for me & other patrons. One thing that had been changed since my last stay was that if you want your bed made, you do not place the card on the bed. Otherwise, the room will not be serviced at all! They changed from changing the bedsheets to no making of the bed. I think it is not right for a 5 star hotel. Even the serviced apartments, usually not 5 star, service the room including making the beds. Perhaps there is a shortage of excellent housekeeping staff. But it is not a right move for a 5 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Stamford Team , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on Expedia following your recent stay at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne . It is really helpful for us to know that we are doing things right and I’m sure helpful for other users who are looking to have an experience like you obviously had. I really appreciate you taking the time to make your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Stamford Team