Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beaut hotel in town beside lake

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Quiet and roomy, very comfortable climate control, breakfast from 7a and food all day to 7pm in the delightful lounge/bar with the spectacular views
Cons: a facility for dinner to rooms - even if it means home delivery from local
Location: ferry and buses nearby to travel to other lake villages - can walk to several. Historic homes, great dining in various villages. Peaceful.
Really loved the time spent in quiet tranquillity of friendly hotel right beside lake Como. Wonderful views of lake, background mountains and snow capped further mountains. Could see Bellagio and other towns on far side of lake. Right in town centre with easy walk to ferry. Plenty of buses for alternative transport to other lakeside villages and great walks to some of these.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Great location

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The location was great and I had a nice view of the mountains and lake from my small balcony. The room was spacious.
Cons: It would have been nice to have access to an extra blanket and pillow. Furnishings are a bit spartan but perfectly comfortable.
Location: Hotel is not far from the water taxi station so you can easily visit the other cities around Lake Como. Restaurants and gelato places near by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Cons: We should have been advised of the construction that would close the room and make it a hot box!
The hotel was under construction and was a mess. Not a real problem until getting into the room and there was no air or windows and the room was very hot. The windows were covered in plastic and the front desk would not move us to a different room. He made the comment that it was not his problem that I made reservations with Expedia. He was not happy with the Expedia reservation and was very rude! Not so great after a long travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south africa

Lovely hotel overlooking lake and piazza

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Unexpectedly the perfect spot in Menaggio on lake Como. Overlooking a quiet, but vibrant piazza and the lake with Bellagio in the distance. Close to loads of restaurants and quaint shops and on the bus and ferry route to other lake villages. Loved our stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good view of the lake and a decent 3* hotel.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Lovely few days in Menaggio and weather was great early September.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

clean , conveniently located

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Conveniently located , decent size room , charming manager and staff . parking charge reasonable . highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Great waterside location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The hotel has a perfect central location. The parking was useful but be warned it's 50m away and you will have to carry your bags through the town centre back to the hotel after checking in. The noise on the square is present even with the windows closed until about 11.30p.m. The room was comfortable however.
5 out of 5
by Melanie from California

Right on the piazza and lake

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great location right on the piazza and the water. Good service and view of the water from our room. Near the information center,ferry,bus, grocery store,and a few different restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar Grove, NJ

I was skeptical, but loved it!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Location, views, rooms, décor
Cons: The safe in one of our 3 rooms didn't work but we didn't use it anyway
Location: The location is great! it's a 5 minute walk to the ferry and everything you need is right outside your door (shopping, restaurants, etc.).
I typically stay nearby at Hotel Garni Corona, but it's having renovations done so I chose Hotel Du Lac for my 5 friends and I instead. I'd always seen it but was skeptical because Garni is my absolute favorite and reviews have been so-so for Du Lac. Honestly, we all loved it! We stayed in the annex building (Dependance) on purpose because I like the views better from there, and it was amazing. Breakfast wasn't included but there are tons of cafes right outside the door anyway. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend it and was pleasantly surprised!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Lake view charm!

Posted Oct 22, 2015
We were lucky to get a room with a balcony and lake view... which were the biggest reasons for choosing this hotel! We expected the rm to be small (as are many European hotel rms) and this was no exception, but sweetly decorated with floral patterns.... Bathroom had been upgraded with lg. shower & plenty of hot water! Could've used more bathroom space for toiletries - and there was no hand/body lotion!! All in all, we wanted lake view and that was the best part.