Ratings based on 1,233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Beale street

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Very basic hotel undergoing renovation. No clock or tea / coffee machine in room. Noisy smelly air con. Terrible television. Filthy microwave in room and a refrigerator that froze anything put in it. Very limited breakfast because of renovation - cereal, muffins and bread (old toaster balanced in a painting table). No where to seat and eat breakfast so had to stand up and get in the way of other guests. We weren't warned about the renovation work or compensated for the limited breakfast. No fresh drinking water at breakfast. The staff were very helpful but that didn't really make up for such basic facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Beale Street

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Perfect for a short visit to Memphis if location and budget are a priority!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

not good for kids

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: the deskman was nice and helpful and the beds were comfortable
Cons: The pool has no shallow end ,steps or rails.light fixtures had no covers.fridge & microwave were in the closet so no hanging space
Location: about 4 blocks from Beale st.
We were not happy !!! it was very hot so my 73 year old husband took our 2 greatgrand kids to the pool the kids jumped in not knowing there was no shallow end ,steps or rails the 5 yr old had floaties but could not pull herself out of the pool my husband scraped his knees helping her and climbing out. We were already worried about the room being safe
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Basic hotel going under renovations.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location Breakfast Free parking
Cons: Cleanliness Lighting
Location: Beale street Sun Records Haunted walking tour Civil Rights Museum Peabody Hotel Pyramid
Location was great! Quick walk to Beale Street. Free parking is a bonus. Continental breakfast Including scrambled eggs was ok and got us started on our day. Staff was helpful and kind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Illinois

Nothing like the pictures online

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: It was only 2 blocks from Beale street.
Cons: Just about everything I saw. They were under new management or so we were told and there was construction going on
Location: It was within walking distance of everything Beale St had to offer.
This was my first vacation in 3 years. We weren't looking for something fabulous in a hotel because we hadn't planned on spending much time there. What we were expecting is a clean room and bathroom. The soaps and shampoos had already been used. The seals were broken and half out of the bottles. It took us visiting 5 rooms before one didn't have something broken in it like the bathroom door, outside doors, curtains hanging in the floor or the air conditioner not working. Didn't feel safe there at all. The Razor wire around the fencing was a bit of an eye opener. We will definitely go back to Memphis but will never stay at this hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016
Complete nightmare. Our bill was $6.00 more than our friends for the same accomodations. The shower, phone, electrical sockets did not work. We were told that we would have certain amenities and they did not. Rooms were dirty and had to change rooms. The front desk clerk tried to charge us $1.00 for a bottled water that was supposed to be INCLUDED in the continetal breakfast. WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Location only good thing

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Too much to bother writing
The hotel is close to Beale street which was a bonus, however the hotel was a let down. Upon arrival, no car parks (note that not only did I request at time of booking, also reconfirmed this 2 days prior to arrival). Turns out they also let people wanting to park their cars to attend the baseball game use their parking space so myself and 2 other guests also arriving had no where to park out cars until the evening. Then 3 different groups waiting to check in were standing in reception for about 15 mins until someone came, tried calling, no bell/buzzer etc. When I pay for a cheaper hotel (even though this wasn't that cheap in retrospect) I should at least be able to expect basic amenities such as a rubbish bin in the room (nothing, not even in bathroom) or a couple of hooks to hang wet towels. Also wasn't very secure as we were at the rear section of the hotel and the fence around the perimeter had a gate that weirdly was locked during the day but was open and unlocked to the general public at night which considering that the side street isn't safe to walk down at night, makes me think that for our parked car security that at least that side gate should be locked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hot Springs National Park

For when location and budget top the priority list

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: staff were great. location was great.
Cons: NOT selling spaces for event parking so hotel guests can leave and return to a parking space at the end of a sight-seeing excursion, dinner, etc.
PROS: attentive, friendly staff - free breakfast (hot items individually made to order) - great location to downtown/riverside attractions, Mud Island, Beale street. . . parked the car and walked everywhere - reasonable price. CONS: Run-down facility (drawers of dresser off track and skewed so they wouldn't open/close and hung lopsided, water faucet handle came off, shower wouldn't stay on unless it was held) - loud and rowdy guests at 1:30 a.m. on a Wed. night - may have witnessed a prostitution transaction in the parking lot when a woman in silver stilettos and a dress shorter than my shirt told a staggering drunk man she accepts debit or credit cards -- heavy smell of marijuana whenever I opened the door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Close to down town
Cons: The room was very old and out dated.
Stayed one night because it was in a great location. The room was very old and out dated. Staff was very nice!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Turned around and left immediately

Posted May 5, 2016
I don't know where Expedia got the photos of this place, but this dump looked completely different in person. Our room was not ready when we arrived, and the sidewalks where we waited were infested with smokers and people, let's just say, I wouldn't feel safe running into at night. It was not clean, it was not in a safe neighborhood, and we left as soon as we saw it for a Sleep Inn on Front Street, which was beautiful, closer to attractions, and the staff was welcoming and professional. When we cancelled this reservation, the staff only allowed a refund for one of two nights (I assume this isn't the first time they've had this issue), but being out $95 was worth a cleaner and safer stay in Memphis. I believe the Expedia rating I saw was about 3/5 stars, and I'm shocked anyone would rate it that high. I'd share photos, but we took off too quickly.