Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

1.8 out of 5
17% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2016
I paid to stay in a three star hotel of unknown name. When I received my confirmation letter, I was relieved to see that it was a Holiday Inn, with whom I've had several pleasant experiences. Upon arrival at the address listed in my confirmation letter I was horrified to find a hotel decidedly not a holiday inn, or any other brand of known hotel. There were mattresses visibly leaning against windows. A large, handwritten sign on the front door read "Please- no guns in the hotel". This suggested to me that there had been problems with this in the past. There was a sign out front that read "Governors Inn and Suites" and below that "34.99 per Night". Aside from the obvious price difference I paid, I was less than pleased with the additional option to pay hourly should I wish. The check in woman ignored me for at least ten minutes while chatting with a young woman about the sex she had just finished having in a large, black car out front. (The "new guy" didn't like her new nipple rings apparently) The check in lady then walked the girl down the hall and opened a random room for her, calling out over her shoulder as she walked back toward me, "I'll send the next one in when he gets here!" I can only assume at this point that Expedia has sent me to a brothel that was perhaps once a Holiday Inn in another life. Please feel free to peruse the pictures and reviews left by former guests for "governors inn and suites Memphis TN" on TripAdvisor - they are deeply illuminating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather gross

Posted Dec 23, 2010
The sink was not clean, and the towels had spots on them, but even then, there was nothing I couldn't handle. Until I turned on the shower, and the water came out brown. I was completely disgusted. I would strongly recommend not using this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Mike from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Give this Hotel a Break

Posted Dec 18, 2010
After reading the reviews I expected the worst hotel ever. In fact I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby was pleasant and clean. The room itself was very nice. Very clean. The bathroom was clean and the bathroom fixtures bright and shiney. In the bathroom they had packs of toothpaste and shaving cream along with razors and toothbrushes. While the hotel is worn a little around the edges I found the place very clean and the employees very friendly. I would recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Rusty water, broken elevator, ragged carpeting. Oh my!

Posted Nov 22, 2010
This was the hotel I was given when selecting a 3 star hotel in Germantown. This is not a 3 star hotel! The staff was wonderful, but I fear they will soon all be out of work. The onsite restaurant is closed -- not even a continental breakfast is offered. The carpeting in the hallways is ragged in places. Trim is missing. One elevator is broken. No ice machine on the floor I stayed. Fitness center closed. I could not shower because the hot water ran brown with rust, and did not clear up even after several minutes of running at full volume. Don't believe me? I have photos. I travel frequently on business, and I'm always trying to find a good value. Motel 6 offers much better quality than this hotel -- and it does not claim to be a 3 star hotel. I cannot recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Not a 3 star, maybe 1.5, it is worse than motel 6

Posted Sep 23, 2010
This is NOT a 3 star hotel. I will give it 1.5 stars just to be nice. I could not stay there I just booked another hotel and ended up paying for both. The hotel, if you can call it that, was do dirty and smelled like wet clothes that have been wet for a long time. There was only one guy running the place and everyone had to wait while he went to get some ice for the party they had there. Our first room, the sink leaked water and the whole bathroom floor got wet. Our second room, had such a bad odor, I tried to turn the AC on to vent it out a little and the AC wasn’t working. Needless to say I got a room at another hotel which was advertised as a 3.5 stars and it ended up being the Hilton hotel, much much much better. I don’t know how they rate these hotels but there is much more than a 0.5 star difference between these hotels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Sep 22, 2010
This is not a three star hotel as expedia claims. I will give it 1 star at the most
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2010 on Hotels
Location: Beale Street, The Neelys resturant, dog race (southland park)
this is not a Holiday Inn it is called Mt Moriah Inn nothing in this hotel works i will never stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not A Hiliday Inn

Posted May 24, 2010 on Hotels
Location: Go to Neely's BBQ - top rated food from the couple on Food Network - just a fwe miles South of this hotel.
This hotel is fine if you need to find a place to lay your head late at night for cheap. The front desk staff is not professional, but they get the job done. We were promised wireless internet - didn't work and after a call to the front desk, there was little concern (we gave up on that). The shower didn't drain well. On the positive side, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the TV was good, the bath was clean. Bottom line - if you are looking for a cheap place to lay your head, go for it. If you are expecting a Holiday Inn experience, this is not for you. It's OK. It is not great and not bad. When you look for this hotel, you won't find it with the name "Holiday Inn," I forget, but it is something like Mount Moriah Hotel.