Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Didn't meet advertisement and booking

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Ocean View- wasn't an ocean view Bar and restaurant- was shut down - no where to be informed prior to arrival Bathtub didn't work Things needed to be repaired and updated, like the bathroom door and the sliding glass door, but the decor was Victorian and had charm Room was clean Property was very close in walking distance to a store, dining, a museum and lovely breath taking ocean views/bluffs. Property was beautiful in the garden area on the front end Staff was accommodating with my concerns
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent inn, but one problem

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It has a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean, and a short walk to the center of the tiny village center of Mendocino.
Upon our arrival we were directed to a room that was not only unheated, but incapable of being heated. The staff responded promptly to that problem and provided us with a different room in which the heater was in working order, but I wonder what we'd have done if there had been no other available room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Very quite and staff friendly.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Mendocino village is a great place to visit and the hotel is walking distance to all attractions. Stayed in February and almost had the place to myself. Preacful and quite with great views. The staff was friendly. Enjoyed engaging in conversation and didn't mind taking pictures of my wife and I on their upstairs sceanic balcony.
4 out of 5
by Victoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Good hotel for a short getaway

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hill house inn was a nice hotel for a weekend getaway. It wasn't very fancy, but it was good and Mendocino is a nice town. The decor was outdated but not a huge concern for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and friendly

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
great location
5 out of 5
by Bonnie

Wonderful stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at Hill House was wonderful. We got a much needed rest and change of scenery. Hill House was, as always, quiet, clean, comfortable. Best of all, our dog came with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty bed

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
The lobby hours are until 9 PM but when I showed up around 8:30 PM, it was locked up and had directions to check in at another hotel. After a long day of driving, the last thing I wanted to do was drive elsewhere in bad weather. Get into our room only to find small, black hairs all over the pillows and inside the bed. Not impressed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
I have never rented a place where there wasn't a small refrig or a microwave.