Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Poor choice when there are many better available

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Just about everything you could name
Location: Bad neighborhood. Felt very dangerous.
1) Scary location. Highly likely to have car broken into, stolen, etc. They park and empty police car in the lot to "scare" away would-be criminals. I doubt it works. 2) Hotel itself is in very poor condition. Dirty, run down look and feel, needs cleaning, redecorating, new furniture. Bathtub was filthy, with something peeling off the tub surface and lots of mold on walls. 3) Bed was old, worn out mattress. Didn't even want to check for bedbugs, too sure they'd be there. 4) Lobby smelled like rotten eggs or sewage. Not a welcoming kind of smell. 5) Overall a very bad feel. Surprising for Holiday Inn. Far from usual standards. Not like it was any less expensive than other surrounding hotels. Easily located another hotel in much better condition and location for same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by n/a, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experiences during your stay at our hotel. These issues will be looked into and addressed. We would like the opportunity to wow you on your next stay. Sincerely, Florita W
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
It was okay.?There was no microwave in the room. Other than that it was okay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice

Posted Nov 27, 2016
I enjoyed being there. The staff are some amazing people. I appreciated their welcoming and their goodbye. You are acknowledge there. The room air conditioning or fan is a little bit loud, other than that, thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pine Bluff, AR

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Overall it was OK even though the ice machine and drink machine didn't work on my floor and a couple of outlets didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.P. Tx.

very nice

Posted Oct 18, 2016
we enjoyed the hotel very much. It was clean & the staff were all very courteous & friendly. Our only negative was the shower leaked on to the floor. There were a lot of fast food places very near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by front desk, Hotel Management
We appreciate you choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240. Your feedback is necessary in helping us to exceed all expectations. Sincerely, Florita W.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

about 15 minutes from downtown Memphis

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Had no problems with the hotel itself.
Cons: fix the aircon & the smell emanating from it.
Location: it was near I240 so it was only a 15 min drive from the great restaurants Memphis has and Graceland.
The staff, amenities, breakfast eating area & pool were all great. Our room was nice but had this overwhelming smell or urine or something along that line, I think it was coming from the aircon but after a while it did dissipate, but quite unpleasant in the beginning, in the end we had to turn the aircon off as it made a horrible vibrating noise aside from that everything was lovely, we would stay there again but not in room 405.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Comfortable hotel with quick interstate access.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We only stayed one night. The room was clean, but the hallway carpets can use some deep cleaning. The breakfast met our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great hotel, great staff and comfortable bed! We will be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad area go to a place with secured parking.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
I Parked in a spot where it says customer parking right in the front. During the night my car was broken in and work equipment was stolen. When I ask manager to view the cameras he tells me that's the area the cameras don't cover??? Maybe that's something you should tell your guest before they park there. I will never stay at a holiday inn again. Poor management. Half the hotels in that area have gated parking? I Didn't think it was a big deal but I will only stay at a hotel with gated parking when traveling in Memphis,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond Virginia

Fair hotel and good breakfast

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Comfortable room, lots of hair in the bathroom when we got there (dirty), good breakfast. For just one night is okay!