Ratings based on 8,197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a very good area

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Nice hotel in a very good area. Rooms were a good size and facilities were good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great hotel in great location

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Street noise
Location: Great location in Little Collins Street. Just a short stroll to the free city cicle tram which leaves outside Parliament buildings.
We stayed in a One Bedroom King Suite. Nice big lounge area with a kitchenette that also had a dishwasher. The room was a good size. The only downfall is the bathroom. The shower is over the bath and very had to turn shower head on from the outside because of the glass shower screen as it only goes in and not out. Bath is very high up so you need to be careful stepping out. When staying at this hotel I would recommend you request a high floor room. We were on the 6th floor and could hear all the street noise ie rubbish trucks in the early hours of the morning and noise from bars that were close by. The reception area is very dark.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Comfort. Space
Excellent accommodation. Spacious rooms. Great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent place to stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Nice room and staff very helpful.Location very good to go to anything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Train station not far to go anywhere
Enjoyed my stay at Stamford Plaza Hotel.The staff were great and room very good.The Restaurant was very good and had nice breakfast.Nice location to get to every thing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Convenient to the City

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: all of the above
Cons: The carpet had a stain in the main corridor leading to the room
Location: Most things were within an easy walk or tram ride
A very nice hotel. Convenient to the city of Melbourne and transport. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. The suite was very spacious with good facilities including a dish washer. Beds were very comfortable with crisp white linen. The towels were thick and sumptuous and the room was immaculate
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gold coast

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Cons: Staff communicating, listening to customers
Location: Okay
Staff need more communication, breakfast buffet more variety. Overall not bad
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

In great location

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Very enjoyable and relaxing stay .Room had everything I needed .Enjoyed the happy hour from 4-6 pm on the Saturday
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christmas island

Notification /building reno,s in progress at hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Read about my experience
Location: Arts Fed/Squ ,European beer cafe over the road
Reno,s noise, trades sharing lifts ,Harry's bar /average service expected more going by your recommendations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangladesh

Service oriented hotel in great location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Good location. Very helpful, service-oriented staff. Comfortable rooms. Fast elevator. Excellent concierge.
Cons: Somewhat awkward two-tower layout that made it inconvenient to go to the pool. Musty lobby & bar need renovation.
Location: In the heart of CBD. You can walk to Fed Square, NGV Australia, many theaters, Bourke St Mall, movie theater in Collins Plaza, free circle tram etc
Great hotel in the center of CBD, walking distance to circle tram, Fed Square & many theaters, restaurants and shops. Well run with very responsive, customer focused staff. Superb concierge who provided consistently excellent recommendations about restaurants & things to do. Because I was staying more than a week they gave me a better room--very spacious & comfortable. Only (minor) downsides were the rather musty, unattractive lobby and bar and a somewhat inconvenient two tower layout that forces you to go downstairs and cross over to the other side and then go back up again to use the gym and pool. Would definitely stay again. In fact, after my recent stays at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne and separately at the SP Brisbane I've become quite a fan of this Singapore-based chain which I'd never used before.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Sep 3, 2016
It was our first time in Melbourne and so glad we booked Stamford Plaza. Location was a perfect as we could ask for and the staff were very courteous and helpful (Christine of Front Desk especially). Will definitely stay here again on our next visit!