Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ukiah

Not a pleasant place

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Total availability. Gift certificate for reduced cost of breakfast in town.
Cons: Where do I start?
Location: City of Mendocino is slipping into disrepair. High turnover. Nature at seaside showing signs of rebound. Money needs to be invested. Seek engineering
Couldn't reach staff about late arrival. 5 rings instant hang up -several attempts. Not good policy for reservations. Building very old. Bed older and smelly. Area around building is trashy. Mold and signs of building deterioration. Floors creak. Can hear neighbors whisper. Toilet really smells.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Very nice

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very nice hotel with above average breakfast. Nice gardens.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

No one mentioned they'd be doing construction

Posted Jul 31, 2016
After booking a ocean view room with patio, I woke up to the sound of a dentist drill x10, as they were literally taking off the surface of the exterior wall of my room. Also loud bangs of the hammers. I looked out my door and saw the entire patio covered with construction equipment. What really gets me is that the staff 1-didn't tell me at check-in 2-sounded surprised when I mentioned it on the phone 3-couldn't move or stop them. They did have them stop for an hour while I was having an in-room massage. They did take off 40% of the bill, but my stay was 100% ruined.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice location close to town.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Provide wifi in the rooms, as promised.
Location: Cute tourist town of Mendocino. Nice botanical garden 7 miles north.
This hotel seems past its prime. The room was big but smelled bad and the carpet was threadbare. The wifi didn't work in the room and when I asked about it at the desk they just said that it was probably too far from the main building. Breakfast was included but there wasn't much of a selection.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Quiet spot in a unique town

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I was thrilled to stay at the Hill House because I am a Murder, She Wrote fan. I was disappointed to find out that the Hill House Inn Cabot Cove sign does not exist any longer. However, I did find Jessica Fletcher's house - the Blair House - in town & took a picture of it. Mendocino is a really special, artsy, unique town on a beautiful stretch of the Northern California coastline. It is truly breathtaking. The Hill House is (just as other reviewers have mentioned) an older establishment with a few "aches and pains". However, I think it's absolutely charming. Our room was extremely spacious and had a wonderful little patio with Adirondack chairs for enjoying the cool ocean breezes (we're from Texas, so we enjoyed that thoroughly!). The grounds around the hotel are beautiful with such a wide variety of flowering plants. I absolutely loved taking it all in. The front desk was very helpful, and the breakfast .... well, it wasn't much in terms of variety, but it was free and filled us up well enough. The inn is walking distance into town, which is loaded with all types of charming shops and restaurants. I would love to visit again, and I would certainly consider staying at the Hill House when I do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Susan from MA

Hill House Stay Comfortable and Convenient

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Because I had requested a room with 2 separate beds and the hotel was undergoing renovations, we got upgraded to a suite, which was spacious. The couch bed was uncomfortable but the pull-out cot was OK. We also had a nice deck out back that had afternoon sun. The hotel definitely needs updating, but it was fine for our needs.
4 out of 5
by Elisa from Lodi

Couples Getaway

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I stayed at Hill House Inn for our anniversary and it was very pleasant! The ocean view from our deck was great, only partially blocked by the neighbors' hedges, but we could still see the lighthouse! We love the town and the location of Hill House Inn might be a short walk from everything, but it was so so peaceful and relaxing. We'll definitely be back!
4 out of 5
by Joshua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anne

Love Mendo

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
We've stayed here before and will likely be back b/c we love walking the Mendocino headlands and the great food options here. Only disappointment for us was we did not get a room with 2 double beds so we had to use a rollaway and the housekeeping was not that good esp in the bathroom.