Ratings based on 1,094 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great roof top pool & bar

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I would recommend this hotel but would also advise against room service food. Had risotto and ravioli wich took forever to come and both were awful. It was our only option on the first night as we arrived late. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet, the lunch on the roof top and the over 16s swimming pool were amazing (though not heated). Perfect location for a quiet break with a couple of amazing restaurants around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Excellent location

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great location for shops restaurants Close to beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london on canada

Stayed 1 week

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: close to the bay, best beach on the island staff was always understanding
Cons: better mattress and thick pillows for regular rooms
Location: close to the beach close to gorzo island ferry
Pros; close to great bay beach, close to bus stop, suite rooms are good Cons: regular room is horrible, bed uncomfortable, pillows are flat and uncomfortable Staff was great in upgrading us to suite room, IF YOU ARE GOING TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL THAN STAY IN A SUITE and your stay will be enjoyable. REGULAR ROOMS ARE UNCOMFORTABLE. AL PONTE IS A GREAT RESTAURANT, hotel staff is great, its just the regular room. The upgrade saved my trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Great location

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Location Choice of pools which includes adult ownly on rooftop
Cons: Not allow smoking on the sun beds around the pool and to ask smokers to smoke by the bar on the sofas nothing worse trying to relax with smoke blowing
Location: War bunkers/tunnels Cathedral Underground chapel
Great location easy walking distance to historical interest places, beach, shops & restaurants, bus stops Hotel was ideal with 3 pools , 3 restaurants all offering different cuisine Excellent buffet breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham UK

Amazing room upgrade

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Stayed here for 3 nights for my mini honeymoon. Booked the deluxe city view and was upgraded to a huge room with a huge balcony and Hot Tub! Amazing lovely unexpected surprise. Would stay here again as the hotel was very clean, decorated with style and great location to explore all areas of Malta in minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Country

Wonderful hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The rooftop child free pool and bar was our favourite spot.
We loved our stay at the Maritime, the hotel is luxurious with every comfort considered and with helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The hotel was lovely and very relaxing. It was busy but didn't seem packed. The staff were all lovely too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

rooms are not provided as itinerary states!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
I initially wanted a twin bedded room. But after looking at availability I chose a more expensive room with a king size bed and two singles. My itinerary stated this would be the room I would receive. On arrival I was given a twin room. I was told no other rooms were available? I could have saved myself at least €100 if I had booked a twin. No refund was offered. They had no intention of chanignig my room. The bathroom was in need of deep cleaning e.g. Mould all around the bath and the base of the shower door. When I pulled the beds apart the dust was awful. Around the family pool lots of feral cats sleep and beg for food. Someone actually leaves water and food out for these cats on the balcony near the family pool so they sleep there on the hotel pool beds. During our stay a group of thirty plus arrived and took over the pool. I was surprised such large bookings were allowed. It felt quite intimidating. The breakfast was basic. But adequate. A child seriously injured their foot when swimming iin the inside pool during our stay apparently cutting it on a sharp filter pump. On the whole the staff were friendly and helpful except the booking in. You have to pay a €20 deposit on a credit card.? I offered my debit but they preferred a credit card when I requested it reversed on leaving I was told it takes 14 days to return it? Never had to pay a deposit anywhere before. Not a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Best location in Mellieha

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Lovely hotel to stay in, great pool and dining options. Bus stops right outside the hotel get you to all the other parts of Malta you wish to visit. The beach is a 15 min downhill walk and the Gozo ferry is a 10 min bus ride away. At our departure time the roads were blocked by a fuel spillage, with no sign of our transport we could have missed our flight but the F.O Manager was AMAZING, he spoke to the transport company and gave them an alternative route to pick us up. Staff on reception and guest relations desk could not do enough to help/answer questions throughout our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3* Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017
I stayed at this hotel for two weeks & can honestly say that I have never stayed in a 4* hotel anything like it. The majority of the staff we rude, particularly reception & the roof terrace bar, slow service. This hotel has what I can only describe as a rule book in the room....if borrowing the iron, must be returned within 24 hours or will be charged, must return pool towels & get your card stamped or will be charged etc & the one that tickled me the most....must not wear shorts to dinner buffet! It is a buffet for goodness sake, not a fine dining restaurant, so we didn't bother going at all. Overall I would say the hotel is trying to market itself as a higher star than it actually is, not value for money at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Nadine Mohr, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback. I hope you are well. I have passed on your valuable comments to the relative departments for their review. I wish you a lovely Summer ahead and we look forward to welcome to back to the Maritim, should you choose to stay with us whilst visiting Malta in the near future.