Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful, Cozy, and Pampering

Posted Nov 18, 2016
There is nothing that makes you feel more welcome than checking in while having a glass of sherry in the parlor. And that was just the start. The rooms were reminiscent of the Victorian era right down to cozy feather beds that snuggled you into sleep. Waking with an awesome breakfast brought to our room made me realize that I had booked too few days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kinglake, Victoria, Australia.

Fantastic B and B

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location on the coast, comfortable atmosphere, lovely hosts and great breakfasts.
We stayed three nights at the Headlands Inn and would thoroughly recommend it to others. Denise and Mitch were so welcoming and helpful. We had "Annie's Room" which was downstairs and very comfortable. There is access to an upstairs lounge, complete with nibbles and sherry, which was great for relaxing in, and meeting other guests, before heading out to dinner. And the homemade breakfasts are amazing!! Where to start - breakfast is beautifully presented on a tray to your room. Each morning was different but they were all delicious and there was plenty to eat. Thanks Denise and Mitch for your hospitality, it was a pleasure to stay at your B and B. And thanks Mitch for the "Southwestern Eggs" recipe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Wonderful B&B - lovely town!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Lovely choice of restaurants, beautiful coastline and the Giant Redwoods nearby.
Denise and staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing and we loved Mendocino! Would recommend this place to family & friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect getaway

Posted Oct 18, 2016
We had a wonderful time at the Inn! The innkeepers were very friendly and pay close attention to details - from making different breakfast for you each morning to giving us a warm welcome even though we had a late check in. We would love to go back anytime!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Charming and delightful

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: This is a wonderful place in a wonderful location. Excellent (and generous) breakfast, conscientious, gracious staff, walkable to everything.
Cons: No complaints! Everything was lovely. Comfortable bed, afternoon tea. Water bottles always available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dudley

Absolutely Fabulous!!!!!!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Personable, very good location, Beautiful gardens
Cons: Nothing to improve
Location: Mendocino is a small coastal town north of San Francisco which has a variety of shops and restaurants and quite a nice pub.
Having used corporate hotels for most of our road trips in the USA we decided to try bed and breakfasts/inns for a change, and we weren't disappointed. The convivial welcome of Denise and Mitch made us feel at home straight away. Our Room was on the ground floor and had a separate bathroom both behind a lockable outer door. We were asked about our preferences for breakfast the following day and promptly at 8:45 there was a knock on the outer door signifying that breakfast had been delivered. The tray was beautifully presented with fresh fruit, homemade muffins, cakes, fresh orange juice and tea. We only stayed one night so can't really comment on the housekeeping other than to say everything was fine when we arrived so have no reason to suspect anything different on other days.Would totally recommend staying at the Headlands.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san Jose

Lovely place to stay!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Nice B&B in town, wonderful breakfast, very well kept place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Gorgeous location (Mendocino), wonderful staff, delicious and beautifully served breakfasts in the room. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Warm Welcoming Hosts and a Very Comfortable Stay!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We were traveling up the coast from San Francisco to Portland and the Headlands Inn was our most favorite stop along the way. Denise and Mitch, right away, made us feel like we'd come home after our long travels. They paid such attention to detail, it was like our stay was tailored specifically to us, is the only way we can think to describe it. Denise gave us some great information for things to do in Mendocino, and then for our trip through the Redwoods the next day. Her suggestions for the Avenue of the Giants was exactly what we needed. We stayed in the Annie, and the room was so cozy and the bed incredibly comfortable, we had our best night's sleep there. We wished we had stayed another night. Breakfast was fantastic, beyond what we expected and it gave us the fuel we needed to attack the next leg of our trip. Mendocino itself was also a great place to stop. The headlands were exciting to explore, and gorgeous near sundown, there were cool little stores in town and dinner at the pub in town was not only delicious, but we felt like we were among the locals, and were welcome. The Headlands Inn is within walking distance of all of this, there is even a market right there where we were able to load up our cooler, with some delicious sandwiches, and other supplies. All in all, the Headland Inn, and Mendocino as well, are one of the highlights of our trip. We hope very much to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely accommodation in scenic Mendocino

Posted Aug 28, 2016
We had a very nice welcome from the staff who couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The house is very tastefully decorated and the breakfast is probably the best we have had anywhere. Highly recommended.