Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Cons: Room needs update
Location: Mendocino down town within short walking distance and the beach cliff area not so far. Downtown has limited restaurants and only the local Pub was ope
dates and needs some refurbishment. However, room was huge and had everything we need. We had a pet 45lb dog and it worked out really well. Plenty of open space for her to run around in the grounds. Continental breakfast was excellent and no need to leave hungry. Plenty of choice. I would come again. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
A pleasant, well-located inn for a visit to Mendocino.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Price is right. almost half the price of other hotels in town. It was a relatively short,but dark spooky walk into town after dark.
Location: Can walk to all stores and shops and all the restaurants and other hotels in town.
Unfriendly desk clerk. The hotel main office and check-in area,lounge,etc. was closed and locked at 7p.m. It was extremely quiet and spooky. Since I only counted 6 other cars parked in all the lots,it felt dark,deserted and spooky. Pretty sparse continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent stay in a historical hotel, great breakf

Posted Dec 1, 2015
had an enjoyable time lots of nice walks along the headlands-along the ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice gardens

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Nice view sitting on the patio, beautiful flower gardens surrounding the hotel.
Cons: Needs a new bed/mattress.
Location: Within short walking distance to main attractions, restaurants, shops, etc.
Beautiful gardens surrounding the hotel. Nice view, rooms were large, needed some updating. Bed REALLY hurt my back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carolyn

Good hotel downdown

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
We booked this hotel based on good user reviews and location walking-distance to downtown Mendocino. The hotel is clean and quiet with lovely views of the ocean. The rooms have old world charm (read ugly wallpaper) but the double sinks and spacious rooms make up for that. Breakfast leaves much to be desired You're better off at the cafe down the street. Overall, for the price this is a great hotel and enjoyable for a weekend retreat. If you are looking for something fancy Mendocino is not for you. Head south to the Heritage Hotel Resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015
It was nice enough, and convenient location. The grounds were beautiful. The beds were very hard though; I felt like I was sleeping on plywood.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patricia

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was a motel 6 with huge price tag.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful but uncared for grounds

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: hire a management team
untrained employees with no apparent supervision- totally overpriced for the poor state of the hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bernard from Manchester

Hilltop Inn in Mendocino

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Well located in Mendocino, but the accommodation has a chintzy feel, albeit that this may appeal to others. The room is clean and comfortable, but quite expensive, although this reflects pricing in Mendocino, generally.We just about managed to get wifi connectivity in our room, but the signal strength was weak (but wifi can be accessed in the main house) The continental breakfast was fairly basic.