Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Center of the little town, neat old building

Posted May 29, 2017
Nothing fancy, but a nice, clean, old building with comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, IL

Quaint and lovely, simple and quiet, very pleasant

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The setting itself is THE BEST!
Cons: A refrigerator and microwave would sure be nice. But not absolutely essential.
Location: The town and the landscape are world class - quaint town, quiet setting.
What a lovely quiet and beautiful place. The flower gardens are beautiful, and the building is memorable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

No restaurant on-site, partial ocean view

Posted May 9, 2017
No restaurant on site, which I knew in advance from some other review. Our ocean view room has partial view of the ocean, blocked by tall hedges. Rooms in the other building should have spectacular view since they appear unobstructed from walking around the hotel grounds. Garden is beautifully maintained. Plenty of parking and easy access. The road/driveway in passes by a cemetery. Room was basic but clean. Overall okay for the price ($125 +tax) for a Sunday night. Pros: garden, parking, clean Cons: no restaurant, cemetery nearby but not right next to
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Didn't meet advertisement and booking

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Ocean View- wasn't an ocean view Bar and restaurant- was shut down - no where to be informed prior to arrival Bathtub didn't work Things needed to be repaired and updated, like the bathroom door and the sliding glass door, but the decor was Victorian and had charm Room was clean Property was very close in walking distance to a store, dining, a museum and lovely breath taking ocean views/bluffs. Property was beautiful in the garden area on the front end Staff was accommodating with my concerns
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hill House Inn

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The beds were extremely uncomfortable, very hard and lumpy. The restaurant and the lounge were closed for repairs, which their website fails to mention.
4 out of 5
by Arnold

Great value; spacious rooms

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great prices; not crowded in the off-season; easy walking distance into Mendocino
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent inn, but one problem

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It has a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean, and a short walk to the center of the tiny village center of Mendocino.
Upon our arrival we were directed to a room that was not only unheated, but incapable of being heated. The staff responded promptly to that problem and provided us with a different room in which the heater was in working order, but I wonder what we'd have done if there had been no other available room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Very quite and staff friendly.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Mendocino village is a great place to visit and the hotel is walking distance to all attractions. Stayed in February and almost had the place to myself. Preacful and quite with great views. The staff was friendly. Enjoyed engaging in conversation and didn't mind taking pictures of my wife and I on their upstairs sceanic balcony.
4 out of 5
by Victoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Good hotel for a short getaway

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hill house inn was a nice hotel for a weekend getaway. It wasn't very fancy, but it was good and Mendocino is a nice town. The decor was outdated but not a huge concern for us.