Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maffra, Victoria, Australia

Inexpensive family stay

Posted Feb 19, 2016
We stayed on a family room with private bathroom. The room was clean and what I expected from s backpacker hostel. The staff were helpful and security was good. The location was easily accessible but public transport or a short walk from Southern Cross Station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2016 by Beks, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, We enjoy offering our high level of service to our guests. Ensuing our venue is of a high standard and that our staff are answering all of our guests questions and queries and giving them great advise on what to do and see in Melbourne. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place to spend a couple nights

Posted Jan 31, 2016
The place was quite nice as far as hostels go. The rooms are secure, you can lock your luggage and charging station up. Washrooms were clean with lots of stalls. Close walk to the CBD. Staff seemed organized. Great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Beks, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review, We enjoy providing a fun and secure environment for our guests. Our location is very convenient and close to many attractions such as the crown casino, the convention centre, Eureka tower and the South Melbourne market. Not to mention the variety of restaurants and cafes that are only a short stroll way. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shepparton

Nice, clean and convenient

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Staff were wonderful and very helpful would stay there again my children and i thought it very clean and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Urban Central, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review, It was our pleasure to have had you and your family stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Extremely comfortable mattress & duvet. Hostel is located by the freeway, so it does get quite noisy. The locks on the door are automated and can be quite loud. Breakfast is very basic, but does the job. Hostel has no free wifi, not even in common areas, which is a shame.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2015 by Urban Central team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, We are delighted that you were able to experience a comfortable stay. Our rooms have recently been refurbished with new mattresses, doonas and pillows. Our WIFI is only $3 for 24 hours $7 for 3 days and $17 for one week. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Launceston, Tas

Great staff make an average hostel better

Posted Nov 17, 2015
The staff at Urban Central were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2015 by The Urban Central Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for this outstanding review! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maroochydore

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Cons: small fridge in self contained rooms
Location: convenient to exhibition building
Friendly staff very willing to make your stay the best it could be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

to be advice if you need a budget hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: it was clean, clean bedding
Cons: advice people what type of hotel it is ,
Location: location was ok, only night time is loud and many party people
with same price I could get better hotel and a family hotel, not for a backpackers or working people, there is nothing wrong with that , but it was not our situation at this time. We were 2 different families and I was expecting 2 rooms rather then one big family room, was noise at night time, for a family people. This hotel is more for single or group people who come for other reason not recommended for a family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nope

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: bar
Cons: most
Location: didn't stay long enough to find out
room was bright, loud, hot and smelled like vomit. I only stayed one night and barely got 4 hours of sleep. just nope, nope, nope......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mornington peninsula

What a place

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: As above - Everything
Location: Crown Casino is just around the corner. Located near southbank the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and South Melbourne Market
Friendliest and cleanest back packers I have ever stayed in. Breakfast is adequate and plentiful. Evening meals are super cheap and delicious. (Hot dogs with cheese and sauce $1.00 Hamburgers or vege burgers with heaps of salad $2.00) Rooms were very clean. The place also has a very good bar with friendly staff. Also a perfect location in Melbourne. You will love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Close to CBD, you get what you pay for

Posted May 23, 2015
Continental breakfast included every morning, close 20 minute walk into the CBD, cheap accommodation in active environment. I was only there really to sleep as I was working volunteer shifts throughout the day and socialising in the CBD. Good amenities. The only thing was I had a bad experience with a roommate, but staff changed me to a new room, and even accompanied me when I went to get my things.