Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from taiwan

Nice small hotel at south yarra

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Close to south Yarra train station. Small old hotel with very good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Brisbane

Favorite hotel in Melbourne

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay very relaxing
4 out of 5
by Pamela from Bendigo

One night in Melbourne

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
It was great the brekkie was lovely just roll out bed was so bad I slept on the couch
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasant hotel close to all the buzz of South Yarr

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Wotif
Concierge staff very attentive, polite and professional in terms of dealing with their customers. The dining facilty, though little limited on the space is great for the morning breakfast or just coffee and cake. Over all very pleasant stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from country Victoria

Quiet and pleasant

Posted May 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Quiet, and a touch of class...felt a bit like discovering a well kept secret.
Cons: Can't think of anything...it was great !
Location: The location is a minutes walk away to terrific shopping and restaurants, galleries.
I was recommended to the Lyall Hotel by a friend....I will most definitely be returning here on any future trips to Melbourne. The decor is very tasteful , staff terrific...it is quiet , and just a very pleasant place in every respect.
5 out of 5
by Aileen from Galashiels, Scottish Borders

An excellent hotel.

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I, both in our sixties, were very pleased with the facilities of The Lyall Hotel. The Deluxe suite we had was excellent and we were able to relax in the separate living room. The facilities in the kitchen area of the suite were very good and having a washing machine was a bonus especially when we had been living out of a suitcase for a week and before travelling on a long haul flight. We didn't use the dishwasher as we ate out most nights at some of the great restaurants in South Yarra which were within walking distance from the hotel. Although we did use taxis to go out at night we did use the public tram which we could get near the hotel and this made it easy to get into the centre of Melbourne. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only negative point is that the service at breakfast could be slow at times but the staff were apologetic about this and the great breakfast made up for that. We will certainly stay at the Lyall again next time we are in Melbourne.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I LOVE LOVE the LYALL!!

Posted May 9, 2016
My second stay at The Lyall did not disappoint!! I remembered it so fondly and was very pleased to find the warm, friendly and very professional staff just the same. Gorgeous rooms and champagne by the fireplace is a must. Thanks guys!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Great boutique hotel in excellent location. Very friendly staff and lots of atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by Dr. edward from Biddenden

The lyall hotel and spa

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were all very helpful and courteous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location for shopping

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Not a five star experience. Not value for the rate we were charged possibly because it was the Formula One weekend. Would not recommend it at the same rate