Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Confusing layout, but a very nice hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2017
This hotel has an amazing breakfast, wonderful rooms, charming decorations, friendly staff, and some nice views of the area...but the layout is a bit odd. If you don't mind navigating the maze, you'll love your stay here :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

nice hotel shame about a few things

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Cons: cleaners dont use the lifts and let paying guests use them keep the buffet full dont wait till its empty to order more
we stayed at the hotel in nov 2017 the only thing we did not like was the buffet breakfast did not matter what time you went down half the food was empty and you would have to wait 20+ mins to get it filled if you had to use the lift in the morning 9 times out of 10 the cleaners would be going up and down in it so you could not get it 1 morning we had workmen drilling and banging in the room above us at 8am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

The best hotel in Mellieha

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Friendly family type hotel, not too large very well run.
Cons: Nothing as far as I am concerned.
Location: There is a bus stop 2 minutes walk from the hotel where an excellent service operates to many parts of the island.
We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past few years and never been disappointed. Warm welcome from Delores on arrival at reception. Beautiful varied meals at the Bonaventura restaurant (which would suit all tastes). Friendly and efficient service from all staff (particularly Doreen, Marouska and Adam). Thanks again to Pierre for organising our favourite room. The hotel is in a quiet situation as it is set back from the main road. I recommend the half board package as this is excellent value, but if you only want B&B there are many cafes and restaurants in the town. The ferry terminal to Gozo is only a 15 minute bus ride away. For people who like walking there are many nice walks in the area, especially along the Marfa Ridge. Mellieha bay is a 15 minute downhill walk from the hotel.This bay is very suitable for children as the water is very shallow for many metres from edge of the sand. Other bays (Golden bay and Ghajn Tuffieha bay) can be easily reached via the 101 bus route, every hour from ouside the hotel. The 101 bus also goes to Popeye village, good outing for all the family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Israel

An ideal hotel for exploring Malta

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The generous room utensil provision by the family management team; the decor, the seating, balcony and attitude in welcoming children.
Cons: More notices showing which way to go as we got lost so many times. Guest laundry room & washing machine facility.
Location: Sadly town museum closed, although signposted. The war shelter, Church, beach, town shops, bus tours. Car trips to cinema, Aquarium and Red castle
Breakfast was generous and very economical. Our rooms were spacious with plenty of chairs and outstanding self catering facilities - everything thought of. We ate out for lunch and self catered in the evening when tired. The 'in house' restaurants served tasty and enjoyable food. We appreciated our balcony & furniture with its beautiful view. The only item missing was a clothes washing facility. We used the floor 7 entrance. We managed to lose ourselves many times in the two different sides of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moans

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The staff including the cleaning staff
Cons: The wifi
Staff were great but in this day and age the wifi needs updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Lovely Hotel, great staff.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: The Position, close to the town, beach, bus stops.
Location: WW2 tunnels, play parks for children, lovey sandy beach, plenty of good restaurants.
Wonderful views, hotel very clean & comfortable, nothing was to much trouble for the staff. We told them an earring had been lost in the room and we had searched without success, when we returned they had found it after spending a lot of time looking. All the staff were very helpful and friendly .We had a wonderful holiday and hope to return to the Pergola next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honiton

Nice hotel, shame about noise

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Booked a sea view apartment, lovely views except very loud building site next door. They were digging into the rock which meant all doors had to be closed just to hear each other. Also hotel vibrated. Could not relax by pool as right next to digging. Asked staff about noise, they just said there was nothing they could do. Very bad customer service. Other than that hotel was fine. View was amazing through the glass!!! Could have been warned about noise before we left.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice hotel but has a very noisy building site.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Good facitiies and big rooms.
Cons: Stop the noise or at least warn customers about it before they arrive.
Nice hotel but there is a very noisy building site next door with jack hammers and diggers going from 7:00 AM until 5:00 PM Monday to Friday and the whole building vibrates with the noise. The building site is right next the main pool and the noise drowns out any conversation or bar music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melia, Malta

Absolutely fantastic holiday

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: We most enjoyed the friendly staff at the pergola. They was extreamly helpful and the hotel was beautiful.
Cons: The only thing we can think of was noisy other guests. Some visitors was extreamly disrespectfull as our room was at the front of the hotel.
Location: The location was perfect as the Parish church of Melia and the sanctuary of our lady was only a short walk. The hotel and rooftop pool was beautiful.
We stayed with Pergola hotel and Spar Malta. What an amazing holiday. We enjoyed every minute. The hotel was beautiful and very very clean. From the moment we arrived we was greeted by extreamly friendly staff and offered an upgrade with a large balcony over the front of the hotel. We felt like we was being treated extra special. As we have never been to Malta before the receptionist Tanya was extreamly helpful. She gave us a dumb down version map of the local areas and were to go and visit. With our booking we was offered a free hydro pool experience which we defiantly look advantage off. The hotel has a beautiful spar with indoor pool, small gym and gorgeous outdoor pools too. Our first 3 days the weather was awful and rain bucket loads but we had plenty to do and enjoy. Also around the out door pool is the Cave Bar were we was welcomed by Justin the bar tender. He is very friendly and couldn't give a better service. He served us delicious food and supplied us with a variety of cocktails at a very reasonable price. No request was too much. When the weather did pick up we had plenty to see and do and with guidance from Tanya (receptionist) we enjoyed superb food and drink from the local restaurants along the main strip. Personally we found the restaurants were fair priced but didn't effect the quality. One night me and my partner visited Ta-Randhi and I wasn't feeling very well and I had to move tables a few times and they was extreamly accomading. We would come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sutton Coldfield, UK

Relaxing Holiday

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Friendly welcome on arrival. 2 bedroom self catering apartment in totel was just what we needed. Had use of the hotel facilities (e.g 3 pools) and restaurants if needed. Fantastic view of the bay - worth the little extra. Balcony small but ok to seat 2 plus small table. Graet to sit here and read/relax whilst taking in the views. Easy walk to Melliha 'high street' which had numerous restaurants. On bus route so caught bus into Valletta for a day out. May be different in August when busier but great at the end of September when no/few kids around.