Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice, Spacious personal space

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: See above
Cons: N/A
Location: At the entrance-end of town. But the whole town is ~15 min walk from end to end.
We were the only guests in the house for the three nights we stayed (late Sept). The room was very spacious. Staff provided a Pack & Play for our 8 mo. old to sleep. Because our room had a separated sleeping & sitting area, we were able to put him to sleep in the bedroom and plan our next day in the sitting room. Breakfast was appropriate (fresh fritata, scones and granola, ample bagels, yogurt Juice coffee etc). Helpful recommendations from the innkeeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Amazing Hospitality and Rooms in Mendocino

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Location: In the Heart of Mendocino. Walk to ocean. Drive to nearby State Parks and Beaches. See the giant redwoods nearby.
Needed 2 rooms in Mendocino for a relative's wedding. Our expectations were far exceeded by the Nicholson House location, quality of breakfast (homemade granola and local foods) and staff (and owner too.) Definitely would stay here again when visiting the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Very cozy, great breakfast. Two excellent restaurant are literally next door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fairly priced Victorian B&B, needs updating

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Daughter was visiting from New Zealand so needed a "double" room. Presbyterian room has a great puffy four poster with steps, and lovely bedding, kitchenette for cooking and living room with sofabed and two upholstered chairs. Sofabed was very minimal, living room needs new upholstered sofa bed and chairs, very outdated and dark, not clean, does not suit this Victorian property. Property office is a garage that needs to be property outfitted in Victorian style, not makeshift furnishings, i.e.. basic table, chairs for guest breakfast, table for property manager with laptop that does not print out receipts. Money needs to be spent on decor to be competitive, but room prices were fair, and manager was very pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice B&B

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Proximity and price
Cons: Get rid of thevants
Location: Beautiful small seaside village. Great for walking browsing and shopping
Nice B&B. Small room but great breakfast. Has an ant problem. Very close to the main town street, beach and headland walk. Would recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
by frank from Redwood City

Small Charming

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room small, no TV, bed was comfortable, Breakfast was continental and was good fresh warm scones bagels so on with a nice little dining room area, new owners.
5 out of 5
by Sheri from Sacramento

Great B&B

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great B&B
4 out of 5
by mitch from San Francisco

A Nice Stay With a Few Issues

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had a nice two day stay, but there were some issues. There were ants in the room, and after looking at past reviews again, I see that it has been a problem over the last few years. The sheets and towels have a musty smell, and again after looking at past reviews, it has been a problem in the past. I suggest bringing your own towel and pillow because the smell was not pleasant. I believe that it is the detergent that they are using that is responsible for the smell. Even though the weather was not hot, the room was uncomfortable. There is a heat control, but a fan would also have been nice to cool the room down. Breakfast was good- especially the homemade scones. The owner did not engage with the guests and instead stayed by his computer while we were all at the table. Perhaps that is normal, but not what I have experienced in the past.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, CA

Cute room

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Friendly, informative host. Locked door adjoining rooms not soundproofed. Fine stay. Quiet street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Charming room in a beautiful old home

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Ocean and village- Wow!
We enjoyed our stay very much.The room was small without a phone or TV but otherwise beautifully furnished, with a relatively spacious bathroom and a comfortable bed. We don't need a phone or a TV so we were very happy. The house was quiet and the breakfast was delicious: For breakfast, I had a boiled egg, nice pieces of cheese and ham, ripe fresh berries a warm from the oven scone with a fine cup of coffee. Our only complaint was the owner, who had just completed the sale of the house and was feeling a bit under the weather- he was kind of grouchy. Overall, it was a nice experience and a good value. We will probably return one of these days if the new owner maintains the house's excellent standard and keeps the rents in something like the current structure.