Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel. Beautiful gardens.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The gardens are beautiful. The lobby was something in it's day.
Cons: Staff at the reception desk was unhelpful. The bathroom had no cups or shampoo amenities.
Location: Location is great. Can walk to the town of Mendocino. Plenty of parking at the hotel.
Great location within walking distance of the town. Facilities are old but clean. TV worked fine, wi-if not so much. No real ocean views from the rooms. Lots of parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, MA

Faded glory

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The gardens are very nice.
Cons: The porch, the view, the furnishings. The first floor should not be ocean-view. The second floor is probably OK for that.
Location: It's a 5-minute walk into the cute town of Mendocino.
Our oceanview room looked across a lawn and trees. The furniture was old, and the Adirondack chair came apart when I sat in it. The porch was creaky and in need of repair. The prints on the walls were faded. The bathroom had a bizarre pocket-door that was too heavy for my wife to move easily. There's no restaurant or breakfast, but you get a 15% coupon to an awesomely expensive restaurant in a hotel on the waterfront.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Location not ideal

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Receptionist on arrival rude , discourteous, and unhelpful. Hotel was in general ok but lacking in facilities. Could not recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco California

Smelly room, I'm comfortable mattress, toilet brok

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Smelly room, Uncomfortable mattress, toilet broke, the whole place looks like someone's yard sale. The breakfast we were promised didn't materialize. We were given a discount code for someplace nearby. I would never stay here again. For $240 a night we were ripped off.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Deceiving advertising. No restaurants. Smelly rooms. NO hot water. NEVER come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel on bluff above town.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The flowers and the quaintness of it. The staff was nice.
Cons: The pillows need to be up graded. They have a nice dining area (not being used at the moment) and a continental breakfast would have been nice.
Location: The town of Mendocino was fun to walk through and the beach area was beautiful. There was a wonderful cafe in town for coffee and breakfast.
This was a nice quiet hotel. The gardens were beautiful and the staff was great. The room was quaint and clean. The amenities were minimal. The office is closed in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by ruthann, Hotel Management
Thank you for the compliments on our staff along with the compliments on the quaintness of our hotel and appearance along with the compliments on your room. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us Linda and look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville NC

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The hotel was great. Beautiful spot, ocean views. Vintage furniture. You can open the windows for the breeze! So nice. The dining rooms were astounding- views, space, decks; however, not currently in use. I understand that the new owner is getting it updated. Now it's great. After putting the unused parts in place, it will be the best place in the area. My first choice when I return to Mendocino. Thanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your warm review of our property. We are excited to see the changes that the new owners have done and will continue to do. We look forward to your next visit!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Close to ocean. Very Limited views.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Rooms in need of upgrades. The surrounding gardens are beautiful. Advertised ocean side rooms with views are minimal at best. Rooms have flat screen TV's but extremely poor reception. My guess is it's an antenna rather than cable. Unpleasant odor coming from bathroom sink when water was turned on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by ruthann, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 3 star rating and we are updating the hotel now.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Skimpy. And ants.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Quiet, and nice location. Gardens on the hotel grounds were very nice.
Location: Mendocino is a quiet little town. We had a nice meal and walked around.
Friendly and helpful staff, but disappointed in the room. No amenities. Some ants. Advertised fireplace did not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by ruthann, Hotel Management
First except our apology for the ants. That issue has been handled. Thank you for the compliments on our staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming, beautifully situated hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Cons: Minor maintenance.
Located on a hill just outside central Mendocino, the hotel consists of Victorian house and a well-integrated motel-type expansion. Although some of the era-appropriate details are dated reproductions or imaginings of Victoriana, the overall effect is pleasing, and the perennial garden was spectacular during our May 2017 visit. Some rooms have a view of the ocean. The staff is mostly more than helpful. I was actually given the thermos that dispenses hot water for beverages in the lobby to take to my room for tea "after hours," on sole condition that I bring it back when convenient the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by ruthann, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star rating and compliments.