Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting on bank of Tweed.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Situation
Cons: Nothing
Really pleasant stay. Will certainly stay again. Excellent food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Great hotel wonderful location

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Only faults shower curtain mouldy and the shower controls fell off and shower head difficult to use.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coatbridge

A bit tired and note there is only ONE bar

Posted May 21, 2016
Hotel furnishing is ancient. On enquiring about the four bars/lounges was advised at reception there is only the one bar. A little misleading. I am not a seasoned drinker but there is limited choice in the bar, and expensive. I paid about £5 for a can of draught Guinness. The hotel staff are really friendly and down to earth. We ate evening meal in the bistro where the atmosphere was supposedly more relaxed; but we found it extremely quiet and everyone spoke in hushed tones. I dread to think what the restaurant atmosphere was like. But then I suppose atmosphere is down to the patrons. However I think the addition of some piped music would help, at a low enough level to allow conversation of course. I would probably not bother to return here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds

Posted May 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Need to make reservations for dinner in the bar They have a formal dining room for dinner, with a dress code
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely country hotel

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: The environment.
Cons: The amenities could be modernised. The showers are typical British one: inadequate. Just the head-on-a hose type with a low flow rate. No room fridge
Location: Lots to see in the Borders area.
This hotel was a quiet countryside experience. There are excellent walks directly from the hotel, including along the River Tweed. A visit to the adjacent Dryburgh Abbey is a must.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous setting, fabulous food

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel was a real delight. Right on the River Tweed, it was in a really picturesque setting. The food was fabulous both at dinner and at breakfast and the staff were very friendly. I would love to stay there again sometime.
3 out of 5
by Stuart from Anstruther

So so

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor and patchy wifi in the room barely able to get a connection
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Livingston, West Lothian

Good for unwinding

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 day, 3 nights trip to unwind and chill in a place we know from previous experience - nice comfy fairly traditional hotel with efficient pleasant staff and which does truly excellent food - a big attraction for us :-). Set in a beautiful location beside the river Tweed and Dryburgh Abbey ruins (a National Trust site) where the air always seems clean and fresh no matter what the weather is like! Also is dog-friendly although we didn't take ours - he's not very strange-place friendly!
4 out of 5
by Jean claude

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Great location

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Lovely, comfortable country hotel with views of the abbey and river Tweed. Helpful staff, good choice of well cooked local seasonal ingredients. Gluten free not a problem. Highly recommended