Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good location for exploring the Scottish borders

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The location, the friendly and helpful staff and good food. Lovely view over the River Tweed and local walks along the river and nearby areas.
Cons: The hotel does needs refurbishment. Our room though comfortable, needed a new bathroom and carpet and a lick of paint.
Location: All main sites within about a 20 minute drive, including Melrose and Jedburgh. Also a park and ride scheme to catch the train to Edinburgh for the day
Perfect location for exploring the Scottish borders. Right next door to Dryburgh abbey one of the beautiful abbeys ni this area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great place to unwind staff could not be more helpful shame the pool was closed for some maitainance
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Fab, old traditional, country hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Fab country hotel, on beautiful estate next to the River Tweed. Traditional rooms, large with good facilities. Food is great. Staff are friendly and helpful. Loads of places to visit and great walks
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth Louise from Letchworth


Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Brilliant in so many ways, overall a lovely stay. One moan- unreliable/ unavailable wifi and poor connection if you actually got on line. If you promise wifi you should deliver. I've just stayed in a B+B with better wifi than this country house hotel.
5 out of 5
by Neil from Aberdeen

Hidden Treasure

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived in the early evening for a one night stay. The staff at reception were very friendly and welcoming and we were directed to our spacious bedroom on the first floor that looked out towards the river. We had an enjoyable dinner in the restaurant where the head waiter was charming and helpful. Before breakfast in the morning we had a pleasant swim in the small indoor pool. Breakfast was very good and served by the friendly staff. Check out was by 11 am, a very enjoyable stay at a classic hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting on bank of Tweed.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Situation
Cons: Nothing
Really pleasant stay. Will certainly stay again. Excellent food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Great hotel wonderful location

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Only faults shower curtain mouldy and the shower controls fell off and shower head difficult to use.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coatbridge

A bit tired and note there is only ONE bar

Posted May 21, 2016
Hotel furnishing is ancient. On enquiring about the four bars/lounges was advised at reception there is only the one bar. A little misleading. I am not a seasoned drinker but there is limited choice in the bar, and expensive. I paid about £5 for a can of draught Guinness. The hotel staff are really friendly and down to earth. We ate evening meal in the bistro where the atmosphere was supposedly more relaxed; but we found it extremely quiet and everyone spoke in hushed tones. I dread to think what the restaurant atmosphere was like. But then I suppose atmosphere is down to the patrons. However I think the addition of some piped music would help, at a low enough level to allow conversation of course. I would probably not bother to return here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds

Posted May 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Need to make reservations for dinner in the bar They have a formal dining room for dinner, with a dress code