Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

One of the best hotels anywhere.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: traveladvisor.com
Cons: nothing
Location: On the Mississippi, a short cab ride from Beale St. music.
Superb. Excellent staff, wonderful facilities, beautiful location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Memphis Hotel!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The area and friendliness of staff. Location along the banks of the Mississippi, affording great of views of the sunsets
Cons: A shuttle bus could transport guests to and from the Downtown area as Ok to walk to the $1 trolley bus in day but not too nice to return after dark.
Location: Situated in a modern complex along the banks of the Mississippi river. Stax, Sun, Civil rights museums, boat trip, Beale St and Gracelands.
My husband and myself stayed here for a week this September, after a week in Washington. Memphis is very laid back, a bit run down in places but full of musical history. The parkland opposite the hotel is lovely with many local families making use of it by picnicking, jogging and dog walking . Everyone was very friendly. The hotel has a restaurant/bar upstairs and out room wasnt very far from it (about 2 rooms along) but we didnt hear any sound at all coming from there. There are a lot of nice touches at the hotel: a small library area with 2 easy armchairs and an abundance of books on each floor, glass of bubbly on arrival and port (which we dont drink, but nice if you do indulge! ) and choc each evening: 2 bottles of water provided in room each day: pianist in the comfy lobby/lounge in evenings. The breakfast was in abundance and was included in with our price leaving us full and ready for a day exploring. The only downside was, as we didnt have a car, the walk to the $1 trolley buses was fine in the day but a bit worrying after dark as we needed to go over the bridge and didnt really feel safe doing this. When we went to the Pyramid we requested a taxi back to the hotel and had to wait 45 mins with 3 people attempting to call one for us (from the Pyramid, not the hotel). There was a similar wait from the Stax museum so taxis seem to be a bit on the slow side! A shuttle bus from the hotel to/from Downtown or the trolley buses would alleviate this problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

The Best of Memphis for lodging and food

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The ambiance, amenities, convenient dining at Paulette's.
Cons: Housekeeping or maintenance keep noise down in hallway in morning hours.
Location: Located in Harbortown area of Memphis, TN, overlooking the Mississippi River. Downtown Memphis close by : Orpheum Theater, Redbirds Park, FedEx Forum
The River Inn afforded my husband and me with one of the most pleasant B and B experiences we have ever had. The room had every amenity, and the food at Paulette's, under the same roof, is worth making a trip to Memphis in itself. The drive about Harbortown was entertainment enough after dining at Paulette's. Downtown Memphis is only blocks away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, MA

River Inn at Harbor Town-Memphis, TN

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The room we stayed in was fabulous, and the breakfast they serve there was absolutely world-class
Cons: The dinner at the hotel was very good, but was overpriced for what they served us.
Location: You're only 2 miles from downtown, which is an easy 5 minute drive from the hotel.
River Inn is an excellent place to stay with a great location; the room we stayed in was excellent, and the staff was most attentive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel but need to taxi to downtown

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Staff were all very helpful they even rang and booked us a follow on hotel Gave a personal touch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

A safe place in the middle of downtown.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Harbor Town is a quaint little town all of its own and it is right next to all the excitement of the big city. A place to go and unwind after a busy day. Great places to choose from for lunch or dinner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a Nice Island Neighborhood

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is situated in Arbor Town, which doesn't have much to offer in terms of restaurants and shops, but there is a beautiful trail down the Mississippi River and it's a short drive to wherever you need to go in Memphis. It's the most comfortable I've felt in a hotel probably ever.
3 out of 5
by Kim from Lisle

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
The housekeeping manager needs to be fired. Hotel is showing its age, but a good cleaning goes a long way. Bathroom was dirty, torn shower curtain, filthy room carpet.
3 out of 5
by Nathan from Dillsburg, Pennsylvania

Nice hotel - but overpriced

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel - but overpriced. Sherry and chocolates in the room is a nice touch. The clerk at check-in offered wine or champagne but when we said YES they had no champagne. The free breakfast was excellent. Fit for a King.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Nice venue with view of Mississippi river

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Great access to all sorts of activities in downtown Memphis. Harbor Town is a great place to stroll around and look at all of the nice houses.
The River Inn has a lot of charm and is a great location to view the Mississippi river and the stunning sunsets.