Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NE England

Beautiful Location For Borders Exploration

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Just about everything except the TV
Cons: A larger TV is expected these days.
Location: Well situated in beautiful location to visit local places of interest and for easy walking close to hotel.
We found this to be an ideal base for a relaxed short break with lovely local walks and wonderful views. We stayed two nights, and the food we had was very good with service to match. I don't know how often the menu is changed, but the fish and game options appeared to be varied every day. the only shortfall in our view was that the television in our room was very small (not that we needed one) and may disappoint some who rely on this for evening entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Stately pile next to the River Tweed

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: We had a large room in one of the towers on the third floor, A lovely view of the river and, from a side window, a view of a pair of oyster catchers.
Cons: We were disappointed when dishes described on the menu were sent in from the kitchen made up differently.
Location: The hotel is on the bank of the River Tweed, right next to Dryburgh Abbey, a romantic ruin where Sir Walter Scott is buried. Anglers will like it.
It was a bit tricky to find. The atmosphere and surroundings were peaceful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted May 4, 2017
Lovely old Country House Hotel in stunning countryside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Dumfries and Galloway

Brilliant Hotel with Large rooms excellent.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, very clean, large rooms and great breakfast.
Cons: Nothing, spot on.
Location: The Abbey is right next to the Hotel and is a must to visit, we never ventured out because we had no need to.
Expedia found us a twin room at the Dryburgh Abbey Hotel and I must say the Hotel was brilliant, it was pet friendly and spotless. The staff were really attentive and looked after our every needs, lovely place with lovely grounds and right next to the Abbey, worth a visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrogate

Lovely location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pity about the shower.... a trickle and difficult to control water temperature. Restaurant food disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Great position beside the river Tweed and the Abbey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful countryside

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. The food was extremely good. Peaceful even though there was a wedding we were undisturbed by the evening celebrations. Grounds were well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location by the river.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We had a lovely and relaxing stay. Staff were kind and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Booked Classic Double Room at the last minute as a final stopover to end our touring holiday of Scotland. From moment we walked through the door, staff were so welcoming & friendly, Our room was excellent & the bed so comfy. The view from the room over the river & gardens was beautiful. The food was supurb. So top marks all round & thanks for making the last day of our holiday so special.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Country House Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff - very friendly and helpful Clean comfortable accommodation Lovely grounds Very atmospheric
Cons: Standard of catering generally poor and disappointing with very limited dinner menu Did not change over a 4 days stay Food was bland and unambitious
Location: Beautiful scenery round about and many walks . Free trout fishing if required Near all major Border towns, particularly lovely Melrose
Lovely grounds, immediately adjacent to ruins of Dryburgh Abbey and overlooking the River Tweed Old fashioned country house hotel but generally in good condition with lovely dining room overlooking the Tweed Let down by level of catering which did not match the ambience of the place Breakfasts very average from point of view of quality and quantity and dinner less than satisfactory