Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Bohemian hippy attraction

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: quiet room large
Cons: food, grounds, parking, height of bed, access to shower, romoval of hazards...creaky steps, uneven walks Website does not match photos
Location: shop eat hiking
Room large but in need of help. Climinbing in jacuzzi tub for athrletes. Broken mirror. Burned out lightbulbs. Bed very VERY high. wife needed steps to get in. Maintenance of hotel, grounds very lacking to point of dangerous. Breakfasts repetitive, no meat. Coffee only available at 8am. Have to ask ot get room cleaned. Stay elsewhere! Parking on street often challenging. Need off street parking lot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel if there are no places left at the Miss

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. We understand it's old. But it should at least be maintained.
Exterior was filthy. Room had no glasses, no coffee. Shower is was extremely small. Window shads were ripped. Baseboard paint was chipped. The entire place needs some serious maintenance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Nice hotel close the beach

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Victorian style hotel & hot breakfast, room have a fire place.
Cons: Needs to wash bedding cover & sheets (some smell when cover).
Location: Can walk to the beach, Nice restaurants ocean views, Cafe & Shops on Main Street. Can do bonfire @ night on the River.
1st time in Mendocino, we love to see the Ocean especially my other half, love the beach, fresh air & nature. the first day was cloudy & cold, 2nd day was very nice, we spent all day @ the Sea Glass Beach (15 minutes away from Mendocino) we picnic lunch @ the beach & we hiked on the trial along the beach, 3rd day it's cloudy again.
4 out of 5
by Heather

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room was great-nice and clean but if you like your coffee bright and early in the am this is not the place for you. No coffee til after 8. No food til after 9 but you have local coffee shops you can walk to
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pass On This One

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Would love to know the story with this place---old Victorian, never updated. The room, which was large with high ceilings, was heated by baseboard heaters---a chore they were not equal to, and we were there on some chilly nights. Lighting was "interesting" (as in probably original), and either inadequate (bedside for reading)or strangely located, or both. There was a fireplace set up, but it looked a little dicey (and a lot of trouble) so we passed. However, we were treated to the smoke and aroma of someone else's fire as it drifted through the vent. The bathroom had an old Victorian (?) tub, fairly deep, on a tile floor. With nothing to hold on to when getting in or out, it struck us as very hazardous. The small, and only shelf, in the bathroom on which to place toiletries being used consisted of three strips of wood held together side by side with strips of masking tape. The only electrical outlet in the bathroom was located above the sink in the single fluorescent lightbulb fixture---didn't see it until day 2. There is no maid service, although you could request it. Breakfast was served each morning and it was adequate. They solicited a tip, but we declined. They do accept dogs and their location is very good, but will definitely not recommend it or stay again until there are some improvements by the owners.
5 out of 5
by Timothy from Reno

Excellent Historical B&B in Mendocino

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely excellent stay at a turn-of-the-century home with (mostly) modern comforts. Loved having a fireplace in the room, and breakfast every morning was outstanding, especially on Sunday with a woman playing the dulcimer and telling us about the history of the house. The staff made us feel like it was our home.
4 out of 5
by michael from Erie, Co.

Charming B & B in Mendocino.

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful area to visit. Very comfortable room. Excellent breakfast...gluten free blueberry pancakes. Christine is a knowledgeable & charming hostess. We would stay here again. Had a wonderful time chatting with other guests during breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Sandra B. from Bodega Bay

An interesting treasure

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the people and our room. The breakfast was delicious. Warning, it is a little noisy. The walls were not insulated in the 1800's and voices travel and everyone doesn't go to bed at the same time. It was an adventure.
4 out of 5
by Eddie from Houston

Good place

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect birthday getaway

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
We came to celebrate my husbands birthday and were very happy with this B&B. The breakfasts were really delicious and plentiful - Yum! The woman who served breakfast one morning told us some interesting history about the hotel and the area. We will be back!