Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Convenience

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: This holtel is convenient to the entire Memphis area. Nothing is too far away
Cons: The bar/lounge could be alitle bigger andf stay open a little longer`
Location: It is adjacent to Memphis University so there are the standard college Art museums and such.
Stayed from Monday evening through Friday morning visiting a daughter who relocated to Memphis. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast is very well done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great business hotel in quite area of town.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Good value, nice hotel, great staff, and quite
Cons: It's a little dated, but not bad
Location: Shopping, eateries, business. Not too far from down town and Germantown as well
I have been looking for a hotel close to my Memphis office. I had never seen this one as it's 1 block off of Poplar, and back by the University of Memphis. It's a nice hotel with a very friendly staff. The area is quite. I will be staying here overtime I go to Memphis.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leawood, KS

Disappointing

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Across the street from University of Memphis. Bed comfy, lighting good, staff friendly.
Cons: Food is below par. Wireless internet speed erratic and at times useless. Need a mirror in the dressing area of suites.
Location: Across the street from the University of Memphis.
I must admit I am not a fan of Holiday Inns. I feel they are generally overpriced. But, the best thing about this hotel is that it is across the street from the University of Memphis. That's why I chose it. If you have business at the University, great. Other than that, it was very disappointing. Wireless internet is extremely important to me. The Holiday Inn wireless was so erratic in quality it was often useless. Download speeds ranged from 1.2 mbps to 40 (!) but most of the time in the sub-5 mbps range. Useless. I was in a suite and a basic amenity is to have a mirror available in the dressing area. There is none. You have to go back to the bathroom or out to the entrance area to find a mirror. That is so basic. The food in the hotel restaurant is below average even for hotel food. Under-cooked scrambled eggs every morning (I stayed 4 nights), bacon good, sausage poor, waffles/french toast/ pancakes under-cooked. That was for a PAID breakfast. Lunch and dinner were average to below average. Staff were very friendly. However, I noticed the carpets in the hallways were either not vacuumed at all or very poorly. I saw the same debris for three days. What was amazing to me is that the hotel has the Kemmons Wilson (founder of Holiday Inn) School of Hospitality and Resort Management on site. By the way, his story is fascinating, and the museum worth checking out. But I don't think he would be pleased that this location is not measuring up to expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Room size and layout were good.
Cons: Daily paper for those visiting from out of state.Coffee cups as opposed to paper cups. Check the rooms for leaky faucets.
Location: N/A
Nice accommodations for a banquet event. Banquet food was well prepared and room was well lite, great temperature for the number of people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Illinois

Nice hotel with basics

Posted Mar 6, 2017
There is no pool, but you can use the one at the university across the road for $5.00 for each person. The room was basic and filled all of our needs. Staff was very courteous and kind. Fast check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Debbie C., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you found the staff courteous and kind. It is something our staff takes great pride in. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to have you back real soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the topic of waste management...

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly.
Cons: Don't use TP rolls that only turn halfway when you try using them! They're ineffective and an annoyance.
There is a bizarre apparatus in place in the bathroom. The kind of which I've never seen anywhere else. The inner tube to which the toilet tissue roll is affixed has sort of this "nub" on the left side. When you tug on the toilet paper, the nub knocks against the frame of the mount, causing the tissue to tear off in 2-sheet increments. Apparently hotel management doesn't understand how humans work, so allow me to break this down for you: 1) Nobody wipes with just 2 sheets. To imply that they should is to imply that they just wipe with their hand. 2) This insults my intelligence and gives me motive to overuse your tissue in defiance. 3) If preventing clogs is your motive, your guests are likely to just tear off 2-sheet increments up to the same volume they would otherwise use anyway, so this is ineffective. The mechanism is not only ineffective, it's counterproductive. I am more inclined to overuse tissue in protest because your hotel seems to think I'm too stupid to unroll the toilet paper by "unwrapping" it from the roll instead of pulling it. This seems like a very passive-aggressive solution to a problem that makes me feel unwelcome as a guest. It seems like your management views their guests as burdensome and imposing because of some problem you've had with your toilet paper expenses. Please uninstall them. They're hurting your bottom line.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Debbie C., Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. I appreciate your feedback. I am a bit confused by your comments as this is the first time I have ever has this type of comments. The toilet paper rolls can easily be removed from the roller if you are having issues getting the paper to roll down. They come off just like the ones in a home. We also provide extra wrapped rolls of toilet paper and tissues in our rooms for our guest. I can assure you what you described was not an intentional act by our management team to save money. We value each of our guest and do our very best to take care of all of our guest's needs. We welcome you to stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Holiday Inn University of Memohis

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Access to mid-town Memphis.
Cons: Price is a bit high but rooms are clean and suite style gives plenty of room.
Location: Good location for Memphis attractions.
This is well-maintained quiet hotel accessible to both east Memphis and midtown. It has all the amenities I needed for a 2 night stay. Staff were helpful and cordial although a requested early AM taxi was not done as asked initially. Breakfast and lunch options are good with ample breakfast in a hot or cold variety at a reasonable price. .
5 out of 5
by Rene E

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review! We really appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again real soon. Debbie C. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Dudley

Dud's stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay. Great room and locations to events we attended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your room. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Debbie C. General Manager
4 out of 5
by CODY

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was good. This is a older hotel but really well maintained and really nice staff.The beds however are small and if they are having a event parking will be an issue. Overall it was a good stay for the family.