Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Depends on what is important to guest

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The staff were delightful and a excellent fully cooked breakfast was served to all guests at 9 AM that was prepared by one of the managers. The facility is dated and in need of much upkeep .We had the smallest room up a long stairway and did not see the more elaborate rooms. The location is good.
4 out of 5
by Teresa

Comfortable stay in Mendocino

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
The inn was comfortable and had just what we needed to make our stay comfortable for a 2 day stopover on our way to So Cal and AZ. The amenities of the city were within a few blocks of where we were staying and had cute stores and restaurants, as well as basic groceries and gas. The breakfast was basic but well made both mornings. All in all, a good stay.
4 out of 5
by Christine

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
We'd totally stay there again. The price is right and people were really friendly and it was right in town. A tad bit run down, but the bed was super comfy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only bad

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
only bad
5 out of 5
by Atessa

True Victorian experience!

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful old Victorian with a deep front lawn set back from the street, more homey relaxed and comfortable than lace doilies and perfect varnish (if you want that kind of Victorian, there are a couple others in town). We had a lovely big room with a sitting area and large BA with a claw foot tub. It had a fireplace, with kindling and logs perfectly set up by boy or Girl Scout elves, so all we had to do for a 2 hour fire was light a match! Wonderful dulcimer and singing before breakfast, which was a yummy selection of sweet & savory (French toast, potatoes, eggs yogurt and berries, tho I think it changes). Truly dog friendly. The innkeepers gifted us many small kindnesses. This will be our go to home away whenever we head to Mendo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Questionable place to stay.

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Nice Innkeepers and good homemade breakfast. Rooms small and quaint. Inn's interior and exterior needs major repairs and painting. Very dirty rugs ,no heat in the common areas. The rooms were at least clean and the beds comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love Didjeridoo, Needs Some Refreshing

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second time at Didjeridoo. It's a beautiful old house that needs some refreshing, though. Wallpaper is stained and peeling in the bathroom and when I had to move the nightstand to plug in my phone, I came away with a handful of cobwebs. While the visible areas of the room are clean, housekeeping needs to make sure they use a duster to get the nooks and crannies. The plasticized mattress pad, while I understand the reason for it, made me clammy all night. Breakfast is only at 9:00, which is pretty late for early risers. Maybe having two times available to choose from would work. I've stayed in B and Bs that do that - one at, for example, 7:30 and one at 8:30. My suggestions for improvement are given in hopes that the owners will look into making some positive changes. But this doesn't change the fact that I love old houses and the people at Didjeridoo are great! The location is fantastic and the place is just so Mendocino. I'll return again, regardless :).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vallejo, CA

The hotel is old, but quaint.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Mendocino is a very small town, and the hotel was just two blocks from the central area, so it was very easy to walk everywhere.
Cons: Everything negative I mentioned above.
Location: Not much to do, except look in the shops, walk out to the viewpoint overlooking the ocean, eat, and drink!
The room had a good queen bed, but a sink with no counter space and separate hot and cold faucets with no plug. The toilet was crammed into a corner, so we had to almost sit sideways to use it--a "large" person would have great difficulty using it. It took forever to get the hot water in the shower to come Sunday morning, and when it did come it was very difficult to regulate--it kept fading from very cold to very hot. The Sunday morning breakfast was excellent, and Holly provided music and songs before and during breakfast. The hotel was usually cold, but the small electric heater in the room was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Lovely Live Folk Music During Sunday Breakfast!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The folks music!
Cons: Spend some time cleaning up the grounds. Get unnecessary appliances tossed (bathtub? bikes?) and get those christmas lights working again.
Location: Great location, we could walk to the wedding and other festivities during the weekend.
By far the highlight of this experience was the lovely folk music surprise on Sunday morning. Holly was SO sweet! She had some really interesting stories behind her songs and it was just a lovely way to wake up in the morning. She is the real deal, having spent the 70's in Haight Ashbury and Berkeley and tons of great tunes inspired by these times and nowadays. We were here for a wedding, so the price was just right. Our bed was super comfy. I just wish the grounds had been a bitter better kept up, maybe the rusty bicycles tossed and the lights working. Other than that, I LOVE this place!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An interesting place to stay for the laid back.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
A very warm welcome and a nice room with a wood stove which was easy to light and feed. Very easy walk to the town and attractions and plenty of on-street parking. Breakfast was a major problem. It is at 9 a.m. Not FROM 9 a.m. Arrived at 9 with all the other guests and waited. 9.20 the 'chef' says 'Be with you soon folks'. We left at 9.20 without breakfast. Why not have 2 sittings, one at 8.30 and another at 9 and keep to the times?