Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Depends on what is important to guest

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The staff were delightful and a excellent fully cooked breakfast was served to all guests at 9 AM that was prepared by one of the managers. The facility is dated and in need of much upkeep .We had the smallest room up a long stairway and did not see the more elaborate rooms. The location is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vallejo, CA

The hotel is old, but quaint.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Mendocino is a very small town, and the hotel was just two blocks from the central area, so it was very easy to walk everywhere.
Cons: Everything negative I mentioned above.
Location: Not much to do, except look in the shops, walk out to the viewpoint overlooking the ocean, eat, and drink!
The room had a good queen bed, but a sink with no counter space and separate hot and cold faucets with no plug. The toilet was crammed into a corner, so we had to almost sit sideways to use it--a "large" person would have great difficulty using it. It took forever to get the hot water in the shower to come Sunday morning, and when it did come it was very difficult to regulate--it kept fading from very cold to very hot. The Sunday morning breakfast was excellent, and Holly provided music and songs before and during breakfast. The hotel was usually cold, but the small electric heater in the room was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Lovely Live Folk Music During Sunday Breakfast!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The folks music!
Cons: Spend some time cleaning up the grounds. Get unnecessary appliances tossed (bathtub? bikes?) and get those christmas lights working again.
Location: Great location, we could walk to the wedding and other festivities during the weekend.
By far the highlight of this experience was the lovely folk music surprise on Sunday morning. Holly was SO sweet! She had some really interesting stories behind her songs and it was just a lovely way to wake up in the morning. She is the real deal, having spent the 70's in Haight Ashbury and Berkeley and tons of great tunes inspired by these times and nowadays. We were here for a wedding, so the price was just right. Our bed was super comfy. I just wish the grounds had been a bitter better kept up, maybe the rusty bicycles tossed and the lights working. Other than that, I LOVE this place!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An interesting place to stay for the laid back.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
A very warm welcome and a nice room with a wood stove which was easy to light and feed. Very easy walk to the town and attractions and plenty of on-street parking. Breakfast was a major problem. It is at 9 a.m. Not FROM 9 a.m. Arrived at 9 with all the other guests and waited. 9.20 the 'chef' says 'Be with you soon folks'. We left at 9.20 without breakfast. Why not have 2 sittings, one at 8.30 and another at 9 and keep to the times?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Close to shops where you'll want to spend time

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
It's an old Victorian so lots of stuff is old. It does need to be freshened up, but it's still a decent place to stay. The staff is nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
This B&B is well placed for seeing Mendocino town. Beautiful old building. The outdoor lights along the side of the property were out, so very dark coming back to the room in the dark. The breakfast was cold, no keeping the food warm for guests, and no dining room to eat in, just a couch and a few chairs, in what seems like a foyer, and people eating also off TV trays there. And the bedding was rather threadbare. But it's in a great location though, it would be wonderful if the breakfast was hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Bohemian hippy attraction

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: quiet room large
Cons: food, grounds, parking, height of bed, access to shower, romoval of hazards...creaky steps, uneven walks Website does not match photos
Location: shop eat hiking
Room large but in need of help. Climinbing in jacuzzi tub for athrletes. Broken mirror. Burned out lightbulbs. Bed very VERY high. wife needed steps to get in. Maintenance of hotel, grounds very lacking to point of dangerous. Breakfasts repetitive, no meat. Coffee only available at 8am. Have to ask ot get room cleaned. Stay elsewhere! Parking on street often challenging. Need off street parking lot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel if there are no places left at the Miss

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. We understand it's old. But it should at least be maintained.
Exterior was filthy. Room had no glasses, no coffee. Shower is was extremely small. Window shads were ripped. Baseboard paint was chipped. The entire place needs some serious maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Nice hotel close the beach

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Victorian style hotel & hot breakfast, room have a fire place.
Cons: Needs to wash bedding cover & sheets (some smell when cover).
Location: Can walk to the beach, Nice restaurants ocean views, Cafe & Shops on Main Street. Can do bonfire @ night on the River.
1st time in Mendocino, we love to see the Ocean especially my other half, love the beach, fresh air & nature. the first day was cloudy & cold, 2nd day was very nice, we spent all day @ the Sea Glass Beach (15 minutes away from Mendocino) we picnic lunch @ the beach & we hiked on the trial along the beach, 3rd day it's cloudy again.
4 out of 5
by Heather

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room was great-nice and clean but if you like your coffee bright and early in the am this is not the place for you. No coffee til after 8. No food til after 9 but you have local coffee shops you can walk to