Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A great mix of old & not so old!

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Lastminute
We were visiting Melbourne overnight for a party with 2 of our children and it was great to stay in a lovely old mansion. Our accommodation was a 2 bedroom apartment which was just fine for the short time we were actually there. St Kilda Road is very central but not busy on the weekend so we had no problem parking outside the hotel and it didn't cost a cent! The staff were very friendly and inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Adorable....just adorable

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Practically perfect in every way!! Will definitely recommend it to all my friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Great value

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Lastminute
Staff are very helpful and polite. Rooms are fairly basic but fine for a short stay. Only complaint would be the lack of hot water in the bathroom. Not sure why was going on there, but it didn't really want to warm up when we needed it to. It managed to work eventually just as we were going to give up on it. I'm sure they'll get it sorted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Wotif
Excellent location, only a short tram ride to city. Friendly staff and lovely vibe in hotel with a bit of history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bayside Melbourne

Old world hotel modernised.

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The ambiance
Cons: Décor in room was very stayed and out of character to the period except for the curtains.
Location: Its an eight minute tram ride into the centre of Melbourne with all Melbourne has to offer as well as being closes to the Shrine and Botanical Gardens
A warm welcome, however were not told our CC would debited $100 as security and not available back into our account for 5/6 working days!!! It was great being on the tram route into Melbourne. All in all a very pleasant experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in an excellent location

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Its charm and location
Location: We recommend walking around Albert Park lake or the nearby botanical gardens. Hop on a tram. Try Cinnamon Sri Lankan restaurant a few doors away.
A beautiful period hotel close to transport and Melbourne CBD, parks and gardens and good restaurants. Delicious and generous breakfast, bar,library and pool table. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quiet hotel.

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Wotif
Loved our stay over the New Years period. Close to trams to city and very pleasant and quiet surrounds. We felt the staff we a bit under staffed and could at times had some more help. All staff were very nice and great if we had any questions. Exceptional stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geelong west

Lovely to stay in heritage building

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The fact that it is heritage listed homely with style and lovely breakfast
Cons: Can't really think of anything to improve on
Location: Lovely restaurant nearby for dinner
We were delighted to stay at charsfield beautiful building Great position and we usually stay in the cbd but this was a lovely experience staying in st kilda road we didn't particularly need to go any where so perfect. The staff were delightful and very friendly
4 out of 5
by Rajinder

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Wotif
Good location. bed very comfortable breakfast outstanding value all in all very good