Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Close to the beach & the view was breath taken

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Although it took forever to check in which was disappointing at first but in the end we really did enjoy our stay it's Amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Josian Vella. PA to The Chief Operating Officer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize about the delay whilst checking in. This is probably due to the large number of guests arriving at the same time on our main change over days. We thank you for being so forgiving. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. Regards, Josian
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Fine hotel where one felt relaxed from the moment of arrival
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Josian Vella , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next stay at the resort. Regards, Josian Vella PA to The General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

Nice large resort hotel with beutiful sea view.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Kids friendly
Cons: It's helpuful if a shop opens till night time.
Location: Staying at hotel is nice with beautiful view and nice pools and private beach. Walking distance to the hourse riding experience.
Kids friendly hotel. Large pool and provate beach area. Lots of kids activities and kids free meal option under some conditions at restaurants. Not so far to the ferry terminal for a day trip to Comino and Gozo. Close to local bus station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Josian Vella , Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are glad to read that you found the resort kids friendly and that you enjoyed your overall experience. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Regards, Josian
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Lovely hotel & friendly staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights & had an excellent experience. The staff were friendly & hotel facilities were excellent, would definitely recommend a visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Josian Vella , Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with us and that the facilities and services exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Regards, Josian
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Its was nice but a very remote area. Nice beach & pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Josian Vella , Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Although the area is remote, there is a local bus station just outside the hotel. One can also book a shuttle bus at the Drifter Garage desk situated in the lobby. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards, Josian
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel and location

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, pool, beach
Cons: Work with a better local transport firm
Lovely hotel overlooking Golden Bay. Staff were spot on and food in Flavours really good with genuine variation each evening with theme nights. Slightly remote but Malta is quite a small island it doesn't take long to get anywhere. Was delighted to see hotel kept to their rule of not allowing self important people to dump towels on sun beds by pool and go back to bed. One arrogant bloke tried it and got sent packing - brilliant to watch. Sadly they didn't seem as strict on the private beach on same rule. Only issue was not really with hotel but their association with Drifter who have desk in lobby and arrange transport. Their desk staff were pretty offish and arrogant. We went out on a trip on a bus with our baby but when we were picked up it was no longer a bus but a car with no child seat/restraints provided. Not driver's fault and he was genuinely apologetic but when I complained to their desk representative later it was apparently our fault for not guessing it would be a car picking us up and we should have ordered a car seat as they wouldn't know we had a child with us. (even though we'd asked if room for a pram in the bus when we booked so who did they think we were taking? Frankly their desk staff just didn't care about child safety. If you need car hire I'd go with Billy's who we booked after above event and were really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Josian Vella, PA to The Chief Operating Officer, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review about our resort. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our staff, we strive to give the best possible ‘Yes I Can’ service on a daily basis. We are also glad to read you enjoyed the food at Flavours. With regards to the booking with Drifter, whilst we apologize for the way it was handled, we will surely bring it to the attention of the management at Drifter. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the resort in the near future. Regards, Josian
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Not 5*

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Family (2 adults and 2 children under 6) stayed for 3 nights. Smooth check in although I would have liked to have been offered a map. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with full cooking facilities (we have a child with allergies). Lots of lounges around the pools and the area is clean and tidy. The beach was good for kids as they could walk out quite far before it got deep. There's a small playground which was adequate for a quick play. The kids club has a varied list of activities for kids aged 4-11. We had a good breakfast in Flavours every morning. We also ate one night in Flavour's restaurant for the 'Maltese night' buffet. I enjoyed it but my husband wasn't impressed. Where I feel this hotel does not live up to 5* is it's handling of special dietary requirements. As mentioned our son has allergies (eggs, all dairy, nuts and sesame seeds) and the restaurants website states 'We treat food allergies seriously...' This was one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel. We told the breakfast and evening staff of our son's allergies but they didn't seem to fully understand and we're unable to offer alternatives. Unfortunately the miscommunication and limited understanding from staff resulted in my son being given an egg/milk cake and 'lactose free' cream as part of a kids club activity bringing him out in hives, swollen face and a rash all over his face and body. ALL catering staff need to be properly trained to ensure they understand the severity of allergies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lives up to reputation

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. The location was great and beach lovely. Service in the beach front restaurants was a little slow but very friendly. Good policy on guests not reserving sun loungers which means there were always free loungers. Would recommend the local riding school for an excursion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Josian Vella, PA to the Chief Operating Officer, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review about our resort. We look forward to your next stay with us. Regards, Josian
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

Luxurious hotel with private beach

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Spacious suite with very comfortable beds and helpful staff. Breakfast is particularly good. Pool area fantastic and every desire met from start to finish. Extensive choices of bars and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by PA to the COO, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent stay at our resort. We are delighted to read that our facilities and services reached and exceeded your expectations. We definitely look forward to welcome you again on your next visit. Regards, Josian Vella
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great five star hotel on a high cliff overlooking

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location, lovely hotel with excellent facilities and very friendly staff.
Cons: The pillows were too high
Location: Beautiful location, private sandy beach, trips to Gozo, Aquarium and Blue Grotto were excellent
Excellent breakfast buffet, including two live cooking stations. Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast buffet, including two live cooking stations. Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff.We stayed there for 13 nights with a baby. Private Beach was amazing with comfy sunbeds and parasols, kids pool ...