Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Old style hotel with old style courteous service.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Excellent service, large comfortable rooms with high ceilings, close to plenty of restaurants and tram stop to the Bourke Street Mall.
Cons: A pleasant comfortable place to have a during other than the bar.
Location: Opposite Parliament House and park, tram stops a short minute or two away, plenty of restaurants including Lupino - an Italian restaurant.
We stayed for four days at the hotel and enjoyed the comfort, good service and friendly staff. The hotel experience for us was positive for the length of the stay. The room was large and the high ceilings added to the sense of spaciousness. Breakfast was in the beautiful dining room with table service - no buffet - which again added to the enjoyment. The only issue was the Cricketers Club which is a famous bar but not the place for a pre-dinner drink. The hotel needs a comfortable lounge for drinks. Overall, a great place to stay and we would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

old world charm and the history attached

Posted Jan 13, 2017
It's an unique hotel and the decor is sensational. It brought me back in time and I could reminisce about the past. Every thing about the hotel was superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm & service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Spacious rooms & hallways, great service & well located. Add in history & a charm & character sadly lacking in modern buildings & you have the Windsor. The harpist playng in the lobby on Saturday was elegant touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burington On Canada

Location - brilliant.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Kudos to the staff - so welcoming - so accommodating. And the building itself - wow - a part of Melbourne history. And the location - CBD - marvellous. Trams - the majestic theatre - Her Majesty's Theatre - right around the corner - the Parliament building - gardens - the MCG - all walkable.... I highly recommend this grand ol' hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing not to like
Our stay was excellent. Stayed for the Christmas break, lunch was outstanding. The nice little touch in our room for my husbands birthday was greatly appreciated. The hotel is in a perfect situation close to tram. Loved the 'old world' atmosphere. Russell on the front door always helpful and ready with a welcoming smile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Welcoming staff

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Concierge made the stay friendly and were incredibly helpful with trams, sightseeing, restaurants etc Rooms old but that is the nature of the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful suit room

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Our room was Windsor suit. It was better than where I ever stayed. Antique furniture was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, great location.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Good location, warm and friendly staff
Cons: There is nothing tht requires improvement.
Location: Easy to access, near lovely parklands, close to city shopping.
I have stayed at The Windsor a couple of times (one was a lengthy stay) and have found both stays exceptionally wonderful! I always felt welcomed and was treated like 'a special person' every time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly & professional hotel staff. Good location
Cons: not that I can think of
We stayed 3 nights in here. The staff service was top notch. Easy access to the central area for shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Close to city amenities

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: I liked the heritage look and feel. It was like stepping back in time.
Cons: I thought the food was expensive.
Location: Close to many Melbourne city attractions.
The hotel had an old word ambience about, although I felt the room we stayed in was a little tired. The grand staircase and the huge chandeliers were a sight to behold. The staff were friendly and helpful. The dining room looked wonderful, but the prices were quite expensive, for what you got. I didn't think the menu was very extensive considering the price so I didn't eat there. Another thing which appealed to me, was that it was very quiet, I guess the thick stone walls would have helped in that regard. Outside the façade of the hotel was wonderful.