Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
I have never rented a place where there wasn't a small refrig or a microwave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice location and large rooms

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Nicely landscaped grounds. Disliked having to add more words.
Cons: Get away from metal keys. Disliked having to add more words.
Location: Ocean views
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

the hotel was ok, especially for the money

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: walking distance to the town it was comfortable but needed remodeling
Cons: it needs remodeling, and the ground needs new outdoor furniture
Location: that was one of the better things about this place it was close to everything in town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folsom, CA

Very Nice

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: It is just beautiful and a great escape.
Cons: They could offer breakfast and re-open the hotel bar.
Location: Wonderful location. The Mendocino Hotel Bistro was very nice. There appeared to be a lot of other places to visit; we just did not have time.
It is a wonderful quiet place with beautiful gardens. It is close the many things within walking distance. They give you a 15% off at the Medocino Holel~Bistro. We went for dinner and then for breakfast. Parking is very open so do not need to worry about leaving and coming back and not finding a spot. I will definitely go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redwood city, CA

Beautiful grounds as well as lovely hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Staff was remarkably good, not overbearing and all together accommodating, there was no house keeping staff pushing us out the door in fact we left 30 min after checkout and staff was still just as friendly as when we checked in. I would not only return but recommend this hotel to anyone
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Cute, cosy place to rest!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Very sweet accomodation, enjoyed the house and the decor! Could not fault the room, generous size and all amentities except for a room refrigerator but not a big deal for us for one night! Would definetly stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to village.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Passing through looking for a comfortable place to stay. Room was large. Could open windows to get fresh air. Easy walk to village.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location, decent charm, dirty rooms

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Location: Easy walk into town!
The hotel is in a great location and has some Mendocino charm but the rooms are definitely in need of upgrades and more thorough cleaning. We found someone else's nail (YES, and entire fingernail) in our bed. Towels are old and rough and clearly haven't been replaced in years. The hotel itself would be a decent choice should they upgrade the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ukiah

Not a pleasant place

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Total availability. Gift certificate for reduced cost of breakfast in town.
Cons: Where do I start?
Location: City of Mendocino is slipping into disrepair. High turnover. Nature at seaside showing signs of rebound. Money needs to be invested. Seek engineering
Couldn't reach staff about late arrival. 5 rings instant hang up -several attempts. Not good policy for reservations. Building very old. Bed older and smelly. Area around building is trashy. Mold and signs of building deterioration. Floors creak. Can hear neighbors whisper. Toilet really smells.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Very nice

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very nice hotel with above average breakfast. Nice gardens.