Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Elegant, comfortable, quiet B &B near the ocean

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Location: We liked Mendocino Cafe and McCallum house for dinner.
Kelly checked us in and we were immediately at ease, excited and ready for our Christmas holiday. The B & B has all kinds of info about the area like activities and restaurants. They have good connections with the restaurants, businesses, parks etc. She had great patience and enthusiasm. She asked us about our food preferences so we liked our breakfast and there wasn't a lot of waste. The food was delicious and creative.Beds comfortable. We stayed in the small room and it was quite big enough for us. The owners are involved in the day to day operations and it shows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach FL

Truly perfect B&B in the heart of Mendocino

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: The room and bed were super compfy and really cozy and romantic with the wood burning stove crackling away. The breakfasts were insanely great!
Cons: In this old building, the wall outlets in our room were worn out and loose, so we could not recharge our many Apple devices.
Location: Just stroll around. Visit the shops and galleries. Go check out the shoreline. Relax. Relax. Relax.
The other reviews on Expedia had it right. The Headlands Inn is a wonderful place to spend a couple of nights in Mendocino. We've been fortunate to travel worldwide and stay in all kinds of fabulous places. When it comes to an American Bed and Breakfast, you can't do better than this special spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australa

Charming

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: It's quite intimate in all aspects and is very relaxing. Great location handy to restaurants.
Cons: We found the wifi up in the attic a bit hit and miss
Location: Ocean views. Lovely walks.
This beautiful town is home to many B and Bs but the Headlands Inn is a standout. The rooms are beautifully styled. We stayed in the John Barry room which is on the top level, facing the ocean. Although it was rainy and foggy for our two night stay, we could still enjoy the view as the room had windows on three sides. Beautiful window seat to sit and relax. A fabulous fireplace with copper trim. Two arm chairs. Stunning carved bed head. This room is decorated in pale blue and was really relaxing. The breakfast trays were a work of art. No plain old bacon and eggs at the Headlands Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful, Cozy, and Pampering

Posted Nov 18, 2016
There is nothing that makes you feel more welcome than checking in while having a glass of sherry in the parlor. And that was just the start. The rooms were reminiscent of the Victorian era right down to cozy feather beds that snuggled you into sleep. Waking with an awesome breakfast brought to our room made me realize that I had booked too few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kinglake, Victoria, Australia.

Fantastic B and B

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location on the coast, comfortable atmosphere, lovely hosts and great breakfasts.
We stayed three nights at the Headlands Inn and would thoroughly recommend it to others. Denise and Mitch were so welcoming and helpful. We had "Annie's Room" which was downstairs and very comfortable. There is access to an upstairs lounge, complete with nibbles and sherry, which was great for relaxing in, and meeting other guests, before heading out to dinner. And the homemade breakfasts are amazing!! Where to start - breakfast is beautifully presented on a tray to your room. Each morning was different but they were all delicious and there was plenty to eat. Thanks Denise and Mitch for your hospitality, it was a pleasure to stay at your B and B. And thanks Mitch for the "Southwestern Eggs" recipe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Wonderful B&B - lovely town!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Lovely choice of restaurants, beautiful coastline and the Giant Redwoods nearby.
Denise and staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing and we loved Mendocino! Would recommend this place to family & friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect getaway

Posted Oct 18, 2016
We had a wonderful time at the Inn! The innkeepers were very friendly and pay close attention to details - from making different breakfast for you each morning to giving us a warm welcome even though we had a late check in. We would love to go back anytime!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Charming and delightful

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: This is a wonderful place in a wonderful location. Excellent (and generous) breakfast, conscientious, gracious staff, walkable to everything.
Cons: No complaints! Everything was lovely. Comfortable bed, afternoon tea. Water bottles always available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dudley

Absolutely Fabulous!!!!!!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Personable, very good location, Beautiful gardens
Cons: Nothing to improve
Location: Mendocino is a small coastal town north of San Francisco which has a variety of shops and restaurants and quite a nice pub.
Having used corporate hotels for most of our road trips in the USA we decided to try bed and breakfasts/inns for a change, and we weren't disappointed. The convivial welcome of Denise and Mitch made us feel at home straight away. Our Room was on the ground floor and had a separate bathroom both behind a lockable outer door. We were asked about our preferences for breakfast the following day and promptly at 8:45 there was a knock on the outer door signifying that breakfast had been delivered. The tray was beautifully presented with fresh fruit, homemade muffins, cakes, fresh orange juice and tea. We only stayed one night so can't really comment on the housekeeping other than to say everything was fine when we arrived so have no reason to suspect anything different on other days.Would totally recommend staying at the Headlands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san Jose

Lovely place to stay!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Nice B&B in town, wonderful breakfast, very well kept place.