Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Tom from Germany

Como lake

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
Part of our Italian tour with 3 nights on Como. Hotel was brilliant for location and pool. Easy access into lake when it got hot. Service was haphazard with some being brilliant whilst others have much training to do. Breakfast ran until 10 but often by 9 they had run out of certain food and did not replace which I found to be poor. Reception staff were good in many ways and helped us throughout. This was our most expensive hotel which I understand giveN location but they could do much better. Good hotel that with some tweaking could be brilliant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trip to lake como

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
This was our first trip to lake como. Hotel is in a great location right next to main square and ferry terminal. We upgrade to a lake view room which I recommend as room had a balcony street view rooms have no balconies. Room was clean & modern & towels were changed everyday. We only booked bed & breakfast, breakfast was as expected continental however it gets a bit tedious the same food choices everyday for a week. It seems your only allowed to sit to the front off the outdoor breakfast area. The back area under cover appeared to be for guests buying their breakfast. However this was the only criticism that I found with the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth staying there....

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful setting on Lake Como. I would stay there again. room a little small but perfectly fine.
1 out of 5
by John from Portland

“BUYER BEWARE!!!!

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Rude staff. Poor water pressure, wifi that feels like dial up and beds that will remind you of the first bed you bought in college...... A hotel can have the best views in the world and the most convenient location, however if it doesn't have the staff to make you feel welcome it will leave you wanting to be back at home.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

Amazing view, very professional staff

Posted Apr 27, 2015
A bit far from the train station in Como, but definitely worth it. Amazing view from the panoramic balcony. The room is spacious and clean. the staff are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxation spot beside Como lake.
2 out of 5
by Iain from GB

The bar of appaling guest service set at a new low

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
Our first overnight on Lake Como was at the Bellavista, Menaggio, after spending four wonderful days based in Stresa on Lake Maggiori. What a difference!! The Bellavista was far beyond disappointing – here, they have actually managed to re-define the concept of appalling service. Except for the porter, who was friendly and helpful and clearly enjoys his job, every other member of staff we were unfortunate enough to come into contact with gave the impression that they would have preferred to be somewhere else, or that we were. To a person, they were either sullen, disinterested or abrupt: at reception, behind the bar, in the breakfast room and, especially, at check-out where we were ignored until the two behind the desk eventually finished a conversation that was obviously much more important than we mere customers. I would suggest that rather than inflicting their pain on others that they either change their attitude or their job, preferably to one not involving interaction with the paying public. Do these people not realise that in this age of social media and travel sites such as Hotels.com and TripAdvisor bad news probably travels faster, further and sticks longer than good news? Maybe they do but, obviously, they just don’t care. Tip: don’t take Room 201 – we stayed in 301 where every single floor board squeaked: it must have been dreadful for anyone beneath in 201. Another tip: check your bill carefully, very carefully.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by eva from bedfordshire

Lovely stay

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed for 1 night recently before travelling further south. Really enjoyed the stay. Lovely room overlooking Lake Como. Friendly staff. Had an evening meal on the terrace overlooking the lake which was really enjoyable and relaxing after a long drive! The only thing that wasn't perfect was there were only very few parking spaces next to the hotel and we had to park in an underground car park which occurred an additional charge; but more importantly didn't have a lift which meant that we had to carry our luggage up several floors. But overall that was only a minor detail!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels
Overall this is a great hotel in the centre on Menaggio. It's clean, has great views as it is right on the lake and a good pool. Breakfast was continental and ample and service was fine. Rooms are basic but retain their Italian charm. Would recommend.