Ratings based on 2,023 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Ducks, Pool, Location.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room.
Location: Very close to Beale St. and the Elvis statue. Within walking distance of the civil rights museum and delicious bbq restaurants.
Had a great time with my family at The Peabody. The ducks are wonderful. The pool/gym/hot tub were nice. The corner bar makes "the best lemonade on the planet" according to my daughter. And the location was convenient to all the sights and restaurants we wanted to visit. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Great hotel in every aspect. A ton of character and history, with good old southern hospitality. Don't forget to visit Lansky Brothers, around since 1946, clothier to may celebrities/ rockstars including the king himself - Elvis Presley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raymond, MS

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Great location. Lots of history.
Cons: Bathrooms are a little small, but this hotel is wonderful.
Fabulous hotel in a great location - highly reocmmended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

38 years of marriage celebrated right!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: All the old world charm the wood working, the scrolls, just the "Feel" of elegance and days gone past. It was a step back in time, with modern comfort
Cons: sadly, the dust ruffle on one side of the bed, had something dark stained on it, and in the bath room a three quarter tear on the wallpaper. for 300 +
Location: The Peabody Hotel is near everything! step across the street into a half alley to the rendezvous for the world famous ribs. then enjoy Blues!
I booked a King sized bed (with an upgrade) and it was a beautiful room! The only thing I think your guests should know is there is no coffee maker in the room. The room has old world charm, and is beautiful. You MUST take the time to stop and watch the duck parade, the children around just love the red carpet roll out and presentation. Breakfast was room service and wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Went for an overnight stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. Whould have loved to had dinner there & go up to the rooftop lounge. Beautiful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Downtown Memphis

Posted Mar 10, 2017
This was our first visit to Memphis. We loved it! We stayed at the Peabody for our final night there and are glad that we did. Yes, it's more expensive but very well worth it. Watching the Duck Parade, shopping, dinner at Chez Phillipe, the room, the staff and learning about the history of city and the Peabody will make great memories and a strong desire to return someday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice Hotel with a lot of tradition.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Location, Tradition, Architecture and Ducks.
Cons: Understanding that a Holiday Inn Express now has more amenities with a nicer staff that gives you the welcome home feeling.
Location: Excellent downtown location with anything you can think of to do.
Nice Hotel with a lot of tradition. I think they are over priced for a hotel with average rooms. Loved the experience from staying here. I would not stay again. The whole staff had an attitude of superiority and gave me and my wife the feeling we should be happy to give them our money. I would hate to see a Memphis tradition fade away but I would not be surprised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The room
For the first time in Memphis the hotel offer us an amazing time. Everyone was helpful and so nice. The food in the restaurant was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Historic hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The Peabody is a beautiful old hotel. Most of it has been beautifully maintained and is a destination in itself. Very convenient walking distance to many Memphis tourist spots. We brought our three children and enjoyed having adjoining rooms. Two situations do detract from the hotel, however. One is that the walls are very thin and we could hear EVERYTHING happening in the rooms adjacent to our rooms. I will just say we didn't sleep very well and had some awkward conversations with our children the next day about what was happening next to us. Also, the famous duck ceremony in the morning and afternoon is fun to witness, if you get there early, but also makes it extremely difficult to use the elevators to the guest rooms during those times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly managed premium hotel.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: It's an historic, grand and beautiful hotel. The Ducks in the Lobby Fountain add a quirky touch.
Cons: See above under experience. The hotel is not well managed and in no area did I receive good service. There is no attention to serving the guests
If you are looking for service, do not stay at the Peabody Memphis! In several areas of the hotel operations, the staff either do not understand service or are unmangaged/unwilling to provide service. In the Lobby Bar, Carpaccio and the Deli and Desserts, the understaffing or no staffing surely will impact their bottom line in terms of sales. Additionally, when a request for a hair dryer was called in (note that the hair dryer should have already been in the room), neither the first call, nor the second call generated a hair dryer. Only on the third call - by that time, the lack of a hair dryer was making us late for an appointment. The lighting is the tiny bathroom is insufficient for applying makeup. And, on one of the two beds (which we had to pay extra for by booking the room thru Expedia), there were blood stains.