Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This was a one night stay for a meeting.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The room was fine and the breakfast was really good.
The hotel was convenient for my meeting and just right for what I needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

My experience was terrible.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
When I first got there I was told that they overbooked and that their system was down. I booked my room over a week before I got there. Then come to find out they gave my room to someone else which I paid for a two queen bed room. They said that they would give me a kind size bed and a roller bed room. When I got to the room it was a queen bed. I called and asked about the bed which then her words to me was we ran out of those rooms. What? Don't tell me I got. King bed if you weren't planning on giving me that room. Now the bedroom looked clean at first until we got to the bed which we found spots all over the sheets. The toilet stopped stopped up on us 3 times so whenever we had to use the restroom we had to leave the third floor and go all the way to the first floor. Earlier that morning I was told since I'm a ihg member I can check out at 2 and that I would get my ihg points for all the mishaps that happened which I didn't receive. I went to breakfast and something told me to ask about check out at 2 which they have new staff at this time. She then tells me that I can't check out at 2 due to them overbooking again. You can't be serious. I've never had to deal with an hotel with so many problems. I was also told that since I booked on a third party (Expedia) I don't get first priority. I paid for my room which is money going into the hotel as anyone booking straight through them so why would I not be first priority as well. I've never experience this the 3 years on Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Memphis

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Great location but minimal food choices at this location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Poor choice when there are many better available

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Just about everything you could name
Location: Bad neighborhood. Felt very dangerous.
1) Scary location. Highly likely to have car broken into, stolen, etc. They park and empty police car in the lot to "scare" away would-be criminals. I doubt it works. 2) Hotel itself is in very poor condition. Dirty, run down look and feel, needs cleaning, redecorating, new furniture. Bathtub was filthy, with something peeling off the tub surface and lots of mold on walls. 3) Bed was old, worn out mattress. Didn't even want to check for bedbugs, too sure they'd be there. 4) Lobby smelled like rotten eggs or sewage. Not a welcoming kind of smell. 5) Overall a very bad feel. Surprising for Holiday Inn. Far from usual standards. Not like it was any less expensive than other surrounding hotels. Easily located another hotel in much better condition and location for same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by n/a, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experiences during your stay at our hotel. These issues will be looked into and addressed. We would like the opportunity to wow you on your next stay. Sincerely, Florita W
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Was put in the wrong room. Booked a double, they gave me a single and would not change it. The desk attendant Ashley was hateful to me and seemed to be racially biased against me. Thus alone made this the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. A full refund would be the classy and professional thing to do since I was never even once offered the room that I booked. The funds were taken off my card immediately so it was impossible to go elsewhere, which is what I told the desk clerk I was going to do. Never mind that when I booked the room I checked to pay at checkout since I may have needed another night. This was unprofessional and entrapment type behavior. Not pleased at all and am going to report your hotels conduct on this matter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight Work Stay

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Work related stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Appleton

Poor customer service.

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenient location.
Walk-in customers are not welcome. Clerk said that Hotel is sold out. Parking lot was not full at all. I made my reservation through my phone and I got the room I wanted. Surprisingly ?- NO. Poor customer service. They didn't accept my IHG rewards cards either ????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
It was okay.?There was no microwave in the room. Other than that it was okay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but needs cleaning

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
The room was dirty. The bathroom especially. Also the hotel looks like it was renovated but has some shortcomings in a lot of places. The staff was nice but no one was at the desk readily available the 3 times I had to go to the front desk.