Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rittman Ohio

Old n rundown!

Posted May 10, 2017
Not a nice experience had not enough sheets or blankets, took 10 minutes to get hot water in shower, room had funky smell, no one cleaned anything in 3 days, we took out the trash ourselves, the manager was friendly but kind of clueless, was told by cabbie these rooms were normally $40-55 a night, we payed almost $200 a night. I realize the music festival was going on but this wasn't worth close to what we payed. Memphis was great the Roadway Inn Memphis just plainly SUCKED!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The most disgusting place I have ever booked into

Posted May 7, 2017
DO NOT BOOK HERE!! We ended up leaving and booking into somewhere else. Staff are the rudest people I have met. Unsafe area with very intimidating individauls around the hotel. Read reviews on trip advisor and you will NEVER book this so called "hotel."
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Noisy

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We could hear doors slamming shut all the way down the hallway and could hear the people in the next room talking. Didn't get much sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice easy location.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Could be a bit cleaner but overall and good place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Dirty bathroom and towels, "breakfast" was dried out muffins.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Given key to an occupied room. Then given a room that had a bathroom that wasn't cleaned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Surprised Considering

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Being a downtown hotel and the neighborhood it is located I was surprised to find the hotel to be in very good repair. The breakfast was good as well. The only thing missing was a pool!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MS

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The picture of the room on expedia is totally different than the pictures on Rodeways website. That's deceiving to paying customers. We cancelled our reservations after seeing their website. There is NO WAY we would stay there especially with our child! They refused to refund my total payment! I would not recommend this place to anyone!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clemson, SC

Cheap, nice hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Good location and rate.
Cons: Mainly the sofa bed mattress.
Location: Beale street is not too far away and you have a couple of good bars to hang out. There were some good blues bars.
We are 5 students and we only stayed for one night so the hotel was just fine. I think they should improve the sofa bed mattress, we had an air mattress with us so we didn't actually use the sofa bed. The king size beds were really comfortable and the people working at the reception desk were nice. It was good they offered breakfast, even though there's not really a breakfast room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Friendly but filthy

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Everything.
Location: Pretty cool restaurant and shop district about 1 1/2 miles south ( Cooper St) that caters to younger generation. Lots to see and do.
Soon as I arrived I was struck by all the garbage in the lot and on the walkways and stairways. I signed in and was greeted by very friendly people, helpful as well. But everywhere I looked there was dirt and grime. At breakfast, I pulled the outdated milk from the cooler only to see liquids and crusty filth covering the bottom of the cooler. The cereal dispenser had the same flakes of cereal on the base all 3 days, never cleaned once. In the room, the table base was caked in thick layer of dust. Bathroom floor was filthy near edge of shower. Walkways were sticky from something and I'd bet were never washed or cleaned. They always had at least 2 people in office but they sure didn't take any pride in their business. It's nice that they're available and friendly but as long as they're standing around they should get out pails and soap and get to work.