Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong, VIC

Great central hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Location was great, close to Collins Street shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Very clean room and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Usual hotel to stay while in Melbourne

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location. Walkable to many places.
Cons: See above re housekeeping. Change the bedroom doors to be sound proof due to noises on the floors and also from the atrium.
Location: shopping, restaurants, museums, theatres
Requested a room high in the building away from noises of the street due to collection of garbage of restaurants downstairs. Room was not ready. When I went back to pick up keys, I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom to a lower floor, an initiative from the manager. I had to request the revertion. On the second last night, there was a Chinese woman talking on the mobile phone in the lift lobby on my floor, which was close to the room at around 2 :30am! I had to call the reception to get her to shut up. Thank you, the night manager, for doing that for me & other patrons. One thing that had been changed since my last stay was that if you want your bed made, you do not place the card on the bed. Otherwise, the room will not be serviced at all! They changed from changing the bedsheets to no making of the bed. I think it is not right for a 5 star hotel. Even the serviced apartments, usually not 5 star, service the room including making the beds. Perhaps there is a shortage of excellent housekeeping staff. But it is not a right move for a 5 star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Hotel needing maintenance

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location only. In house dining was quite good.
Cons: General Maintenance of the interiors including aircondioners if they work.
Location: Located well to shops and restaurants.
This was our 3rd time back o the Stamford which we had been pleased with in the past. Valet parking at Wilson parking us with the logo from our bonnet being stolen . After reporting they said they would check but never followed through . We knew the bonnet had to be lifted as it was the only way of taking off the logo from underneath. Our airconditioning was not working and only fans in room working. We would have thought they would check this before having the room taken. We were asked on Christmas Day if we could move to another room so they could check this. Having just come back from Xmas family day we did not feel like packing up our bags and then moving. We had already been there for 3days. We won't be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from qld

Posted Dec 28, 2016
This motel was beautiful with great service. Hotel staff are great and very helpful! I loved the area it was in, right in the centre of Melbourne close to food and shops. Starbucks is right around the corner which is great. Although the mini bar is a bit too ridiculously expensive. $6 for a small chocolate bar I was gob smack considering they're $2 in a shop! But overall it was a great motel and great service. Would definitely recommend it to a friend and stay there again. The motel staff carry your bags to your room and help you organise taxis. There is an indoor pool spa and gym as well as a bar downstairs. I really really really enjoyed the stay. Can't wait to visit melbourne again to be able to come back to such a beautiful city accompanied by a beautiful motel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory, nothing to WOW about.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The Location. Very central
Cons: Breakfast via room service was cold, coffee was burnt.
I had heard great things about the Stamford, so it was one I had to stay at. I'm still waiting for the 5 star wow factor, that never came. The staff where very pleasant. The room, was nothing great, just a hotel room, with dirty windows. Breakfast in the morning was cold, the coffee was burnt and very unpleasant. I called the valet to allow a half hour to have my car brought around, as instructed, it took closer to an hour, which made us late for the airport. The location is fantastic, only a short stroll to the theatre and china town. I travel to Melbourne to stay at least 8 -10 times a year, I can say that I've stayed, but I won't be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Stay wasn't too bad. Not highly impressed but give it 10 for location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Comfortable experience and close to theatres.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Enjoyed the close proximity of many of Melbourne's attraction and centrality to the theatre district. Hotel staff were friendly and attentive, and rooms were clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Nice hotel, friendly staff. Finishings were a bit outdated. Location was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Everything was great but the service was particularly good - all requests tended to straight away, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: There was nothing I didn't like - all amenities were in good repair, staff helpful, pool and spa great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney NSW

Fantastic for a weekend getaway

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Fantastic location, everything within a reasonable walking distance.
Bed was comfortable, room was perfectly sized for the 2 of us. Clean and tidy