Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ayr

Very nice

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The breakfast and all staff were the making of the hotel. The pool area was tired,however clean! A bit of updating wouldn't go amiss,but please keep up the great work
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Very Nice hotel good location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The Scottish character feel and every thing mentioned above
Cons: Not much to improve
Location: Location is down a quiet country road but as most visitors have transport the location is very central for visiting lots of nearby border towns.
Stayed here for three nights last week. This is a nice old hotel situated on the banks of the river Tweed and next to Dryburgh Abbey. Most guests(probably all) had cars so the quiet location was not a problem.Some have said that it is faded grandure, I would rather say that the hotel has character. Staff were very good and efficient and pleasent. Breakfast was really good the full Scottish breakfast was too much for me but I'm sure lots of guests enjoyed. Our room was spacious and clean equipped with TV, portable heater (if central heating was off) iron and board, hair dryer and trouser press also two bottles of water one still one sparkling every day. Bathroom was clean and tidy with shower and bath and toileteries provided. There was plenty of free parking even though the hotel was fully booked. Well worth a visit and very good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Scottish home

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Cosy settees and bar prices
Location: Dryburgh Abbey , think hotel should promote it and offer discount for guests
Rooms great size , restaurant food top class , drinks in bar reasonable prices ,breakfasts cooked to order ( like hard poached eggs ) no complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, England

Nice hotel, close to the Abbey

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: It was really nice to be able to walk to the Abbey. The atmosphere in it was relaxed, friendly but professional at the same time.
Cons: Nothing in particular.
Location: Close to Melrose and various other interesting visitor attractions
This was a friendly, relaxed hotel, which we really enjoyed. We wished that we could have stayed longer. Will definitely recommend it and return when we are back in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Beautiful location. Hotel good but could better.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
This is a lovely country house hotel in a wonderful location but it needs work to make it the perfect place to stay which it could be. On arrival the receptionist was curt to the point of rudeness and this did not improve during our short stay. Such a disappointing start - a more caring attitude would make all the difference and the rest of the staff were lovely, so please fix this. Our room was nice but the carpet was threadbare and the mattress was very old and extremely uncomfortable. We decided to eat in the bistro on our first night rather than the formal restaurant but the food and prices are exactly the same. That's a take it or leave it attitude which doesn't meet the needs of guests. We will still come back here but are hoping for some improvements!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutland

Lovely period hotel in beautiful grounds

Posted Aug 29, 2017
cant fault our experience at this hotel. Lovely room, friendly polite staff who couldn't do enough for you. Evening meal was superb and breakfast was great with so much choice . Excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful surroundings, hotel ok

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Surroundings. And sat outside in the gardens with drink in the sunshine. Has a pool. Close to Melrose.
Cons: Decor in rooms, bit more interest on arrival, making of scrambled eggs.
Location: Great walks, riverside, Melrose town. Hour from Edinburgh.
Typical old country house hotel which sits in magnificent surroundings with the River Tweed right outside and the Dryburgh Abbey ruins alongside. Lovely walks, spectacular Borders views but the hotel needs some money spent on the rooms which are big but need attention. Dinner was fine but breakfast less so, particularly as the scrambled eggs were solid, sliced from a brick mould - and the same again when returned from the send back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully situated on the River Tweed

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Convenient for the Border Towns, gardens, and especially Abbotsford.
Very welcoming, pleasant staff. Our room was comfortable and clean but rather small and somewhat noisy - creaky floor, ratttly door and some extraneous noise - especially in the morning. Food was OK, breakfasts pleasant without being outstanding. We had one dinner, main course very good, sweet overpriced for what it was. Wine overpriced, as usual!! Comfortable lounge, pleasant eating areas. The greatest selling point wasa the situation - absolutely beautiful. Would go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Country House hotel exactly comme il faut

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Everything, absolutely everything about this hotel is pure, classic, country house. The grounds aare beautiful, the food excellent and the service whisperingly perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Character hotel close to the Tweed

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Very pleasant and convenient hotel. Our only criticism was the breakfast which was pretty thin. My wife ordered smoked haddock and literally received just a bare piece of fish on a plate?