Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tring

Character building in lovely grounds

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Nice situation,lovely grounds,comfortable room and good food well served.
Cons: As with many hotels could do with a bit of updating.
Location: Although out of town it is still well placed for getting to all the local attractions
the hotel is very attractive with an interesting history.Lovely grounds although the putting green needed some attention.We had a very nice meal in the evening and the staff were friendly and attentive both then and at breakfast which again was excellent.Our room was large with an enormous bed and nice views to the grounds.I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Nice Property. Comfortable stay.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Countryside
We thought the hotel was very comfortable, a little tired in places, looking for some investment. Good facilities and very good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Nice hotel with brilliant views and friendly and helpful staff. Perfect for exploring the area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to cattle market

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Cons: Paint job!
Pleasant stay. Helpful and knowledgable staff. Big car park. Just the job for land Rover and cattle Trailer. Although very adequate in every respect, hotel is looking a bit tired and could do with a bit of TLC. Repair odd bits of damage, lick of paint everywhere, etc. Did not eat there as had function elsewhere. No breakfast as left early. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Friendly staff, clean room, hotel could be nice but currently looks a little tired and rooms are very thin walled. Was an event on Saturday night which was very noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Nice hotel near Melton Mowbray town centre

Posted Aug 18, 2017
On arrival, check in went smoothly. Staff very friendly, room clean and spacious which was good as we had our dog with us. Some of the main areas of the hotel look a bit tired but was generally very clean. We had dinner in the hotel and the food was really good, very good quality. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

overnight family stop enabling us to visit gardens

Posted May 22, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: location, although further away from rutland than the website suggested.
Cons: as above really, nicer sausages for breakfast, compote wasn't available, update all furniture, whilst keeping character of place.fish pond needs plant
Location: barnsdale gardens to visit.
had booked on line, so were allocated rooms,.rather than than choosing. swopped to be nearer family member, wished we hadn't as the shower room was dated with cracked tiles in cubicle, and very dated decor, with no expelair.bed was comfortable, facilities as you would expect, but nothing special, carpet bittytoo, long way to go for the new owner to put this hotel on the map(unless for all the events!) meal pleasant thank you, very quiet, needed some atmosphere to go with the dining experience. very relaxed staff, breakfast room leaking with a bucket on the floor!!, but hey ho we make the best of wherever we go..
5 out of 5
by mark

A wonderful nights stay.

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
We were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff but especially Matt, (although we had to keep an eye on our dog as everyone wanted to steal her away). The food was wonderful and cooked just as we asked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst hotel I have stayed in!

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room was awful - dated peeling wallpaper, stained carpet, the bathroom was tiny and the shower mouldy! I was advised that there would be no bar meals and the restaurant meal we had was lamb shank and should have been called lamb gank it was truly terrible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Oct 10, 2016
It was ok nothing special, defiantly overpriced. Rooms are very dated especially the bathrooms! If I was to attend a wedding there again I think I'd book the premier inn down the road for half of the price.