Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

A great stay

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Hotel, staff and location fabulous marred only by poor food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Highland

Out of the way and quiet

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: View of the river
Cons: maintenance and decoration.
Location: tourist info OK but we didn't require to stay in the area so wasn't useful to us
Bedroom lighting poor. especially for older people. Two light bulbs in room not working. Shower adjustment was dangerous. either cold or scalding again dangerous for older people. Hotel looks tiered and especially inthe dining room. Chairs soiled. good item was the quiet location and view of the river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A quiet and relaxing night away

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Spacious room with a comfortable bed. Great food Nd beautiful surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely Hotel pity about the restaurant

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Our room was great and the staff were very friendly.
Cons: The restaurant was very disappointing. The menu was more akin to a bar food menu and lacked any imagination. Not what I expected for a 4 star hotel.
Location: great location next to Dryburgh Abbey and on the banks of the River Tweed
Hotel was really nice. Our room was great and the staff were very friendly. Restaurant was very disappointing. Menu was more like bar food. e.g fish and chips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milngavie

Excellent hotel with good food

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Good food; comfortable room
Cons: Windows
Location: See Dryburgh Abbel and walk to Kelso
Plus: There was a fire alarm at about 08.00. All guests were politely shephered out. Some were in their night clothes and staff circulated with blankets to keep us warm. It took about 30 minutes for the fire engines to arrive. Minus: The window sash cord was broken. We had to wedge the window open with a bottle to get fresh air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great country hotel with lots to offer

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location and very spacious. Staff were very helpful and made you feel welcome. Evenings were spent playing scrabble and visiting the bar.
Cons: Breakfast was delivered to the table warm on both occasions as opposed to hot and poached eggs were always over-cooked.
Location: Short driving distance from most Border towns. Lots of old buildings to explore nearby and lots of country walks available
Weekend break away with walking and relaxing in mind. Great facilities within the hotel and located in perfect walking distance of the great outdoors. The hotel sits on the River Tweed and has fantastic walks nearby. Lots of wildlife and local history to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel by River Tweed

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: All of it.
Excellent country hotel beside the River Tweed and adjacent to Drysbrugh Abbey. Thoroughly recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good and hot, the breakfast serving team were excellent, what a shame about the rest.
Cons:
Location: Dryburgh Abbey
The room was awful. The carpet was full of unmentionable stains - really, really dirty, the mattress and bed base were disgusting. The mattress was old and lumpy (also covered in stains) covered by a thin piece of foam - really it didn't cut it at all. The paint on the window frames and radiator were peeling off and flaking onto the floor (How much is a tin of paint for goodness sake). The toilet cistern ran all night. To be honest, I wish we had accepted the loss of money and gone somewhere else as it really spoiled our last night in Scotland. Very, Very disappointing to say the least.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Time to chill

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely time at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel. Very peaceful and relaxing.
4 out of 5
by John

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Really good stay. Comfortable rooms, food good Only drawback was we had booked a room with bath and shower only to get an email to say room booked no longer had a shower. No discount given either