Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Wonderful bed and breakfast in Mendocino

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Great staff, wonderful breakfast, good location
Great bed and breakfast in the heart of Mendocino. The Inn is cute, clean and in a great location with friendly staff ... the highlight, however, is definitely the elaborate and delicious breakfasts!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very comfortable and quiet room

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Lovely decor, comfortable and clean. Delicious breakfast.Friendly staff.
Location: Central location to explore the town. Shops, restaurants, museums and walking trail nearby.
Loved this B&B in a very charming town. Very friendly staff made us welcome. A very comfortable, clean and quiet room. Delicious breakfast served in your room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Co. CA

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Everything tip top!
Location: Mendocino has great shops, food, music.
Excellent!! This is our third time staying here. We like it very much! Breakfast is wonderful!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint inn, in sleepy town.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Everything -location, ambience, staff .
Cons: Not really, although we only had hanging space and a chest of drawers or shelves would have been nice, but probably no space in the room.
Location: Read the guide books. Too much to write here.
Enjoyed our time at Headlands. Breakfasts were delivered to your room, which were delicious and at times unusual. Afternoon tea and cookies and sherry are available from 4 - 7. Our room was small but perfectly adequate and the bed comfy. Staff is helpful and friendly. It was a joy to stay here and I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresnco, Ca.

A super nice bed and breakfast place.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing. Why change success.
Location: Trails, views, shops, restaurants.
I have stayed here twice and each time thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Great staff, food, amenities, room, location, comfort, quiet. Simply the best. Loved it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice BB. Quite. Staff very nice.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Had a great time. Place was nice and staff awesome. Breakfast was really good. Beach, Restuarant are close by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Beautiful and Charming B & B.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The best things about the hotel: The genuinely friendly nature of the owners and staff, the quality of the food and ambience, and stellar location.
Cons: Not much actually. There is a little ambient room noise because the building is very old and the insulation not up to todays standards. Minor issue.
Location: Mendocino proper just a block away, beautiful beach venues, including Van Damme park, Russian Gulch, Glass Beach and the pacific ocean.
The Headlands Inn is a clean, tidy, well coiffed bed and breakfast with lots of charm and a wonderful staff. The owners are engaging and friendly. The rooms are clean and well appointed. My room was a bit small and my only critique of the room was that considering how small it was I think that having six large overstuffed pillows on the bed created some space issues as there was no place to put them other than the two chairs and the floor. The breakfasts there were absolutely delicious. The meals are delivered each morning to your room complete with a morning paper and hot coffee, or beverages of your choice. My first morning there I was treated to a sumptuous and tasty spread of fresh fruit, sausages, a french toast and fruit and custard concoction that was delicious. The second mornings meal was just as good as the previous mornings meal, consisting of a large, fluffy, omelet, quiche like concoction, fresh fruit, coffee cake, and cranberry juice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from No. California

Centrally located, wonderful breakfast.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location, hot full breakfast delivered to the room.
Cons: Maintenance issues like an important missing knob on the bath faucet should be attended to immediately.
Location: Centrally located in the town of Mendocino, just a block or two from the main tourist area. Walking trails at the Headlands down the street.
We booked the Stofle Room on the main floor, front of the house. Because I have knee problems we loved having a main floor room. This room has 2 tall windows on the front side with a small view of the sea in the distance. Because of the room location right inside the front door we at times found other guests peering inside the windows at us as we wandered around our room or sat at the table eating our breakfast. There's another room over this one on the second level, and we could easily hear anything from footsteps to the very lively young couple overhead making love at various times of the day and night. Beds do squeak, and loud. Thank goodness they gave it a rest after 10:30pm. The bathroom could use some improvement. There were jars of cotton balls, packages of makeup remover, and having a push-button shampoo and conditioner in the shower was handy. The soap offered in the shower was a jug of shower/bath gel. I prefer bar soap and purchased one at a nearby grocer that I took home with me. The knob that turns on the water and regulates the hot and cold was totally broken off and missing, leaving a stub about the size of a large screw to turn the water and requiring a push back and forth to regulate the temperature. Having arthritic fingers was a huge challenge in trying to manipulate this knobless control. It needs to be fixed. The hot breakfast was wonderful, and everything reported to be. Location is close to restaurants and main tourist area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Best Inn Stop on our Trip

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Comfy room that was tastefully furnished complete with a fireplace. Delicious breakfast and afternoon tea served daily.
Cons: Had to hold down the toilet handle the entire time when flushing.
Location: Numerous shops and restaurants in Mendocino within easy walking distance.
We loved everything about the cozy Headlands Inn in Mendocino! The Barry Room we stayed in was on the top floor with beautiful ocean views, cool breezes, and a very comfy bed. The quaint shops, restaurants, and coastal walkway in Mendocino are located within steps of the Inn. Breakfast was served in our room and consisted of a delicious granola/fruit bake, southwest egg casserole, muffins, juice and coffee. The Inn owners were very friendly and made us feel completely comfortable. This was without a doubt the best Inn we stayed in on our California vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from az

Close to main street

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Clean, delicious breakfast.
Location: Big River trail and walk the headlands
Everything was within walking distance of the B&B which made it wonderful after traveling in the car. Hike on the headlands or along the Big River. Walk through town for snacks, gifts, ice cream, beer or a meal. Weather was great. Sunset okay! Lots of water towers to check out. Music and film festivals happen in this town. At the B&B we had the most delicious breakfasts! Satisfied our appetites for hours! Comfortable bed. Clean place. Time for tea. Hosts pleasant and informative so you knew how to navigate the area. Would visit and stay here again.