Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Teresa

Nightmare on East Shelby Drive

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
The night clerk was dressed in an oversized tshirt and grey sweat pants that dragged the floor and he was barefooted. He was unshavened and looked pitiful for the business! My first impulse was to run but it was late night and I am not that familiar with Memphis to run around searching fot a room. The room was huge but it needed to be vacuumed. The bathtub was clean! There was no remote for the TV and they only had one channel. Right person at the desk said that they had to send all the remotes back because they did not work. I believe the problem was they did not pay the cable bill so they only had one station! The king sized bed was clean but the mattress was lumpy. Oh my God! I would turn over into a gully and had to wriggle like a fat baby to get out! Never again at this location. Never.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean it up

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Try getting nice pillows and fix the hot tub make Thomas nicer for the price .. And the smell is bad
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable room, close to the airport.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Staff, room, close to airport, gas and food
Cons: The hotel needs to be diligent of the noise in the parking lot, and not allow radios blasting at all hours of the night.
Location: A couple of gas stations, pizza, Subway, also a small shopping plaza.
The hotel staff was very accommodating. I needed to print my boarding passes for our trip the following day, and the manager said she would do it. However, the hotel lobby was in total disarray from remodeling and closed most of the time. When I called her at the appointed time, she had already gone. The desk clerk had never printed a boarding pass before, but was willing to figure it out, and in less than 5 minutes we had our passes. The room was very clean and comfortable with a very comfortable king size bed. However, there was a lot of activity in the parking lot, with cars stopping just outside our door with radios blasting loud enough to wake the dead. This continued on most of the night. Very late at night, we were awakened by the desk clerk calling to see if we were OK. It seems that someone had called the desk and said he was locked in his room and couldn't get out, and he gave our room number. The clerk said he knew it was a bogus call, but just wanted to be sure we were OK. A friend told us later that this is a very unsafe neighborhood, but we went to the gas station and Subway across the street, and had no issues. If you are a sound sleeper and don't mind a bit of noise outside, this is an OK hotel. Just be sure to always keep your door locked. If a bit of noise will keep you awake, go elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Truck stop hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
They charge my bank and wasn't supposed to. And wouldn't reverse and take the cash causing my account to go into overdraft. On the day of checking out we found a bedbug crawling on a towel. The ceiling was falling apart and the tub was stained.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria B.C

Ants in your bed

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: less ants in my bed
When I was in bed I thought I felt something on my back. It was late at night and I was super tired. When I awoke I pushed the bed spread open and looked down. Found about 15 ants visible on my bed. The first room he put me in I could barely breath because of the strong smell of smoke. When I went back to the front desk he said there should be no smell because it is a non smoking room. I could barely breath it was as if someone just smoked a cigar in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was Convenient

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Check in late, into a smoking room, it was horrible, the room wasn't cleaned, old food sitting out , no clean towls, and stuff left everywhere, went back to office, then they apologize and gave me a different room, it was cleaned and better, no microwave. And the fridge didnt work, tv sucked, no channel list so didn't know what channels there was, other then walking into the first mess, it was a typical hotel, and I wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

WELL WORTH YOUR TIME AND MONEY

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: My room if a suite and it's a Jacuzzi room. Really nice.
Cons: Those issues were resolved.
Here at Colonial Inn everything has changed very fast. New ownership is making upgrades and better conditions on a daily basis. You should like the new staff, they are helpful polite and friendly. Yes, I admit it was rough when I arrived. This is not the best part of Memphis but it's convenient and centrally located. I came here on day one of the new management. Unpleasant issues were wiped out almost immediately. Even the cleaning crews were changed. I'm a business traveler and have been treated like royalty on my one month stay. I'll gladly return here when traveling through the area again.