Ratings based on 1,993 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Historic hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The Peabody is a beautiful old hotel. Most of it has been beautifully maintained and is a destination in itself. Very convenient walking distance to many Memphis tourist spots. We brought our three children and enjoyed having adjoining rooms. Two situations do detract from the hotel, however. One is that the walls are very thin and we could hear EVERYTHING happening in the rooms adjacent to our rooms. I will just say we didn't sleep very well and had some awkward conversations with our children the next day about what was happening next to us. Also, the famous duck ceremony in the morning and afternoon is fun to witness, if you get there early, but also makes it extremely difficult to use the elevators to the guest rooms during those times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly managed premium hotel.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: It's an historic, grand and beautiful hotel. The Ducks in the Lobby Fountain add a quirky touch.
Cons: See above under experience. The hotel is not well managed and in no area did I receive good service. There is no attention to serving the guests
If you are looking for service, do not stay at the Peabody Memphis! In several areas of the hotel operations, the staff either do not understand service or are unmangaged/unwilling to provide service. In the Lobby Bar, Carpaccio and the Deli and Desserts, the understaffing or no staffing surely will impact their bottom line in terms of sales. Additionally, when a request for a hair dryer was called in (note that the hair dryer should have already been in the room), neither the first call, nor the second call generated a hair dryer. Only on the third call - by that time, the lack of a hair dryer was making us late for an appointment. The lighting is the tiny bathroom is insufficient for applying makeup. And, on one of the two beds (which we had to pay extra for by booking the room thru Expedia), there were blood stains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Arkansas

Stay

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location, History and Condition
Cons: Nothing
Location: Wonderful! I was on crutches and it was near everything I wanted to see.
Wife and I enjoyed Downtown Memphis by staying at the Pea Body
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Classic southern hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Great location, walking distance to several attractions and dining.
We loved our stay at the grand old Peabody Hotel. Although it's old and classic, the rooms and facilities are updated and modern. Service is excellent all the way around. Can't go wrong staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Al

Classic American Elegance

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location, History and Class!
Location: Beale street. Great restaurants. Auto Zone Baseball field and The FedEx Forum.
What a great first experience for our Anniversary Memphis trip. Super location. Super lobby bar. All the stuff we were looking for. Will be back again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Elegant Character

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Access was well lit. Elevators were quick. Mezzanine was enjoyable and satisfying. Ducks signatures everywhere--butter, soap, etc. STAFF!!!!!!! Great!
Cons: Nothing that I noticed.
Location: If you go to The Peabody, one should go and soak in the atmosphere of this grand hotel; however, if you must leave the premises . . . restaurants!!!
Pleasant surprise was the upgrade to a Executive King Suite!!! Room service was sensitive, responsive, very polite, quick and efficient. The room itself--we couldn't stop staring at the beauty--furniture, draperies, color-scheme, overall design. It was a step back to an earlier age, but we had all the amenities of today--bathroom faucets/shower, phone desk with outlets for chargers and computers/tablets. Couch and chair were very comfortable. Views from the floor windows was incredible. To say that The Peabody is elegant and filled with character is an understatement!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Was expecting better

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: I loved the lobby bar and atmosphere in the lobby with the piano and open lounge area.
Cons: The rooms are not sound proof at all.
Location: Great restaurants and events at the FedEx Forum
My wife and I stayed at the hotel while attending a concert at the FedEx Forum. We have stayed at several older and historic hotels and understand due to the age that these hotels are not constructed the same as a brand new hotel is today but we have never experienced the noise level from our neighbors at any other hotel. The walls did not appear to be insulated at all. We could hear every sound around us. We could understand every word spoken by people in the neighboring rooms and every T.V. that was on around us. There was no privacy inside the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Perfection

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This is a world class hotel with an exceptional staff. No complaints whatsoever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Beautiful hotel. We had a corner room on the 10th floor so it had more space than regular rooms. The bathroom wasn't very big but other than that the Peabody was fabulous. We loved breakfast in the hotel restaurant--the staff there bends over backwards to make your dining experience perfect. We will definitely go back and stay at the Peabody.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Best part of my trip

Posted Jan 31, 2017
This hotel is just gorgeous! The lobby was a perfect place for coffee and/or cocktails! Walking distance to Beale St. BB Kings is a must!