Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place and very friendly staff

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel staff are very friendly. We had to depart at 6ish for our flight and the staff packed some sandwiches, water and fruits for us the night before! The lake view is stunning and the walk up and down to town centre is chill and nice as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon

Very pleasent

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Owner of hotel very attentive. Looks after you very well. Standards are very high. Good food, lovely suroundings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Elisabetta, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review on Expedia. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo
5 out of 5
by Håvard

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review on Expedia. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Como Getaway

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
In the States it would called a boutique hotel. Beautiful grounds, away from the crowds in town this gem of a place has a resort feel. Warm and friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights here. A steep walk down to the lake, maybe 10-15 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo
5 out of 5
by Gottfried

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Lovely hotel in a quite location.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Family run, you are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive until its time to depart. Nothing was too much trouble.
Location: Its situated a little way from Menaggio up a hill the ideal location for a chill out holiday.
Our initial view when arriving at the hotel was a very friendly and efficient welcome and the food was superb. At the end of the holiday this was still our view. my only reservation would be if guests have a small appetite, the food is great and portions are substantial. A great example of a well run family hotel and restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Family Colombo, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review on booking.com. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great family run hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Sound proofing between rooms
We stayed for four nights, our first visit to Como, and overal it was a fantastic time, my ratings of the hotel are Excellent: staff at all times; car parking; views; cleanliness Very good: breakfast ( have to pay extra for eggs); pool ( not heated); grounds Good: room (walls in the separate block are thin so sound from next door annoying); Lastly 'location' is both excellent and poor! There are beautiful views everywhere, however, it is quite a walk down to the lakefront and harder on the way up, about 20-25mins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Family Colombo, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review . We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, wonderful stay!

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
A great experience, probably our best stay in Europe thanks to our great host (am ashamed I don't remember his name). The hotel is set upon a hill with great views overlooking the town and lake. Nice salt water pool was a real treat as was pool-side bar service. We were treated to a special evening meal (delicious) with entertainment one night and the host and his wife went out of their way to make sure everyone was contented. Superb. Perhaps the rooms are a bit dated, however super clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The friendly family who did all they could to make their guests welcome and to enjoy their stay. Very relaxing hotel.
Cons: If possible some light laundry done for guests, i.e. underwear, as the hotel website said it had a laundry service but obviously no more.
Location: Menaggio town is 25 minutes walk away, with ferries crossing the lake to places of interest i.e. villas and gardens.
A really lovely relaxing stay at Hotel Royal, which has a great feel to it created with loving care by the Columbo family and their super staff. Nothing was too much trouble and Mario the owner even drove us to the ferry two days during our stay as we did not have transport to get around. The highlight of our stay were the wonderful evening meals created by Emilio, Mario's son, who is a marvellous chef producing delicious home made pasta dishes with delicious sauces. Staff were first rate in serving us at dinner.