Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to village.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Passing through looking for a comfortable place to stay. Room was large. Could open windows to get fresh air. Easy walk to village.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location, decent charm, dirty rooms

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Location: Easy walk into town!
The hotel is in a great location and has some Mendocino charm but the rooms are definitely in need of upgrades and more thorough cleaning. We found someone else's nail (YES, and entire fingernail) in our bed. Towels are old and rough and clearly haven't been replaced in years. The hotel itself would be a decent choice should they upgrade the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ukiah

Not a pleasant place

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Total availability. Gift certificate for reduced cost of breakfast in town.
Cons: Where do I start?
Location: City of Mendocino is slipping into disrepair. High turnover. Nature at seaside showing signs of rebound. Money needs to be invested. Seek engineering
Couldn't reach staff about late arrival. 5 rings instant hang up -several attempts. Not good policy for reservations. Building very old. Bed older and smelly. Area around building is trashy. Mold and signs of building deterioration. Floors creak. Can hear neighbors whisper. Toilet really smells.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Very nice

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very nice hotel with above average breakfast. Nice gardens.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

No one mentioned they'd be doing construction

Posted Jul 31, 2016
After booking a ocean view room with patio, I woke up to the sound of a dentist drill x10, as they were literally taking off the surface of the exterior wall of my room. Also loud bangs of the hammers. I looked out my door and saw the entire patio covered with construction equipment. What really gets me is that the staff 1-didn't tell me at check-in 2-sounded surprised when I mentioned it on the phone 3-couldn't move or stop them. They did have them stop for an hour while I was having an in-room massage. They did take off 40% of the bill, but my stay was 100% ruined.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice location close to town.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Provide wifi in the rooms, as promised.
Location: Cute tourist town of Mendocino. Nice botanical garden 7 miles north.
This hotel seems past its prime. The room was big but smelled bad and the carpet was threadbare. The wifi didn't work in the room and when I asked about it at the desk they just said that it was probably too far from the main building. Breakfast was included but there wasn't much of a selection.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Quiet spot in a unique town

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I was thrilled to stay at the Hill House because I am a Murder, She Wrote fan. I was disappointed to find out that the Hill House Inn Cabot Cove sign does not exist any longer. However, I did find Jessica Fletcher's house - the Blair House - in town & took a picture of it. Mendocino is a really special, artsy, unique town on a beautiful stretch of the Northern California coastline. It is truly breathtaking. The Hill House is (just as other reviewers have mentioned) an older establishment with a few "aches and pains". However, I think it's absolutely charming. Our room was extremely spacious and had a wonderful little patio with Adirondack chairs for enjoying the cool ocean breezes (we're from Texas, so we enjoyed that thoroughly!). The grounds around the hotel are beautiful with such a wide variety of flowering plants. I absolutely loved taking it all in. The front desk was very helpful, and the breakfast .... well, it wasn't much in terms of variety, but it was free and filled us up well enough. The inn is walking distance into town, which is loaded with all types of charming shops and restaurants. I would love to visit again, and I would certainly consider staying at the Hill House when I do.
4 out of 5
by Kristine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Susan from MA

Hill House Stay Comfortable and Convenient

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Because I had requested a room with 2 separate beds and the hotel was undergoing renovations, we got upgraded to a suite, which was spacious. The couch bed was uncomfortable but the pull-out cot was OK. We also had a nice deck out back that had afternoon sun. The hotel definitely needs updating, but it was fine for our needs.