Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lydia from Tampa

Great family hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was warm and welcoming. The hotel itself had lots of character and was in a great location - easy walking distance to the main piazza. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very accommodating. My kids loved the pool as well. Its also just a short drive to the Lugano hiking trails.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great owner

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice owner and friendly staff
4 out of 5
by Tim from Winchester

Above expectations in everything except the pool

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Good value Hotel, a 15 Minute walk form the town. The views over the lake were spectacular and the breaksfast was great. It's a shame the pool was not available in May, as advertised (this was the main reason I booked here), but everything else was above expectation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Aletta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jack from Derby ct

Mennagio

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
Nice find. A little out of town staff very pleasant restaurant a little pricey Pool was a surprise and very clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Hotel in Menaggio, lake Como

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The multi lingual owner Roger!
Cons: The state of the rooms!
Location: Good location in Menaggio but a steep walk back up the steps to the hotel
We paid quite a lot of money (just over £200 for 2 nights) for what we thought was a junior 'suite in hotel Sonenga. The photos make the hotel appear a lot plusher than it is. In fact it is very old fashioned and in need of a facelift. Our room didn't feel like a suite, it was just a large room with an extra single bed. Very bare tiled floors with horrid old pine furniture. There was a 1970s radiator on the wall with burn marks and a big unsightly water tank in the bathroom. The owner Roger was very sweet and helpful but he was probably the only good thing. With a baby and buggy it would have been good to know in advance that the walk down to the lake was all steps. Quite a challenge coming back up to the hotel with a baby and buggy. One last point, the swimming pool is across a road in a separate site to the hotel. Not far but worth mentioning. The location in Menaggio was good however but I was very disappointed with this hotel and would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
by New Yorker from NY USA

Warm reception

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
The staff is so polite and kind. The room met the needs of our 5 family members. We were happy to find a place where we did not have to rent two rooms. The roads getting to this location are not easy with a large vehicle. The walk to the water front is about a kilometer and a half. Great pool and breakfast! Great place for the price.
4 out of 5
by Dinkybubtush from London

Good location. Clean rooms. Great local restaurant

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
Good location if you have a car. Reasonably priced for region. Pool situated in nearby restaurant, but this serves excellent food at average prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great spot

Posted Aug 13, 2013
great hotel and pool etc - good value - definitely a good base to explore - bit of a pull up the hill from town though