Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A quiet and relaxing night away

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Spacious room with a comfortable bed. Great food Nd beautiful surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely Hotel pity about the restaurant

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Our room was great and the staff were very friendly.
Cons: The restaurant was very disappointing. The menu was more akin to a bar food menu and lacked any imagination. Not what I expected for a 4 star hotel.
Location: great location next to Dryburgh Abbey and on the banks of the River Tweed
Hotel was really nice. Our room was great and the staff were very friendly. Restaurant was very disappointing. Menu was more like bar food. e.g fish and chips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milngavie

Excellent hotel with good food

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Good food; comfortable room
Cons: Windows
Location: See Dryburgh Abbel and walk to Kelso
Plus: There was a fire alarm at about 08.00. All guests were politely shephered out. Some were in their night clothes and staff circulated with blankets to keep us warm. It took about 30 minutes for the fire engines to arrive. Minus: The window sash cord was broken. We had to wedge the window open with a bottle to get fresh air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great country hotel with lots to offer

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location and very spacious. Staff were very helpful and made you feel welcome. Evenings were spent playing scrabble and visiting the bar.
Cons: Breakfast was delivered to the table warm on both occasions as opposed to hot and poached eggs were always over-cooked.
Location: Short driving distance from most Border towns. Lots of old buildings to explore nearby and lots of country walks available
Weekend break away with walking and relaxing in mind. Great facilities within the hotel and located in perfect walking distance of the great outdoors. The hotel sits on the River Tweed and has fantastic walks nearby. Lots of wildlife and local history to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel by River Tweed

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: All of it.
Excellent country hotel beside the River Tweed and adjacent to Drysbrugh Abbey. Thoroughly recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good and hot, the breakfast serving team were excellent, what a shame about the rest.
Cons:
Location: Dryburgh Abbey
The room was awful. The carpet was full of unmentionable stains - really, really dirty, the mattress and bed base were disgusting. The mattress was old and lumpy (also covered in stains) covered by a thin piece of foam - really it didn't cut it at all. The paint on the window frames and radiator were peeling off and flaking onto the floor (How much is a tin of paint for goodness sake). The toilet cistern ran all night. To be honest, I wish we had accepted the loss of money and gone somewhere else as it really spoiled our last night in Scotland. Very, Very disappointing to say the least.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stirling, Scotland

Nice quiet-ish country hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, setting, ambience
Cons: Menu (see comments above)
Location: Mostly explained above. There is no town or even village called Dryburgh, but Melrose nearby has great cafes, craft shops etc and a beautiful abbey.
A nice old-fashioned country hotel, in a quiet get-away-from-it-all setting, right next door to the picturesque ruins of Dryburgh Abbey. About 4 miles to lovely Melrose, and 10 miles to Kelso or Jedburgh, so it's an ideal centre from which to explore the Borders. Our rooms (a suite at the top of the tower, reached by a lift) were clean and comfortable, but the bed a wee bit hard. We brought two dogs (a small extra charge for this) but there were few limitations and no problems with that. The meals were good - ample breakfast buffet, and excellent dinner. The dinner food is very good but the menu choice is limited and did not change while we were there. They say that a new chef will be starting there soon, so that aspect may improve. The staff are all excellent - very friendly, willing, helpful etc. The hotel also has a small swimming pool and a sauna - not the greatest, but they're ok. We used both and were fine with them. Something to do if it's raining and you don't want to go anywhere. The hotel has 30-something rooms and is a popular and picturesque wedding venue, so it can be deceptively full at times (eg car parking, dining times etc). Probably not ideal for young families or party crowds - not enough for them to do. But we would certainly go back, next time we want a short but quiet break in lovely surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Location. Food was good and staff pleasant. Small swimming pool.
Cons: Room was clean and spacious but was a bit worn (carpet, chair covers, bathroom fittings) so would benefit from being refreshed.
Location: Can start walks from hotel door (St Cuthbert's & Borders Abbeys walks). Excellent meal in Buccleuch Arms pub in St Boswells. Lovely countryside.
Nice hotel in lovely location. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Good as a stop-off in the Borders

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The food!
Cons: We would have liked a room with a view.
Location: Lovely location on the banks of the Tweed, and close to the Wallace Monument and Scott's View
A very nice hotel with a lot of character. Our room, on the Ground Floor, was a bit dark and had no view but the bed was comfortable and the facilities good. We particularly liked the large lounge area where we could sit and read, or enjoy a drink. We had an excellent dinner - I had the Cullen Skink starter, which was historic, the best I tasted in Scotland. All the food was beautifully cooked and presented, both at dinner and breakfast when I had a perfect Eggs Benedict.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Glasgow

Perfect for walking the St Cuthberts way.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Staff very friendly and setting beautiful. Ideal base to visit the Borders.